The Healers Will Take Over the World

…or at least, the guild.

Historically, the officers in Brotherhood of Oblivion have been tanks.    Sidearm, Zlord, Atropus, Macharious, Zoja-all tanks at one point or other.  Even I was a tank when I first transferred over to the guild, though I’d gone healer again by the time I was promoted.

Last night, we had a little officer chit-chat and decided to replace our two departed officers with people who will actually do stuff.  While little miss tree-bear doesn’t ENTIRELY break the pattern, Ky is Mr. Heals With Everything That Can Heal.

It would be easy to draw parallels between healer/tank types and leadership positions-so easy, I won’t bother.  But I will congratulate Kyr and Mikata on their new shiny titles, and publicly LOL at the bloggers taking over!

I will also thank them for two healing Freya last night so that I could go shadow and make up for the fact that several of our DPS seem oblivious to trees.   :P 

Recruitment is kicking into high drive, so it’s my time for…

SHAMELESS GUILD PLUG O’ RECRUITMENT

BoO is looking for DPS and healers primarily.  Shadow priests, hunters, and elemental shamans would be especially welcome, but any solid DPS who knows what “Kill the mother fucking trees!” means will be considered.  We do have room for sets of friends/couples/etc, though due to raid composition we can’t promise you’ll get to do every run together, especially as we transition back up from 10s to 25s.  Good tanks will also be considered, as we currently have only 3 on the active roster.  Healer-wise I’d like to add both raid healers and another tank healer.

We’re up to Mimiron in Ulduar10, and Crazy Cat Lady in 25s (with only two weeks in, at that).  ToC 10 is something we’re just starting on off-nights, and we still run the periodic Naxx25 for gear/badges.   Main raid nights are M-W, 7-10 PM  CST.  Thursday is our primary off night (lol?) and keeps the same hours, roughly.   We’re on Azgalor, and yes it’s a PvP server, but if this RP-server scrub can hack it, I promise you it’s not so bad.

Oh, and we’re crazy.  I’ve mentioned that, right? 

 

…Seph, did we scare you off?  We’re fine, I swear!  XD  I mean look, we promoted useful officers and everything.  Mikata didn’t even get promoted because she’s Steve’s GF, but because I wanted a secretary!  She keeps being nosy and doing my HR bitch job anyway, so she might as well stop making me look bad and do it officially, right?

, ,

  1. #1 by candy on September 1, 2009 - 9:52 am

    Good luck! If any of my former alliance peeps are looking I’ll send them your way. If I thought I could keep up with raiding horde and Alliance side I’d move over my lazer chicken but I know better…
    ;)

  2. #2 by Mikata on September 1, 2009 - 9:56 am

    Amber Amber Amber…

    I look forward to beating you this weekend with a pillow, child.

    :)

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on September 1, 2009 - 10:11 am

    @Mikata – CHILD? CHILD? I AM OLDER THAN YOU BY A FEW YEARS MISSY. You were in middle school when I was graduating high school! DON’T CHILD ME.

  4. #4 by Mikata on September 1, 2009 - 10:25 am

    Hey… Hey!!

    Don’t get technical with me… I DON’T NEED YOUR SASS!!

  5. #5 by kyrilean on September 1, 2009 - 11:38 am

    My change is due to GM malice and I thought Mikata was promoted due to GM favoritism. No?

  6. #6 by Kestrel on September 1, 2009 - 11:51 am

    Don’t hold your breath, but I’m going to discuss a server transfer with a couple very dear friends of mine (we’ve been together since shortly after WoW launched). We’ll see how good a salesman I am…

    You know what I do (and I do it damned well, if I say so myself); one of my friends is a doomkin, the other is a mage (but might actually prefer to transfer a healer). We are up to Mimiron on Ulduar 10, and Freya on Ulduar 25.

    All 3 of us have been officers in a raiding guild; we know better than to stand in shit, and the two ladies sure as hell know how to kill trees. They even know how to execute first-rate CC as needed. (Just don’t ask me to MC on Razuvious, mkay?) Oh…and they even KNOW THE FIGHTS (I just watch health bars; all fights look the same to me).

    And LOL @ Kyr

  7. #7 by Hikari on September 1, 2009 - 11:59 am

    … wish my mage had better gear. :( And if I didn’t have to work most evenings.

