Displeased Amber is Displeased

So I’m all reading Banana Shoulders this morning, because I loves me some Banana Shoulders.  And I’m all…new mounts, cool…new dailies,  cool…wait, what the fuck is this nonsense?

There are a number of changes to existing quests. As a general rule, the dailies will now send you further afield, and you will no longer be able to “double up” and complete the Valiant and Champion versions of a daily by killing a single set of mobs.

  • A Valiant’s Field Trainingused to require you to kill 10 Scourge in Icecrown. Now it specifies 10 Converted Heroes, north of Corp’rethar.
  • Taking Battle to the Enemyused to require you to kill 15 Scourge in Icecrown. Now it specifies 15 Cult of the Damned members anywhere in Icecrown.
  • Battle Before the Citadelused to require you to kill 1 Boneguard Commander, 3 Boneguard Lieutenants, and 10 Boneguard Scouts (which overlapped nicely with the Valiant version of the quest, At the Enemy’s Gates). This now requires you to kill 3 Boneguard Commanders; the Valiant quest remains unchanged.

Oh, die in a fucking fire, Blizzard.  Do you know how much trouble I have killing one Commander?  I mean, seriously?  Let me explain how things go just in case you don’t understand:

-Clear area
-Approach Commander only to have someone else grab it
-Get a Lt out of the way and…have someone else grab the Commander
-Grab a Commander
-Have everything else respawn on top of you while you are kiting it away
-Die
-Rez and grab new mount
-Clear to Commander
-Grab Commander
-Run frantically in circles trying to kill it and only get one or to scouts on you
-Kite it into the camp, lose your horse, and kill it with Smite spam just before it kills you
-Die to a Scout

Or:
-Yell for Josh to do the mother fucking Commander killing for me even though I can do the rest of the god forsaken dailies by my own fucking self

…three?  Three?  Really?

*takes a deep breath*

JOSH!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Kestrel on August 4, 2009 - 9:13 am

    Your displeasure is justified. WHY, Blizzard, WHY THE FREAKING TIME-SINKS???? Damn you!

  2. #2 by Chris Anthony on August 4, 2009 - 9:15 am

    I’m kind of amazed that Blizzard hasn’t stumbled on the astonishingly simple solution to this problem: phase the area. No more “I cleared to the Commander and then someone else took it”. If you’re not in my group, you can’t see my Commanders.

    That said: deep sympathy. (I hate those quests too.)

  3. #3 by Seri on August 4, 2009 - 9:24 am

    I really dislike the Argent Tournament in general. Haven’t even been able to bring myself to do enough dailies to reach the Champion level.

  4. #4 by candy on August 4, 2009 - 9:25 am

    I like how they expend energy to fix things that aren’t broken and leave other issues (like snake traps flagging poor defenseless opposite faction players questing in the same area) broken for months.

    I hate the argent tourney quests enough already. Making me spend twice the time doing them won’t incent me to do more of it.

  5. #5 by Lodur on August 4, 2009 - 9:28 am

    I agree. That’s just ridiculous. Ty blizz for making doing dailies take even MORE TIME then before. So much for reducing the grind huh?

  6. #6 by Kadomi on August 4, 2009 - 9:34 am

    I saw those changes as well and was shaking my head. I can’t kill one Commander on my own either, my partner doesn’t do Tournament quests, so I usually don’t ever do it. They kinda made all of those quests more difficult and more tedious, which I didn’t think was possible, ugh.

  7. #7 by Kestrel on August 4, 2009 - 9:34 am

    One benefit of Argent Tourney was (WAS!!) that I could accomplish the Scourge killing while doing Ebon Blade dailies. (Crap…Blizzard probably figured out what I was doing…it’s ALL MY FAULT!!!) /flails

    I already have two Champions (Osprey is an Exalted Champion as well) so I think Falken’s tourney days will end with the patch. Unfortunately, it seems Osprey will have to continue. On the plus side, I can generally solo the commanders, but those damn respawning scouts are a royal PITA.

  8. #8 by Holy Dueg! on August 4, 2009 - 9:39 am

    I come bearing hints, also, HULLO AMBER! <3 What I do is run to the stairs behind where everyone is standing and then run all the way up to the tippy top. This means things will stop chasing you and lets you heal up and get three shields. You can then pull the commanders back and run them up and down the stairs.

