Hold on, the llama got out.

The Amber is displeased.  Why is the Amber displeased?  Because I hate people getting their panties in a twist and ragequitting without, you know, discussing shit.  When we post proposed changes on the officer forum and ask for your input, then we want your input.  We do NOT want you to hike up your skirts, scream that you don’t like us anymore, and leave. 

You want to do that, then fine, get your childish ass out of my mother fucking guild and good riddance.  If you truly don’t like the way things are going, why don’t you sit down and discuss it?  Concerned about new guild ranks diminishing the importance of people who don’t raid?  Well, how about some alternatives?  Where’s your ideas?  I want your ideas.  I don’t want your poorly typed out LJ-style flounce post.

We are not “ruining a social guild”.  We are trying to shape up a raiding guild.  Raiding, see that?  Raaaaiiiiidiiiiiing.  Raiding requires a certain amount of skill and discipline. Oh, and time investment.  Do we have people in the guild who can’t play worth a shit?  Well, yeah.  But they’re friends and we love them and they hang out and occasionally we shove purples at them from a farming run.  Do we have people in the guild who are skilled but can hardly run with us?  Yes, and we miss them terribly, and squee with joy every time they DO get the chance to join us.  Do we have good people who ARE here all the time, and are thus the raiding core?  ….why yes, yes we do.  We have and love all those kinds of people and we always have and we always will.  Do the casuals really need full bank access to our raiding flasks and a Core Raider title?  …no.

One of the most sissy of the flouncers actually told us that we didn’t have a good raiding core to build from.  Wait, what?  What the hell am I, chopped liver?  Kyr?  Zoja?  Mach?  Harryotter?  Huntres?  All those other people who do their job and do it well?  And since when were we a social guild?  What the fuck were we doing in Burning Crusade, having tea parties in SSC?  I don’t remember tea parties, I remember tanking some mother fucking bosses and winning some mother fucking loot in a MOTHER FUCKING RAIDING GUILD.

So excuse me, I’m going to go recruit some more RAIDERS for our RAIDING GUILD.  Then we are going to run some RAIDS.  During said RAIDS, we are going to be SOCIAL and make fun of Mikata because it’s easy, and Harryotter is going to die and we’ll lol at him, and Zoja is going to pick on Huntres, and it’ll be fun.  WHILE RAIDING. 

So congrats, two officers who seldom participated anyway.  Your previous contributions to the guild that once earned you your titles are missed, but shall no longer carry you through this expansion.  You flounced.  Now those of us who actually do the work these days will…uh…continue doing the work.  So uh…nothing has changed, really, except that we’ll proceed with shifting the guild ranks and bank permissions with fewer badly typed rage posts on the forums*.

 

*My rage posts involve capital letters and spell check.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by @valkyrierisen on August 28, 2009 - 4:57 pm

    Marry meeeeeeeeeee! I also happen to love your tag system. >_> I may not copy it… maybe.. Then again blogging has fallen by the wayside. For now.

  2. #2 by Rocklaw on August 28, 2009 - 5:04 pm

    Ouchie. Been there, done that in the not too distant past. Feel your frustration. Hold onto your core and keep slugging. My guild is back into progression, albeit 10-man, knocking out Ignis and IC thus far this week. It can be done.

  3. #3 by slytherati on August 28, 2009 - 5:08 pm

    Every time I read your posts about raiding I wish I still had the urge to raid, because I like your no-nonsense approach and I think I would have loved being a part of your guild. Sadly, healing 5 nights a week from December to April burnt me out big time.

    Good luck with the ~FLOUNCING~ and stuff.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on August 28, 2009 - 5:21 pm

    @slytherati – Even I never raided more than 4! 5! Aaaah!

  5. #5 by Grimmtooth on August 28, 2009 - 5:31 pm

    /applaud

    There are a few ragequitters I know that really need this tattooed on their faces. Or maybe their faces tattooed on this post. Whatevs.

  6. #6 by Mikata on August 28, 2009 - 5:34 pm

    Hey Amber… you missed the part where we mock your fail healing assignments…

    And Ky’s fail angel… can’t miss those. =3

  7. #7 by Armagon on August 28, 2009 - 5:55 pm

    Even when you rant you’d win me over trying to raid with you, if I’d played on US :P

  8. #8 by Miko on August 28, 2009 - 5:56 pm

    A wonderful post. I know I’ve had these same nerdrage inklings in the past as well with similar reactions. “I’m taking my toys and leaving!” Really? I ask for input and it’s the end of the world?

  9. #9 by Whitebeard on August 28, 2009 - 6:54 pm

    Caps of RAIDS! XD I totaly agree with your position, in a raiding guild myself, we often had our share of mass quits, most often because newcommers do not like our GM/MT’s way of putting down his massive knowledge and punishing “why must you go in the fire damnit ‘tards” post-wipe rebuttal.

    Good luck on the recruiting.

  10. #10 by Kestrel on August 29, 2009 - 6:14 pm

    Dammit to hell…I want to raid with you!! No one, but NO ONE, does a better job of being poked fun at, than I do.

    And @Rocklaw: Do not EVER be apologetic (“albeit 10-man”) about raiding and progression. Some people do 10s, some do 25s. Anyone who thinks less of someone doing 10s is an ass.

    And yeah, I DO get Hodir’s flash freeze once in awhile. (But I do it to see if the DPS are paying attention to the raid or to Recount. :P)

  11. #11 by Kestrel on August 29, 2009 - 6:15 pm

    And I agree: The new banner rocks. The only change I’d make is to add something about the shitty beer Arrens drinks. ;)

  12. #12 by Kotak on August 31, 2009 - 8:45 am

    Hi Amber,

    First time posting on your blog :)
    I love your blog so much (and Kyr’s and Mikate’s blog) that i decided to create a Resto Druid on your server for the sole purpose of raiding with you guys :)

    I started him on saturday and i’m now lvl 30 (i’ve never leveled a toon on alliance side so its going slower than i tought) so i’ll join you in the coming weeks (if you want to have me).

    My main is a Tauren druid on Suramar (US) name Kotak.

    Cya soon

  13. #13 by Mikata on August 31, 2009 - 10:31 am

    =o

    Kotak!!

    >_>

    Are you the one I see randomly popping into our vent??

    Or maybe that’s Kovak?

    0_o

  14. #14 by theerivs on August 31, 2009 - 11:20 am

    I love your guys blog too….I want to transfer my Forsaken Mage to your server, and teabag your corpses though, I mean that in the best possible way though :)

    Ahhh guild drama, and such. I hate it. People rarely like change, and or work. When you mention either in a guild you get blank stares, or people /gquitting.

  15. #15 by Ambrosyne on August 31, 2009 - 12:58 pm

    @Kotak – WOO TREE

    @theerivs – I’ll level my DK just to eat you. <3

  16. #16 by theerivs on August 31, 2009 - 1:22 pm

    Yea DK’s are the bane of my exsistance. I have another name for them, ain’t safe for work though.

  17. #17 by Kotak on September 1, 2009 - 8:57 am

    @Mikata – Nope, its not me popping in your vent.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

