No Tantrum Required: XT Strat

Basic Concepts:

  • LOL DAMAGE EVERYWHERE
  • DPS what you’re told WHEN you’re told, mister
  • Don’t spread the cooties

We use two tanks for this fight.  One tanks the boss, and the other gathers up big robots (Pummelers).   You can tank the boss directly across from the entrance if you wish (we do), or you can tank him on one of the junk piles.

DPS, you…DPS the boss.  Except when the heart is down, then you DPS the heart.  If you’re AoE you may be assigned to watch a pile and take care of the adds.  If the little robots reach the boss, they heal him, which is bad, mmmkay?  Bomb bot thingys go asplody, so 1) don’t stand near them and 2) make them asplode so they asplode the little bots. 

Spread out.  Everyone around you can potentially have cooties.  For shiny white cooties, 5 yards away is safe.  For purply glowy cooties, you need to be 10 yards away.  If you do not have a means of showing distance (/range for DBM), then GTFO my raid, scrub.  That or go stand in a god damn corner.

Healers, I’m sorry.  You’ll need to watch for a couple of things this fight.  Watch for people with cooties.  Keep everyone as topped off as you can because the boss with pitch a fit every so often.  He will tend to do this while you also have cooties, just to be a dick.  Use bubbles/AoE heals/liberally sprinkled hots/whack a mole/whatever to keep everyone up.  If you have mana to spare and are a dork like me, you can run into the adds and HOLY NOVA! for shits and giggles.  Just uh, dont’ get yourself blown up by bombs.  Not that I’ve done that, or anything.

  1. #1 by Mikata on September 2, 2009 - 3:16 pm

    Insert /rw comment here.

  2. #2 by tartdarling on September 2, 2009 - 5:21 pm

    EWWWW COOTIES. You haz cooties?! *runs away*

    but srsly: I think this may be my favorite xt explanation ever.

  3. #3 by Therye on September 2, 2009 - 8:43 pm

    lol funny xD

    but as a priest i still think it’s easier just to stack up all the casters for the aoe heals :P

  4. #4 by Kestrel on September 2, 2009 - 10:17 pm

    As a Holy Priest, I DPS the hell out of the heart when it’s down, including DoTs. Prayer of Mending should be one of your top 3 spells in this fight, if not THE top. (Lots of Renews, too, esp. on ppl with cooties.)

  5. #5 by Ron on September 2, 2009 - 11:12 pm

    PoM should be one of your top 2-3 spells on basically EVERY boss fight

  6. #6 by Cassandri on September 3, 2009 - 1:12 am

    “asplody”

    I hope they add that to the dictionary. Best description for Bomb Bots I’ve ever heard LOL.

  7. #7 by Jessabelle on September 3, 2009 - 8:41 am

    I’m really awful about not listening to boss fight explanations. I totally ignore them, because I’m ADD. But seriously, if all our boss fights were explained this way, I might actually listen and pay attention. Geeky explanations actually hit home with me.

  8. #8 by Ambrosyne on September 3, 2009 - 8:46 am

    @Kestrel – It’s a well known fact that I DPS the hell out of everything I can as disc. Hence cries of MIND SEAR! on Freya flower packs.

    @Jessabelle – That’s actually why I explain them this way. It’s not just for lulz, but because I’ve found out it’s the only way to ensure that I’m not wasting my time. Otherwise the GM drones on from the wikipedia article, and then everyone asks, “Wait, what do I do?” and we go through it all over again. I don’t pay attention to your standard explanation, either!

  9. #9 by Fuubaar on September 3, 2009 - 9:37 am

    here’s a little note to Raid leaders with LONG Drawn out explainations….

    “Whoops I pulled the boss”

    /bow

  10. #10 by Kestrel on September 3, 2009 - 10:14 am

    @Ron: Well, true. How about if I say I meant Prayer of Healing? :) (Both of those are almost always in my top 2; I even have Power Auras set up to flash a big graphic any time PoM is available.)

  11. #11 by Ambrosyne on September 3, 2009 - 11:11 am

    @Kestrel – ….I need to fix my PA to do that. Don’t know why I didn’t think of it.

  12. #12 by Euripides on September 3, 2009 - 12:01 pm

    I thought tanking him on a pile would let him pick up adds whenever they spawn? You used to be able to prevent adds from spawning by tanking him between two piles, but they fixed that.

  13. #13 by Kestrel on September 3, 2009 - 1:05 pm

    Amber, I find even with the PA reminder, a LOT of the time, I’m too damned busy doing something else to throw my frisbee, but it definitely helps.

  14. #14 by Kestrel on September 3, 2009 - 1:06 pm

    @Euripides Adds only spawn from 3 of the piles, so once you know which one is “safe,” he can be kited there by the tank.

  15. #15 by Ron on September 3, 2009 - 2:21 pm

    @Kestrel – I approve :). But I choose PoM tracker over power auras

  16. #16 by Ambrosyne on September 3, 2009 - 2:56 pm

    @Ron – PoM tracker irritated my innate sense of order by making my UI lopsided. Besides, why use another addon when I have PA already installed to help with my tanking? :P

  17. #17 by Ron on September 3, 2009 - 4:54 pm

    @Amber – Because I said so :P

    I’m a fan of a variety of mods; PoM tracker works best for me which is why I use and suggest it :).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