    You'll usually pull a few scouts, but you can always just kill them real quick and if you are already in trouble, just run out of range again and come back and kill the commander one on one. Easy peasy. :D

  9. #9 by Ambrosyne on August 4, 2009 - 9:41 am

    Lyrandre is working her last rep (Gnomer) for the Crusader title. I’ll finish that, but any thoughts I may have had for getting Ambrosyne the same? Not happening. My warrior may also quit with the AT dailies, though she’s currently doing them for tasty tasty XP. At least flying all over hell and back for them will be faster since my poor warror is still condemmed to SlowMo mount…

  10. #10 by Antigen on August 4, 2009 - 9:42 am

    SO glad I got my Crusader title already. Although I’ll admit, even when those quests were doubled up, they STILL took too much time.

    And don’t even get me started on the mounted-combat in the new 5-man. “Fuck off, Blizzard” doesn’t quite seem enough.

  11. #11 by LookingForSocks on August 4, 2009 - 9:43 am

    Ow…this encourages my distaste for the patch. The dailies were irritating enough already.

    And yeah, the things they fix…well, vanish still doesn’t work well. :(

  12. #12 by Zalgosh on August 4, 2009 - 9:59 am

    The only dailies I bother doing anymore are my Sons of Hodir on my shaman, and the JC on my DK. Between a LW and JC I can make more money relatively fast, w/o nearly as much effort. The only thing I miss out on is getting exalted with all the cities, oh well.

  13. #13 by Ktok on August 4, 2009 - 10:12 am

    Eh, not that big of a deal. Just find a friend to do the jousting with. If you’re doing Chillmaw anyway, just take the group (or at least one other person) to the jousting. Commanders are chumps with a duo.

    And if you can’t get help… here’s how you solo a Commander.

    Clear up one side of the road.
    Pull commander.
    Sit there and spam your attack.
    When he runs, stay put, and throw a shield breaker.
    Put up your lost shield point from his charge.
    Spam attack.

    The key is to not move at all. Yes, it takes longer, but there’s no chance of pulling adds. It’s far, far safer and makes it an easy solo.

    Also, as I tell my guild… if you really think this is a time sink, I suggest you play EQ1 for a bit. XD

    Calling this a time sink is like calling a paper cut a gushing wound. Sitting in one place for 3 days straight with no sleep waiting for a single mob to spawn that may or may not drop a quest item for *one* person and takes at least six people to kill? *That* is a time sink :P

  14. #14 by Kestrel on August 4, 2009 - 10:15 am

    I usually do the AT dailies with a partner, at least on one character, sometimes two.

    Re: Patch. For some reason, I have nothing but antipathy for this one. Perhaps because it’s a PvPatch?

  15. #15 by Shayzani on August 4, 2009 - 10:47 am

    Like someone said above, fight the commanders on the stairs. Anywhere else and you’ll just have to worry about people stealing your mobs or having adds spawn on you. Save yourself the headache.

  16. #16 by Jacob on August 4, 2009 - 2:11 pm

    Ugh.

    I finished the AT dailies and rep. grind on one character.

    The quests grew boring enough that I wasn’t enthused to do it on another character.

    Now you tell me that it’s becoming even more tedious?
    Sigh.

  17. #17 by Toby on August 4, 2009 - 3:47 pm

    Why complain? AT is optional. There is nothing there that states you must do AT quests to move forward. You can do all sorts of other dailies for money, and for gear… just run heroics now. If you are obsessed with titles or pets then go do AT but don’t complain.

  18. #18 by LolDrood on August 4, 2009 - 4:17 pm

    I recall hearing there there is content that you need the AC Champion title to unlock. That could be wrong, I don’t feel like slogging through the patch notes.
    Complain because bad ideas are bad. Just because they might not directly affect you doesn’t make them not bad ideas. This is a pointless change that will only server to make fewer people do the dailies.

    Yeah. Eff the dailies. I did them on my main druid for the achievements, and got just enough seals on my pally tank for the axe. No intention of touching them ever again on any toon.

    FWIW, the best way I’ve found to do them was to get a group for them. 5 people, you can get TFA in 30 seconds, 15 scourge in maybe a minute, and just steamroll the Citadel unless someone pulls three Commanders.

    My biggest gripe with the patch: why can’t we convert all those now-useless emblems to Conquests? I have, like, 70 of the damn things. I also think it’s dumb that only certain special kinds of tier gear can be bought with emblems. It just makes no logical.

  19. #19 by Zalgosh on August 5, 2009 - 7:36 am

    I love the fact that the tier chest i can buy with conquest is only marginally better than mine, and the helm doesn’t have any mp5. Now mp5 got buffed on anything that had it, but still, my shammy wants his mp5. The only way I’d take either of the chest or head tier piece is if I had 1 or 3 of the other pieces to get the set bonus(es).

    Whats nice is that almost every other thing I can buy with conquest badges is significantly better than what I currently have (and costs less than tier).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

