And the wheel of life-and guild rosters-rolls on

I have, if unofficially, become the healing lead.  This means I get the special pleasure of herding our healer cats, handing out healing assignments, and naming ourhealer channel LetHuntDie. 

We had until just recently a holy paladin named Yarp.  I’m not ashamed to say that Yarp’s skill kicked the shit out of mine, and he was on near-perpetual MT duty because of his sheer awesome.  Hell, he did an amazing healing job for awhile with two broken wrists.  I could make some jokes about pally two button healing there, but never mind that.

I had no issues taking the OT/flex duty myself.  In fact I rather relish that position and all of it’s variations. 

Well, Yarp was burning out and left the game.  I’ll miss him!   I missed him ton and tons when we walked into Ulduar and proceeded to wipe on Ignis over and over and over.  Naturally many people were thinking: was Yarp THAT good?  Can we really not do this without him?

The thing about a healer core is that it’s a complex assembly of pieces.  Yes, losing an excellent healer sucks, especially when you don’t have a near-identical piece to slide in.  Our other holy paladins are Zy, an alt, and Kyr, who is more often raiding on his holy priest.  Our only other holy priest is only available in two week blocks due to work, so I’d kind of rather keep him there.  That means I step up into the MT role, which is fine, but…

…now we’re losing people to the pot.  People that I, as OT/flex healer, often personally took care of along with the raid healers.  We can do this without Yarp, I just have to beat the other healers into multitasking, that’s all.  But see what I mean about it being complex?  Merely shuffling one person into another role can change more than expected.

Healing assignments are rather like stat juggling-a complicated, confusing, sometimes frustrating game within a game. 

If I put this here, then I need someone here, but this person can’t do this job well so he has to go over here, but now I…oh, fuck.  God damn it people just heal whoever is dying, okay?

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Mikata on August 14, 2009 - 11:22 am

    -Inset Amber Joke Here-

    ♥♥♥

    =D

  2. #2 by Zalgosh on August 14, 2009 - 12:02 pm

    THAT’S NOT A FLOWCHART!

  3. #3 by Zalgosh on August 14, 2009 - 12:09 pm

    Our raid leader/MT pretty much does all of the healing assignments, which works for us except for when he makes mistakes. Last week, on Hodir when he said I’d heal him through Frozen Blows while the priest (disc, who was in charge of healing him the rest of the fight) and druid would take care of the raid. I go “Um, wtf?” while the druid goes “No, tyler stays on you, Zal will raid heal.”

    Also, Hodir is a fun fight if you keep getting stunned in place where the icicles drop.

  4. #4 by Joe Ego on August 14, 2009 - 2:43 pm

    Why would you get stunned where the icicles drop? Cleanse, ftw!

    Paladin output can be outrageous, especially if we have room to melee for mana. I wonder how I’m so consistently out-healing 4 other people (of 6, a shaman & I are usually tops) by +40%. And that’s EFFECTIVE. And since the patch my overhealing is actually DOWN(??). Then I realize how many dps eat spikes. They’re in the flames too long, the just plain go blind to glyphs during Hodir, etc.

  5. #5 by Troutwort on August 14, 2009 - 3:28 pm

    “God damn it people just heal whoever is dying, okay?”

    QFT

  6. #6 by Kallo on August 14, 2009 - 3:40 pm

    >_> It’s funny, just the other night my Guild was telling me, “Healing might be more fun then you thought,” and “You might end up liking it, you never know!”

    x_X But this post just scared me into waiting another week or two for that Disc. Off Spec. >_>;;

    I’ll stick to my DoTs a bit longer!

  7. #7 by Zalgosh on August 14, 2009 - 4:27 pm

    I can’t cleanse it, its magic and I’m a shaman.

  1. In Memorium « Light's Fury
  2. [Combat Log]: Healer Corp Is Critically Hit For…Aw, Screw It You’re Dead! « Casual Hardcore

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

