Noob priests are so adorable!

So over the weekend my GM finally got around to dinging his priest 80.  He was a solid priest in BC, but as anyone who played a priest back then knows (disclaimer: not me!), it’s a pretty different kettle of fish.

It was basically a lot of OMG GREATER HEAL IS SO EXPENSIVE WAI. 

Then I went LOL SILLY PRIESTY YOU DON’T USE THAT ANYMORE.

Half the problem is that he’s trying to juggle both disc and holy specs, a feat that isn’t easy for the freshly dinged priest because they do have different stat priorities.  I had an easier time of it because I’d collected a decent amount of gear despite a certain mage being a lootwhore.

He’s feeling the mana nerfs….but then he’s also jumping into ToC already, which on heroic is an instance that can drive even Lyrandre to dig into her bag of mana tricks (my fiend is named Bob).  The bonus of this is that he may finally stop thinking that replen is OPTIONAL. 

Alright fellow healers, you can stop shuddering now.  We’ll cross our fingers and hope for the best, alright?

I’m still a little baffled that guildies come to me for priest advice.  In some part of my mind, I’m still the holy paladin flailing her way through priestlyness.   Go to Ron for advice, not…oh, right he’s not here anymore.  Well then, er, ah…um…

Hmm.

Fuck!

“Amber, don’t you blog about priest stuff?”

Well, yeah, but…oh, shut up.  It’s one thing to be one more healer blog on the internet and another to be my guild’s priest guru.  The world’s going to hell in a handbasket, I tell you.

Ultimately I figured that the baby priest advice was similar to the baby paladin advice: stack SP.  The rest will come with time!   Not much time, either, considering how hard he’s hitting ToC.  That place has some damn tasty gear.

…this does remind me that I need to update my guides…especially the paladin one.  Meep!

,

  1. #1 by Mikata on August 31, 2009 - 10:56 am

    Oh don’t worry… Mach will get the hang of it… or his gear will compensate for his noobness.

    I mean really… 11 epics in one day. FFS…. /grumble

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on August 31, 2009 - 11:05 am

    @Mikata – Or we can carry him through content!f

  3. #3 by Mikata on August 31, 2009 - 11:23 am

    Like really… Naxx 10 last night… why did we have to bring a hunter AND a resto shaman?? I might as well have not even had gone, lawl.

    Will you guys need my druid tonight for Uldie 10? ‘Cause uh… I need to get more gear for Rei. I quote:

    Steve: “Don’t gear yourself too far ahead of me.”
    Me: “Okay” -waits for her boyfriend to hit 80 before doing any raids and only does a few heroics-
    *Next Day*
    Steve: I want the priest in Ulduar 10 in two weeks!
    Me: *Looks at her level 65 green trinket* Go to hell…

  4. #4 by kyrilean on August 31, 2009 - 12:01 pm

    I’m not sure Wise is the loot whore anymore…

  5. #5 by Ambrosyne on August 31, 2009 - 12:47 pm

    @Mikata – If you don’t show up I’m having Josh fart on you when you’re here, okay?

    ETA: No, TIM. I WILL HAVE TIM do it. He’s worse…I’ll feed him Taco Bell first and everything.

  6. #6 by Mikata on August 31, 2009 - 1:00 pm

    o_o

    Great merciful Amber… WHY!??!?

  7. #7 by Ron on August 31, 2009 - 2:14 pm

    I do owe you a priest guide don’t I… I’ll get that in your hands soon. Fantasy football has been the leisure priority as of late, but my last draft is Tuesday so I’ll be back on it then. I may be able to hop on your vent tonight after raid if anyone has questions. Just let me know, you know how to get a hold of me. /queue fail angel batsignal. Btw… When we doing lunch again?

  8. #8 by Saeren on August 31, 2009 - 2:17 pm

    I am a healing lead, officer and resto druid (yes, yes…leaves for hair, roots for feet, go ahead and mock…) looking for priestly advice. Recently, one of our holy priests informed me that she had switched specs to disc – there was much rejoicing as we did not have a disc priest on our raiding team and I was thrilled that I didn’t have to actually ASK someone to respec, you know?

    Then I looked at her spec…28/43/0. Huh? She has more points in holy than in disc. I’m ok with people not being cookie cutter – a few tweaks based on playstyle and group requirements show me that you’re thinking but this?

    Is there any value to this spec? Am I missing something here? I’ve never played a priest to a high level but as healing lead, I do research and read so that I have a good understanding of the various class capabilities and I’ve never seen a priest with this spec before.

    What role can she play on a 25 man Ulduar raiding team – even a casual one (3-4 nights per week) like ours? Any advice is much appreciated.

    Love your writing – keep up the good work!

  9. #9 by Ron on August 31, 2009 - 2:38 pm

    Saeren,

    There is no value to that spec. In fact, off the top of my head I don’t even think they’re spec’d deep enough to take advantage of the raid wide mitigation talent of Disc. There are only a few points you need to grab from the Holy tree if you’re Disc (14… 18 for Holy if there is a weakness in Disc gear) and vice versa. Anything else is a waste as there are core talents you’re missing out on one way or another.

    With a 28/43 spec, your Disc priest is really a Holy priest in disguise which would be funny but it’s not yet Halloween. Have them spend some time over at http://www.discpriest.com for some information on how to spec/gear/play Disc if they choose to do so.

  10. #10 by Ambrosyne on August 31, 2009 - 3:05 pm

    …what Ron said. If you’re not deep enough for penance, you’re not deep enough to call yourself a useful disc priest, IMO. It’s like…being a resto druid and not using HoTs.

  11. #11 by Saeren on August 31, 2009 - 3:08 pm

    Ron – thanks for the quick response and the suggested reading. If nothing else, whether she uses the site and does some research or not will let me know how serious she is about playing her class to the best of her ability. I’m not holding out much hope though based on what I’ve seen and heard so far.

  12. #12 by Ambrosyne on August 31, 2009 - 4:35 pm

    @Ron – QUIT STEALING MY LIMELIGHT.

    <3

  13. #13 by Ron on August 31, 2009 - 5:43 pm

    _______
    / | \
    / | \ <— Ron
    |
    |

    Amber

    :)

  14. #14 by Ron on August 31, 2009 - 5:43 pm

    Bad formatting by wordpress… you know what I was getting at

  15. #15 by Cassandri on September 1, 2009 - 2:12 am

    What is that? A shower?

    Our guild holy priest only offers this advice (when I attempt to heal offspec):

    Make the green bars full.

  16. #16 by Cynwise on September 1, 2009 - 4:30 pm

    @cassandri: I like that advice. DPS boils down to the same thing, only reversed; make the green bars empty.

  17. #17 by Happyheal on December 28, 2009 - 12:08 pm

    This thread is from September but I have to comment because I’ve been using a 28/43/0 hybrid spec on my priest since I hit 80 in December 2008. I didn’t look online for this spec — after I healed my first few heroics and raids, I went from 14/58/0 to the hybrid spec based on my play style and what I used most when healing. It’s great for mana capacity and I would never call it a discipline spec. It is a great *raid* healing spec and I usually find myself at the number 1 spot for healing in raids and number 3 or 4 in overhealing. I hope whoever your priest is Saeren based the hybrid spec around their play-style and didn’t just copy it from somewhere, because when dividing points down 2 trees, you need to really have a solid understanding of what everything is doing imho! Just realize a hybrid healing spec is not a waste/useless if they know what they’re doing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

