Post Patch Day Maddness

First off, for my fellow squishies who are thinking for going shadow for the first time (shut up: I know I am not the only one who leveled a healing spec, damn it), Binary colors posted a lovely, simple “How Not To Suck” guide

Does that mean I went shadow for my dual spec?  No.  Lyr has purchased dual specs but as of yet chosen nothing.  I want to go shadow.  Ron, however, went Holy…and I know he doesn’t really want to go Holy (though he’s not as enamoured of the idea of Shadow as I am), so I feel strongly compelled to join him in suffering.  For the good of the guild, of course.  In other words, I’m waffling, as always.

I lost spellpower on Lyr.  This makes me a sad panda.  :(

Ambrosyne is sitting there entirely unspecced until I work out what, exactly, would be A Good Holy Spec.  She won’t have dual-specs for awhile-I r broke.  There is a slight temptation to go prot.

The problem with mass-respecs is that I have a lot of alts.  Like…a lot.  I have no idea what I want to do with some of them.  Since instance servers were down I spent much of my night flopping from one toon to the next.  I respecced Vainglory, my DK on Azgalor, Unholy…same as she was before.  Ambrosine-DK went from Frost pre-patch to Unholy, at least for now.  The chances of me leveling her are relatively slim.

That leaves me with: 55 mage (previously fire), 48 druid (previously kitteh), 70 hunter (BM forevah), and 75 warrior (previously prot).  Might take the mage frost for future leveling, have no idea what to do with the druid, need a good BM spec for the hunter (fuck you, Survival), and might dual spec the warrior prot/fury.   Gaaaah, decisions.

We are not hitting Ulduar tonight.  I advised against canceling our scheduled raid to better give us a shot and adjusting to class changes in a familiar enviornment.  Besides, some of us still need gear.  A more comprehensive report of how disc priests fare post-patch, and how two bubble-happy disc priests can co-exist in a raid shall fall upon your eyes tomorrow.

At least most of my mods were fine-Chatter was initially broken but was updated an hour or so later.  X-perl is functioning but…not entirely, as I can’t right click on any portraits to do anything.

“Amber, how did you leave the group?”
“…I logged.”

Didn’t get to test Grid but by all reports it continues to work.   Steve is bitching and moaning about how this was a terrible patch, but for those of us with longer memories, we know that this actually wasn’t too terrible.  Steve’s a nub.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Light on April 15, 2009 - 10:23 am

    Do you have the version of x-perl from WowAce? The one on Curse is not updated. I didn’t have a problem with the one from 3 April (I think that’s it).

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on April 15, 2009 - 10:30 am

    2Light: Aaaah…that might be the problem. I’ll look into that.

  3. #3 by Khaeli on April 15, 2009 - 10:42 am

    I’ll be curious to hear how you handle multiple disc priests now that you can spam-shield.

  4. #4 by kyrilean on April 15, 2009 - 12:00 pm

    This is what I suggest. I’m already shadow, so I’ll spec holy. That should cover us if we need a holy over a disc and the two of us switch out for something. Although that might not solve the problem in some cases.

  5. #5 by Kitts the Priest on April 15, 2009 - 12:08 pm

    Multiple discipline priests makes this priest sad because when you’re used to solely handling PW:S and whatnot, it’s pretty easy to manage. Having an extra person makes this a little confusing, especially when you cannot stack bubbles (as Weakened Soul works like that)… so it probably requires some cooperation between the two.

    It’s really dependent on whether how many priests you have, I think, if you go holy. Our guild is lucky because we have 3 holy priests (one of them likes being discipline sometimes), so personally there’s little need for me to switch to Holy. :E Above all else, do what makes you happy.

    I leveled Discipline/Holy/Spirit Tap 1 to 80, btw. Cool kids do that.

  6. #6 by Light on April 15, 2009 - 12:11 pm

    You guys have a lot more patience than I do. I prefer to melt/rip/slice faces off.

    For a low level priest, would dual speccing shadow/holy work? I’m assuming they share the same kind of stats on their gear?

  7. #7 by dorgol on April 15, 2009 - 12:13 pm

    Re: Ambrosyne and “A Good Holy Build”. Most of the min-max players are still going pretty far into Ret for the crit talents. I’ve seen a number of builds go into Prot for 2 or 3 points in Divinity as well.

    Me? I like the idea of support more than the idea of “zomg I can crit for 9 million!”. So I’m currently spec’d deep enough into Protection to get Divine Guardian / Divine Sacrifice and Improved Devotion Aura with 5/5 Divinity.