  8. #8 by Shiina on September 1, 2009 - 12:21 pm

    Long time lurker here. First off I love your insight on healing and boss fights (especially your explanations), and with that being said… I wish you the best of luck on finding people :). Personally I wish I could change servers and bring my Disc Priest over, but my current class schedule has me gone on M-W nights :s. But seriously, everyone should want to join your guild ^.^

  9. #9 by Mikata on September 1, 2009 - 1:08 pm

    Woot!! More pawns to watch die-

    I mean… >_>

    Yeah… go Team! Join our guild because bloggers will take over BoO and we’ll be just that awesome!

  10. #10 by Oasic on September 1, 2009 - 1:16 pm

    So other healers get promoted and I get demoted??

    What is this nonsense Amber! :-)

  11. #11 by theerivs on September 1, 2009 - 1:35 pm

    Just a baby pallie on your server, one day perhaps.

  12. #12 by Mikata on September 1, 2009 - 1:38 pm

    Rivs… you there… level faster!

    And Oasic… you know we still love you!!

    You’re such a better priest than Amber… if ranks were based on skill… she would be a recruit and you would be GM. =3

  13. #13 by Kotak on September 1, 2009 - 2:43 pm

    *stop reading blog goes back to leveling his druid before all the healing spots are taken*

  14. #14 by Ambrosyne on September 1, 2009 - 2:58 pm

    @Oasic – You dissed my boobs. No one gets promoted who d-wait, wait. Fuck. Now we have to demote Mikata.

  15. #15 by Mikata on September 1, 2009 - 3:15 pm

    Hahahaha… that’s right… Amber can no longer demote me!! Nothing shall hold me back now!!

  16. #16 by Ambrosyne on September 1, 2009 - 3:17 pm

    FUCK.

  17. #17 by Oasic on September 1, 2009 - 3:23 pm

    What! Did not! …although they are getting sliced up by your helm.

    Either way, all I said was:
    holy > disc

    Which made you angry because you are jealous that when I die, I can’t cross over until a few more people get healed.

  18. #18 by Mikata on September 1, 2009 - 3:26 pm

    Don’t worry Amber… as soon as I get a few “fail boob” jokes in IRL this weekend, I should be done. =)

  19. #19 by Ambrosyne on September 1, 2009 - 7:16 pm

    @Oasic Same dif…both terrible lies.

  20. #20 by Jessabelle on September 2, 2009 - 7:43 am

    What server are we talking about here, or did you blatantly mention that somewhere and I just completely missed it?

  21. #21 by Mikata on September 2, 2009 - 8:03 am

    We’re on the Us-Azgalor server, a loving PvP server, lawl.

  22. #22 by Kiramaren on September 2, 2009 - 9:31 am

    Well your raid nights are appealing *nods* I wish there was one more even, no promises but I would love to be there. I read Kyr’s, your and Mikata’s bloggs daily to see whats what.
    But for now I think I will be handed the reins for good now in my current guild and with most (all) officer on sporadically its up to me kid o.o its a little daunting but uh ya. I’m a /rip face bear tank though ;) my bear butt is so cute I swears!

    But if my herculean effort goes to waste and as much as I would hate it because I love my guild and the ppl in it I would come over and raid with you guys. I have a compulsion to get things explained as raidwarnings for some reason <..>

    We are currently on yogg on 10man (I got there on my hunter [old main], and have just tried a few attempts tanking Mimi last week) and on 25man we downed the catlady with a joint run with another guild.

    Soooo ya if I cant hold it together despite my best efforts than I will come darken your door looking all /sadface but hopeful.

  23. #23 by Mikata on September 2, 2009 - 9:34 am

    =D

    I LUFF bear tankerz!!

    =^-^=

    Yup yup…

    >_> Totally try to talk your guild into a guild server transfer, lol.

  24. #24 by Kiramaren on September 2, 2009 - 11:54 am

    Lol maybe worth while I think you would like my ppls :) I’ll think on it and see how it goes I have that annoying habit of neva say die!

    :) My alts are pretty awesome too I must say I have a hunter (was my ‘main’ raiding toon up until a month or so ago) and I have a baby disc/shadow priest thats 55 and lvling :) First AV and then soooon sooon my bubbles will save the WORLD! One absorb at a time!! [oooh oooooh oohh do you have a good disc priest info site to look at, I am currently looking at Ron’s suggested http://www.discpriest.com, but needs more info, noa! K thnks!!1!]

    Lol but ya your my top choice by far I want to progress through content and I am fine if it takes longer than the norm but as long as it doesn’t stop… that’s bad :(

    Your at mims right for 10man? and what about 25? have you ventured in there on your own or jointly?

