Brief, Random Healer Musings

Anna covers it far more eloquently, but basically: WEE!  Beacon can stack now!  LOL!  Sacred Shield can’t!

Thanks, Blizzard.

My guild has more holy pallys than we can shake a stick at (one more reason to be happy that I’m not one, anymore), so this will be…interesting.  I suppose that its a good thing there are several multi-tank fights, though that does leave me-the disc priest-in a more interesting situation.

Disc raid healing, go!*

Actually, we made our first venture into Ulduar25 as a guild last night.  For Ignis I supported one of our holy pallys on the MT, because poor Yarp couldn’t keep Zoja up alone.   It also remined me HOW MUCH I HATE IGNIS.

Then again we still have some people that need to be geared up.  The people showing up to Ulduar 10 were not, often, the people actually needed gear.  Go figure.  The new patch and it’s emblem changes might well be a huge blessing for us raiding wise! 

While our healers struggled (on Ignis, anyway), I think it is a situation that can be largely fixed by boosting our DPSers.  Kill shit faster and we won’t go OOM!  Razorscale didn’t seem nearly as painful.

Time will tell, time will tell…

*I still have this love/hate relationship with holy.  I love other people doing it, not so much me.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Zalgosh on July 30, 2009 - 4:00 pm

    My guild recently started 25 Ulduar as well (cleared through Mimiron on 10 though). And of the first 4 bosses, Ignis was definitely the hardest for us.

    One of our normal tanks wasn’t there (druid OT is awesome for this fight) so we had a slightly undergeared tank. Both of our OTs had shit fps in Ignis room (thanks for the cool waterfall and fire effects Blizz, no really, thanks) so they were having trouble picking up the adds. So we had a ret pally w/ dual specs go prot for the fight (his gear was good enough for Naxx10, not much after) with the job to keep the adds from hitting ranged, and the OT would pick it up off of him.

    We had 3 pallies healing the MT (2 were undergeared), holy priest on raid, myself (only resto shammy in the guild) on an OT and raid, and druid on the other OT and raid.

    We had 4 wipes due to the adds up until we added a third OT, and after that we downed the SOB.

    Also, alas, my BiS helm from FL and my 3rd BiS mace didn’t drop from Razorscale (after legendary and another from Algalon, which i’ll prolly never see). /sigh

  2. #2 by Adgamorix on July 30, 2009 - 6:23 pm

    @Zalgosh – Get the mace off 10 man Vezack hard mode. It’s pretty damn amazing. You lose a little haste and the mp5, but it has more SP, Crit, and a yellow socket. I’m assuming you’re a shaman – and while this mace is ‘ideal’ for a disc priest or a paladin (back off moonkin) – it’ll work really well for a shaman, and fill in if you go elemental as well.

  3. #3 by candy on July 30, 2009 - 7:56 pm

    I approve of kill shit faster. It is my motto.

    We always have issues with Iggy too. Typically, Ts who have add management problems. But we solved it. My SO is a DK and he swaps into his dual spec and OTs the darn adds. He was a vanilla and BC warrior tank so he still has the tank brainage.

  4. #4 by Misaki on July 31, 2009 - 3:39 am

    These days we’re pretty overgeared for Uld10, but we just do Ignis10 the “speed kill” way now. MT tanks Ignis at the pool, so all scorches go out. OT just picks up every add that spawns. DPS burn.

    Provided the healing and DPS is good enough, we actually find this easier than the “normal” method.

  5. #5 by Zalgosh on July 31, 2009 - 7:21 am

    @Adgamorix – Currently I still have the crappy crafted mace, wooo for no int or mp5. The H Nexus and Naxx RNG hate me. With a passion.

    Also, I still have Helm of the Lightning Halls from when I dinged 80, for the same reason(last blue left, wtf am i doing in ulduar w/o a meta?)

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on July 31, 2009 - 10:06 am

    Constructs loose in the raid is what wipes us just about every time. Quick OTs are definitely a must.

    We also had FPS/connection issues (I myself was a 7 FPS-good times) that didn’t help. That room suuuucks.

  7. #7 by Adgamorix on July 31, 2009 - 10:51 am

    @Zalgosh – ouch – I feel your pain for sure, the RNG, she can be fickle. Not once while I was healing did we see the Eye of the Broodmother drop off Razorscale. First run after I go back to tanking – there it is.

    /sigh.

  8. #8 by kavika on August 3, 2009 - 2:12 pm

    Ok, sorry if I sound like an idiot, but
    I wonder how it will work if say:

    pally1 casts SS on tank
    tank takes damage, SS active
    pally2 casts new SS on tank before next incoming strike.

    –Will pally1′s SS then be deactivated and the damage absorption timer reset, so the tank essentially has zero absorption for a short time?–

    Truth be told, I don’t fully understand how this currently works with 2 pallies placing SS on a tank, but it is still kind of dissappointing to hear that it won’t stack (SS DOES currently stack right?).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

