Memory Lane HO!

“And so, 40 man content was how I learned. And it was kinda sucky. In pre-BC raiding, it seemed to me that, in our guild anyway, out of 40 players fielded on a given evening, 25 or so were real damn good, 10 or so were fairly decent, and 5 flat out sucked.”   -Big Bear Butt

…wow, dude, only 5?  I swear to god we carried more than that, and when BC hit and we shifted down to 10 man content it was a sudden slap in the face.  “Holy shit,” we said, “Some of these people really suck!”

And we were clear up to C’thun and poking into Naxx by that point, too.  I can’t even promise that Iwas good back then.  Certainly at the start, I wasn’t.  Then again, playing a paladin back in the day was spamming your one button on your target(s) and saying a quick prayer.  Sometimes, you used your other button, and BoP!  O snap!

I sort of miss the 4o man days, though.  I had 8 other holy paladins to bond with.  8 other people who “get” it, 8 other people to bounce ideas off of, 8 other people to come to with questions.  Who the hell was 5+ of any given class these days, never mind of the same spec?

…I don’t miss assembling those raids, though.  Oh boy, was that a pain in the ass even just as one of the ones WAITING.

  1. #1 by Resonate on August 3, 2009 - 12:08 pm

    The thing I remember most about raiding Vanilla (as a mage) was making water for everyone. Two bottles at a time. And handing them all out by hand.

    Good times, good times.

  2. #2 by Zalgosh on August 3, 2009 - 12:16 pm

    When my friend and I were telling his wife stories of wow how it was back in the day (he raided vanilla wow on his mage, i started early BC), and he talked about that. He said all the mages would show up a half an hour or more early, just to get started making water.

    The three of us have been levelling together, and its fun when we’re doing quests and he or I make comments like “Wow, I remember when all of these mobs used to be elite.”

  3. #3 by Dorgol on August 3, 2009 - 1:00 pm

    My biggest annoyance of Old School raiding was Summons. Every summon required 3 people and a shard – and we didn’t have shard bags! AND there weren’t any summoning stones! Our guild prioritized the Onyxia Hide bag to Warlocks since we had to carry so many shards. I got the first one, then 3 or 4 other locks (most of whom didn’t even stick around long) – and then the week that the bag could only go to our Warlock class-lead… Blizzard announced shard bags and our GM decided to just random the bag to anyone in the raid. And I got that one. :)

    Oh, and gearing choices were basically “take what you can get”. Hit cap? I was raiding before there was ANY +Hit gear for spells! There was ONE weapon for casters (Azuresong Mageblade) – and the Paladins wanted it (we lol’d them down).

    Were there slackers in 40 man raids? No doubt. I never ran mods (and still don’t, really), so I never noticed any.

    Oh! Oh! I remember! 8 debuffs per mob! This at a time when an interepid warlock could add 5 or 6 BY THEMSELVES. Then came the 16 debuffs and everyone was like “wtf we’ll steamroll this place!” (and we did).

  4. #4 by Silk on August 3, 2009 - 6:17 pm

    Well we currently raid with between 6 and 9 paladins….

    We usually have 3 in our 10 man too. I remember a few Naxx runs where we had 3 paladin tanks and 4 paladin healers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