  25. #25 by Mikata on September 2, 2009 - 1:06 pm

    So far, as Amber stated in her post, all of our Ulduar runs are guild only, 10 man is at Mimiron, and 25 man is at Auriaya. This week we’re trying to push hard for progress. The “A team” is being called in and we’re ignoring any bosses that we don’t need. (Ignis, IC, Razorscale) so we can get as close to Yogg as possible. We thouroughly believe can can easily see Yogg, it’s just a matter of making sure we have the right group and full A+ focus on what we’re doing so we can steamroll the farm bosses without any delay or out of game BS.

    Also, as Amber said, we are really pushing for recruiting because we do really REALLY want to see 25 man content. In a way Ky likes to put it, most of our core raiders are casual raiders with a hardcore mentality, so as much as we like 10 man progression, we love 25 man progression more. While we only raid a few days out of the week for progression, we don’t want those days wasted and we want to get in as much as possible.

    Anyone who can relate and agree with that philosophy would be a highly valuable addition to the guild.

  26. #26 by Ron on September 2, 2009 - 2:33 pm

    Kiramaren,

    If you have any specific questions just let me know. There’s not an “all-in-one” site out there that I know of, but the spec is relatively simple to play so long as you have the right tools and aren’t immune to thinking proactively.

    Plus I love using Amber’s blog as my personal chat space :)

  27. #27 by Ambrosyne on September 2, 2009 - 3:17 pm

    @Ron – He’s asking for disc priest info…on a disc priest blog…and YOU, not even the WRITER of the blog, are butting in!!!

    At least write guest posts for me, you ass!

    <3

    @Kiramaren – PlusHeal.com is a really good forum for all healers.

  28. #28 by Kiramaren on September 2, 2009 - 3:56 pm

    She btw and thanks I will be sure to check that, lets hope it makes it past the firewalls :)

  29. #29 by Mikata on September 2, 2009 - 4:05 pm

    It’s okay, Kira (I hope you don’t mind if I call you that).

    We all know Amber is sexist.

  30. #30 by Ron on September 2, 2009 - 11:10 pm

    @THE BITTER Writer

    I should have something for you next week, holy side though. I tried doing a Disc piece but sadly effectiveness all comes down to knowing the fights and having a good, well placed boss mod so you can see ability timers and such… not much fun to write about :(

  31. #31 by Kiramaren on September 3, 2009 - 9:37 am

    Yup np Mikata I go by Kira in guild or Shadow (aka Shadowhisper my bear /rawr ;))

    duh dum duh! lvl 56 now (/Queue ebil laughter) /Mwahahaha

    So I have been levelling mostly in AV since 51 its nice to take a break and still lvl while not doing the quest grind, on the 3rd character collecting termites again isn’t that fun.

    How was the raid last night btw? We got to yogg and wow green clouds of doom we had a million that ppl were like running into, dancing in and I think the occasional nap. tonight we go in again o.o, we almost almost got to phase 2 there were way to many guardians that just lol rofled us.
    I cant wait for your guide on that one Amber :)

    “Green clouds are bad Mmmm-kay!”

  32. #32 by Mikata on September 3, 2009 - 10:56 am

    We hope to see Yogg come Monday, if we don’t down him, I can pretty much foresee a raid lockout extension to get in as many tries as possible.

    Last night we om nom’d up to Hodir and Freya leaving just Thorim, Mimiron, and Vezax before Yogg. We’re pretty solid when it comes to the Thorim fight, we’re pretty familiar with it, our problem will come when we meet Mimiron again who’s a tiny little gnomish PITA.

    The Vezax Clearcasting nerf for trees will make me cry, and poor Amber… she will be in a corner /wrists, I can already tell.

  33. #33 by Elleiras on September 4, 2009 - 11:26 am

    Hypothetically speaking, if I were to faction change my li’l druid … could I hang out with you guys and maybe fill in on the occasional Monday or offnight raid if you were short core raiders? (I’d gear her out Horde side first, of course, since I have more resources here.)

    I’m committed to my trainwreck of a guild (being the GM and all >.>), but I could really use the occasional change of pace (and I might even be useful, if on a rather casual basis).

    I know I’m a sporadic commenter these days (the last few weeks at work before the layoff were rough, so I haven’t been blogging), but I’ve fallen under that whole I-feel-like-I-know-you-guys-cause-I-read-your-blogs syndrome. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

