Musings: Healing Assignments

Dueg wrote a post about how he ended up getting stuck doing healing assignments, and the delicate balancing act that requires.

As I’ve touched on before I’ve ended up with this job, often to my consternation.  Sometimes I’ll be sitting there with Surgeon General open, hem hawing over assignments, when Mach will go, “Okay, pulling!” despite the fact that I…totally did not click on the ready button.  ‘Cause, you know, it’s under my damn addon window.  But whatever.  That’s Steve being a scrub. 

So I know paladins, and I know disc priests.  I know holy priests to an extent, but shamans and druids are my weak point.  Naturally they’re half our healing team.  I do better at knowing my team as individuals-Preamus is an amazingly adaptable disc priest, Yarp can heal the tank all damn day, and Zuki will fail the Ledge Boss if I don’t levitate him.  >.>   ilu, Zuki.  We’ll not speak of the time I failed the ledge boss.  Nope!

Comments you might see in our healer channel:
After Mach pulls and I wasn’t ready: hdsasdasdasdk wing it!
During fights where no real assignments are required: blah blah blah heal stuff and don’t die
and: If my assignments are retarded, or you’re bored, or something, let me know!

In our 25s, there’s generally 3 types of assignments.  You’re on one of the tanks, you’re on the raid, or you’re “floating”.  If you’re floating, that simply means I…didn’t really know what the hell to do with you, and trust your judgement enough to put your heals where it looks like they’re needed.  

I tend to use the holy paladins and the disc priests on tanks (duh), and on fights with spike damage I’ll use the druids to help…even things out, so to speak.  Resto Druid + Disc priest on the Maexxna tank also helps on those “oh shit can’t heal” moments.  Our resto druids do a lot of AoE healing duties because we only have the one holy priest, and our shamwow can’t make every raid.

It’s…interesting, and I’m terribly paranoid about sucking at it (which is nothing new for me).   Of course I haven’t had anyone TELL me I suck at it yet, though I know I need work.  Ron’s been great with making suggestions, at least.

In the quest for more feedback, I’ve posted asking for people to tell me what they like/dislike doing, and so forth.  We’ll see if that actually does any good or not!

I didn’t intend to get landed with this job though, damn it!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Klinderas on April 9, 2009 - 4:36 pm

    Chain Heal is amazing for raid heals. I suggest you put your shamans on raid healing for the most part.

    That’s what I remember of Shamanism, anyway.

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on April 9, 2009 - 4:43 pm

    @Klinderas: I do, mostly. On Patchwerk he’s on the MT, because his single target healing is the weakest (as far as I know?) and the MT is the “safest” target. That and the disc priest/holy pally combo on the OTs is too delicious…

  3. #3 by Light on April 9, 2009 - 5:14 pm

    I’m a druid and I MT heal. Hmm. Granted, we only run 10 mans.

    Rules were meant to be broken.

  4. #4 by kyrilean on April 9, 2009 - 5:39 pm

    @ Light – Druids make great raid heals, but I’ve noticed that since Wrath hit they are excellent tank heals too.

  5. #5 by Elleiras on April 9, 2009 - 5:40 pm

    With shamans, it really depends on how we spec, gear and glyph. A shaman who stacks crit over mp5 and haste, specs into Ancestral Fortitude and Healing Way, and glyphs for Lesser Healing Wave will be a strong MT healer. Meanwhile, a shaman who stacks haste, forgoes the single-target talents and glyphs for Earthliving instead of LHW will be better on raid heals. We’re pretty versatile. :D

  6. #6 by Jacob on April 9, 2009 - 11:31 pm

    What Elleiras said. Shaman aren’t quite as wonderful at tank healing as pallies, but can be quite good if they spec for Ancestral Fortitude (25% bonus armor) and Healing Way. Shaman aren’t quite as wonderful at raid healing as CoH priests, but can be quite good if they stack haste and make smart use chain heal around.

    CoH priests are my bane, chain heal has a longer cast time than most people realize, and it can be difficult to pick an good initial target if someone with an instant heal boosts my target when I’m still in mid-cast.

  7. #7 by Zuki on April 10, 2009 - 7:54 am

    You mean I’m supposed to heal the MT on Patch? Hmm … I guess I don’t pay enough attention to the assignments. ;-) Yes, the great part about being a raid healer is anyone I pick to heal is the right target! Chain Heal FTW!

    Any what can I say … I can’t jump? Or for that matter dance. Actually I can do both, but I just have this strong desire to check the floor out up close! At least I’ve figured out the Mutating Injections.

  8. #8 by Ambrosyne on April 10, 2009 - 8:56 am

    @Light: We’ve had some mad disc priest raid heals going in raids before. ;) Breaking the rules can be fun, but when Ulduar comes out I think we’ll have to play to our strengths!

  9. #9 by kyrilean on April 10, 2009 - 12:26 pm

    @ Zuki – LMAO!

  10. #10 by Adgamorix on April 10, 2009 - 12:47 pm

    One of the greatest things about the current content is that odds are good you can really flex with your healing assignments. While we normally stick with the traditional setup (pally on MT/OT, Disc on 3D Sarth tank, shaman/holy/druid on raid and everything else) it’s fun to switch it up. Personally I’ve been trying a ‘sheathadin’ healing spec which relies on Sheath of Light HoTs to help (no beacon or Holy Shock) with SS. Our druids like to have a turn MT healing, and the same with the shaman. Switching up the roles can be fun, and helps break the normal monotinty.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

