Alting

It’s to the point now where I only log on to my mains-the priest and the paladin-to raid, or do dailies.  Oh the paladin could do with a heroic or two, certainly, but until the badge changes go through those aren’t always easy to come by. 

Naturally this means it’s alt leveling time…but I have so many!

71 hunter – getting leveled now, as other guildies have alts around this level as well
61 DK – long ignored, but I bought her heirloom shoulders last night and when my sister catches hers up to mine, we’ll level them as a pair.
76 warrior – so close you’d think she’d be my first priority, but she’s another tank!  I’m such a nervous tank that starting off on  a more complicated tanking class without the gear advantage Ambro had scares the shit out of me.
56 mage – Decked out in heirloom gear, but I can only stand so much frostbolting. 
48 druid – RAWR KITTY. 

I think I’ll just flop between the hunter and the warrior if my sister isn’t around.  I payed to transfer the mage so guilt will have me leveling her at…some point.   Oh, and then I’ll have to lrn2druid and take her to 80, because I actually think that I’d really enjoy druid healing.   NEED MOAR HEALZ.

The hunter is actually really fun right now-she’s always been BM, and right now has gone for an all-out heavy BM leveling spec.  I ditched her albino devilsuar for a black one because I’m silly like that-while most of her pets have been white over the years, I just didn’t care for mister pink eye much.  

Part of the reason she’s easy to level right now is she’s at a slight gear advantage.  The other day a 69 belf DK tried to gank me and found this out the hard way.  Silly belf, didn’t you look at my gear?  Not only am I two levels above you, but I’m all in enchanted BC raiding gear.  This hunter isn’t just any alt, she was my raiding main for a good chunk of time.  My baby. 
/Intimidation
/Beastial Wrath 
/Omnomnom
What, did you think that was my pet’s name for no reason?  Hahaha, silly hordie.   Thanks for death gripping the dino though, that was funny to watch. 

I still adore my hunter.  She’s no threat to my priest’s main status, but she’s close in level of affection.  She’s also got neat things like a nether ray fry, a talbuk (Lyr will get hers, someday…though I now have to grind as disc, rawr!), and a netherwing drake.   Not that I can ride said drake right now.  &@^#&*@^#&*!  It’ll be fun to gear her up, eventually, though it remains to see if anyone can ever pry me away from my Favorite Spec Ever. 

And that is my rambling for today.  I don’t work tomorrow, but I’ll try to get a Friday Flowchart up-I have the idea in my head, it’s just a matter of fleshing it out.  No, it won’t be another “Amber got her hands on the tablet” edition.   :P

Now excuse me, I need to go beat up Arrens for getting songs stuck in my head.

, ,

  1. #1 by Dorgol on July 2, 2009 - 10:42 am

    Re: Death Grip – I saw a PvP video the other day where a DK used Death Grip on a Mage’s Mirror Image. I laughed.

    Oh, and you should REALLY get that Druid up! My Druid is my new favorite “I’m not raiding today” toon, and Feral is just an awesome way to PvP.

  2. #2 by Nyctef on July 2, 2009 - 10:54 am

    You’re facing a hunter and you death grip the pet …

    /facepalm

  3. #3 by Linedan on July 2, 2009 - 11:22 am

    I don’t know if you do much PvP outside of whatever you normally run into “out in the world” on a PvP server, but prot warrior PvP is not bad these days. I was talking with an elemental shaman guildie last night who is a hella hardcore PvPer and he said prot warriors are THE class he hates to see the most. They have more mobility and more ways to wreck a caster than any other class right now. Even DKs. But you could probably figure I’d tell you to level the prot warrior. :)

    If not the prot warrior, the hunter’s a nice choice, kitty too. Feral is indeed easy and very fun to level. Sadly, my 70 T4-geared kitteh hasn’t budged since WotLK came out, but he may be due for some love very soon once my DK becomes level 80 #4.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on July 2, 2009 - 12:45 pm

    @Linedan – Josh went back to levling prot just BECUASE he was able to wreck face with it when we got ganked. It was also partially inspired by a prot warrior beating HIM to death, haha.

    My dear Lyestra is on an RP server, so she doesn’t have that to worry about, but I find that I die less as prot. :D They are MEAN in PvP these days, I agree.

    The druid…I actually struggled with for a long time. She’s a vanilla WoW toon that hit Stranglethorn and then stagnated until I started leveling her with Josh. And she’s sat ever since Wrath. :| Maybe at a higher level I can solo better with her.

  5. #5 by Ambrosyne on July 2, 2009 - 12:46 pm

    @Nyctef – He was not a very smart DK, no. ;) He was probably related to the rogue that actually ran away after I feigned. What?

  6. #6 by scoobsz21 on July 2, 2009 - 2:10 pm

    “Re: Death Grip – I saw a PvP video the other day where a DK used Death Grip on a Mage’s Mirror Image. I laughed.”

    Sadly…that’s the only way I can beat a DK. But it has worked before. Because then I have my Water Elemental out and I have tons of friends to fight them with hee hee.

    Leveling as a frost mage, I agree, is slightly boring, but super efficient. Questing in frost at 74+ with the right spec, however, is much more fun. I actually have a rotation beyond just Frostbolt! And by that I mean it includes FFB, Fire Blast, Ice Lance, and my free fireball. It’ll be a while till you get FFB, but you at least have FoF and Brain Freeze…and a pet that you can have 50% of the time while you’re questing!

    Right now I’m trying to level a priest who has both the BoA Staff and the BoA Shoulders…and still dies easily. I guess I need to get her the BoA trinkets as well…or just wait for my hunter friend to kill things for me and I keep her alive.

  7. #7 by Ashimbo on July 2, 2009 - 2:29 pm

    I love alting too! My two mains don’t get any playtime outside of raids except for crafting purposes and a jewelcrafting daily. I’ve been spending the majority of my time leveling a warlock, rogue, mage, and shaman.

  8. #8 by Kitts on July 2, 2009 - 2:55 pm

    As a druid gone priest gone druid gone priest to rediscover priest, druid healing is very fun and if you’re used to Discipline and used to spamming and keeping track without too many add-on usage… you’ll love it. :D

    I’ve personally never leveled a warrior too far. :\ Not being able to heal myself makes me sad (‘cept bandages and potions… and downtime sucks).

  9. #9 by Ambrosyne on July 2, 2009 - 3:32 pm

    @scoobsz21 – level disc, my friend…level disc…

  10. #10 by Firespirit on July 2, 2009 - 5:54 pm

    I just made the switch to JC from Mining. I have a ton of stuff to farm out now (including dungeons) to get all the patterns…. :(

  11. #11 by Ten'nen on July 3, 2009 - 1:22 pm

    Once upon a time, someone told me to level as shadow because then things would die faster. Things aren’t dying at all, though, except for me. Then again, at level 16, I shouldn’t have very high hopes…6 talent points hardly counts as “leveling as Shadow.”

Leave a comment