  8. #8 by Snorklewacker on April 15, 2009 - 12:36 pm

    OK, I have to ask, as someone who also has a lot of alts: how do you divide up your time during the week between raiding with top-level toons and leveling lower-level ones? Seems like a lot of guilds have gone to “we need to see you online at least once a week or we’re going to label you inactive” mode, which makes me panic and try to be everywhere at once.

  9. #9 by Light on April 15, 2009 - 12:39 pm

    @Snorklewacker

    My guild is casual so this probably doesn’t apply to you, but all my alts are also in the guild and they know who I am. If they need me I’ll switch, and we have set raid days. Otherwise, I’m on an alt.

  10. #10 by Ambrosyne on April 15, 2009 - 3:06 pm

    @Snorklewacker: My GM harasses me on AIM if he wants something and I’m not on. :P MOST of my alts are in guild, so they totally see me around…I just have a couple off server that I play around with. For the most part they’re worried about raid attendence more so than anything else.

  11. #11 by Isiene on April 15, 2009 - 3:10 pm

    I leveled as Shadow for about 5 levels, and then switched to Disc for 70-80. Gogo lasers!@ Now that I’m doing quests and can go shadow, I feel like.. a cop-out. Am I masochistic?!

    I actually have the opposite problem as you, Amber: I want to go holy instead of shadow for my second spec, but I’m getting a bit of pressure from my friends to go Shadow (they don’t really understand why I don’t just go Holy-Shadow and just be done with it; they sort of pat me on the head when I scream, “NOT GIVING UP LASERS!%!#”). It doesn’t help that one of my best friends plays as a tree, and he’d love to do Heroics with me. Since he’s way way WAY better geared than me, I always feel like a total tool saying, “NO! I want to heal!” Le sigh. At least I’m keeping my bubbles!

  12. #12 by Ventrik on April 16, 2009 - 1:49 am

    Has the smite spec gotten more fun to play since TBC? I played it until I could melt faces and never went back. I dont even know if Im going to bother with dual specs because I’m terrible at healing anyway.

    Besides Shadow Priests have lasers…pretty purple lazers of doom. That and my three DoT’s have been critting for 2900-3k. I can’t decide on what’s made me happier. Hitting 80 or getting 8 back to back 3k dot crits on a boss (woulda been better if Archavon had dropped some priest loot.)

    Sadly right now Both my tank and my priest got caught in an instance server crash for VoA and have been there for the past 3 hours. Hopefully that will be resolved in the morning.

  13. #13 by wantedpriest on April 16, 2009 - 8:59 am

    Curse has the x-perl update now (and Omen), that fixed the clickity click issues for me.

    Vess

  14. #14 by kyrilean on April 16, 2009 - 11:47 am

    @ Snorklewacker – Shhh! It’s a secret, but we time travel…

    Like Amber said our guild is real laid back. We have two scheduled raid nights so every other night and day is alt leveling time if you’re already geared. I have two 80s and a level 69 Shaman that hopes to be 80 within 2 weeks.

    The last guild I was in was 3 scheduled raid nights a week and 4 raids slapped together when people were on because that’s just what we did. I got burned out pretty quick, but I’d probably do it again if enough people in this guild wanted to. Well maybe not 7 nights a week, but 5 at least.

  15. #15 by Kenny on April 17, 2009 - 11:11 am

    Don’t feel bad I have never specced shadow on live. I did once on the PTR just see what it was like but I have been Holy or Disc since I started my priest. I haven’t decided on his dual-spec yet It will be very strange if I try shadow and since I have no hit gear whatsoever It will take me a long time to get some semi usable gear so I may just have 2 healing specs depending on what role I need to fulfill

  16. #16 by Pixiedark on April 17, 2009 - 2:25 pm

    I have a druid and a mage… and I’m not sure you asked for advice but I’m going to give it anyway. =P Fire is fun, but there is way more survivability for frost mages. I switched to frost and leveling became much easier, and my trips back from the GY became less frequent. I eventually went arcane for raiding, but I loved frost while leveling. As far as druids go, the advantage to leveling feral is that you don’t have to stop and drink every few mobs as you might as balance/resto. I leveled resto, crazy I know but I honestly didn’t know better, and I wished I had leveled feral. I think kittah’s the way to go, but if you like casters balance does good damage too, it just takes a little more mana. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

