More Paladins Rerolling in 3…2…1…

I don’t do numbers, as you all well know by now-I failed Algebra 2 twice, okay?  I don’t like them-but luckily, there’s some paladin folks around here that do.  So if for some reason you haven’t picked up Siha’s post via your feedreader already, then get thee here, my paladin friends.

Ouch, man. 

Interestingly, I’m half-toying around with the idea of dual speccing holy for a bit.  My gear was already more mp5 heavy than the Crit Era days preferred, so…hmmmm.  Hmmmmmmmmmm.  Of course I’m still afraid that if I dual spec holy I’ll end up heal bitching far more than I intend, and honestly, I think a DPS spec is more useful for a tank.   I don’t think we need a 7th or 8th healer for some of those Naxx25 fights with single tanks, you know? 

…what it comes down to is I’m still waffling mssively over Ambrosyne’s dual spec for no good reason.  And still talking about it here for reasons I’m not sure of, either, so…moving on!

I got my warrior to 77, was all excited to get Cold Weather Flying, and then remembered how much not having an epic flyer sucks balls.  I flipped over to level my hunter and remembered how much not being able to fly at all sucks balls, too, which generally leaves me longing for the patch to hit. 

Since my  warrior is lonely on Sentinels, I think I’m going to try some of Kyr’s AH game with herbs and flasks, the better to fund her money-eating ass.  I think that the herb/alch combination is very nice for warriors not supported by another toon-they ARE so gear reliant and expensive…and not only do you make your own pots and flasks this way, but they sell well!  I’m also plodding through the AT dailies with her already, though I cry a little inside at the thought of doing them on two toons.

, ,

  1. #1 by Dorgol on July 20, 2009 - 10:18 am

    Re: Mana Regen – My Paladin has zero worries when 3.2 hits. Like you I have plenty of MP5 on my gear, and I preferred the Holy / Prot spec over the Holy / Ret spec anyway.

    Re: Dual Specs – I tried to keep Protection as my 2nd spec, since I rarely do anything solo anymore. But raids never need to ADD a tank and REMOVE a healer, so I’m sitting with Retribution. I have a feeling you would see the same problem if you had Holy as your secondary.

  2. #2 by Cynwise on July 20, 2009 - 10:50 am

    I totally understand waffling over dual specs, and I’m not even a hybrid class! So much of it comes down to not just how we play, but how we think of ourselves and our characters.

    Dual-speccing let me experiment with the other aspects of my class without any real risk, though, and I’d never have discovered how much I like setting things on fire without it.

    I vote give Holy a try!

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on July 20, 2009 - 11:16 am

    Dorgol – Yeeeah. Or how often do you want to subtract a tank and add a healer? Unless another healer then goes DPS, but that just makes it more complicated that it needs to be.

    That said, part of me wants to fool around with the Holy/Prot spec and see how it plays.

    @Cynwise – I was holy for 4 years, and just got sick of it. While I don’t mind dipping my hand in here and there, I’m afraid of being being nudged too strongly back in that direction. I just haven’t collected enough ret gear yet to make that viable…sometimes being a hybrid can SUCK! 3/4 of my bank is gear.

  4. #4 by Silk on July 20, 2009 - 7:45 pm

    Dorgol, I wouldn’t go so far as to say you’ll have no worries with mana regen come 3.2. Even if you have mp5 gear now the extra mp5 you get won’t come near to replacing the replenishment / illumination / int nerfs. Of course your heal style may not be that mana intensive, each to their own :)

    Amber, I think most of the time the holy / prot dual spec (which I now have – grrr tank holidays) will see you either tanking or healing for a full raid. Especially in 10 mans you could either tank or heal depending on who is there and who isn’t. Respecing on the fly between those specs is rare – being asked to heal one night and tank the next isn’t.

  5. #5 by Morgenstern on July 21, 2009 - 12:58 am

    Lol, I feel the same about waiting for the patch to buy my babys mounts and flying. I mean, I’ve got like 3 toons waiting, walking around Hellfire and Northrend grumbling at me and cursing under their breath.

    Tough cookies, flying ain’t cheap.

  6. #6 by candy on July 21, 2009 - 9:41 am

    Whatever you can do to speed up the attainment of the epic flying is totally worth the effort. Otherwise you have to waste lots of time and mooney on the flight paths unless you have the patience to slow fly all over the place (which I never have. had patience that is.)

    Good luck! I am blocking it out of my mind that the darn lowbie alts I am playing will have the flier money sink ahead of them…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

