Priest: Int, Crit, and You

Yesterday there was a very good post up at Penance Priest.  Go on, go read it if you haven’t already. 

The first thing I did when I got home was to pop on Lyr and peek at my gear. 

You should power-on the intellect if and only if you are mana starved. It is a regen stat, and it is our best regen stat without question. If you end fights with half your mana and with shadowfiend off cooldown, you do not need more mana, and therefore you do not need to stack intellect. However, if you’re doing fights that require constant spamming of your biggest heals, and you struggle to last long enough, intellect is the clear choice.

In our 10 man Ulduars, I’ve gone back to being “disc raid heals”.  I support the tank healer, watch the OT, and take care of anyone in the Vibrating Crotch Pot or whatever it may be that fight.  Ignis, which can be a more mana-nomming fight for me, ran me OOM…at the very end of the fight.  Without shadowfiend (should have popped it at half, but I wasn’t watching my mana bar).  Hmmmmm.  Not bad, not bad at all.

I peeked at my gems and saw in some of my older gear…int gems.

Hmmmmm. 

A quick trip to the AH and I tossed those out for more SP gems.  Blues, if you’re wondering-I have epic gems only in my Uldaur25 stuff because those things don’t come cheap and I won’t use gbank supplies for that.    We’ll see what difference that makes.

My problems in Ulduar have not been mana ones lately.  They have been “oh god oh god oh god THE TANK IS DYING OH GOD” problems, at least, when I’m on full MT duty.  Yet I’m over the soft haste cap of 5%, sitting 7.59%.  Instead of stacking more haste-which I haven’t been able to get my hands on anyway-I’m going to lean more towards crit and SP.   I won’t need to cast heals quicker if I can cast bigger heals with more mitigation provided…in theory.  Switching to a heavier haste concept would also require a shift to a GHeal build, and I’m strangely allergic to GHeal.  Must be those years spent as a FoL spamming holy paladin.

I’ll even consider tweaking my disc build slightly for a crit talent I know I missed. 

Experiment OMG CRIT is a go!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Arrens on September 9, 2009 - 12:10 pm

    Go Holy. Embrace the failangel.

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on September 9, 2009 - 12:35 pm

    @Arrens – I did AND IT WAS TERRIBLE.

  3. #3 by Kotakh on September 9, 2009 - 1:12 pm

    You were oom on Ignis yesterday!!

    Darn, i totally missed that otherwise i would have sent an innervate your way. My innervate always sits there unused :(

    *note to self, check out other people mana bar more often*

    It was my first raid with you guys yesterday and i loved it. It went really smoothly since the only wipe was a voluntary (i have no idea how to spell that word) one.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on September 9, 2009 - 2:28 pm

    @Kotakh – Pfft, I tossed fiend out when my bar went blue and then said…oh…oh, he’s at 3%. And then he died, and it didn’t matter. XD

  5. #5 by Ron on September 9, 2009 - 2:50 pm

    The soft cap for haste is actually 11% for Disc, but who’s counting :).

    Anyways, a haste build in general for Disc is annoying because you need to cast PW:S on every penance cool down in order for it to be fully viable. This means that you’re casting a shield on your non-tank target a lot due to the weakend soul debuff. You don’t necessarily have to depend on GHeal with a haste build, but it will be pre-casted a lot in case there is spike damage (should be the same for a crit build too). All of the above is why I only play Disc when absolutely necessary… I just hate what they did to us post patch. WTB 3.0 again :(

    If you’re still 3 healing Ulduar 10, you should only have mana issues if:

    1) You are undergeared for the instance
    2) Your other healers suck / synergy between the healers is lacking
    3) Your DPS stands in the fire the entire fight, for every fight
    4) You’re learning the fight.

    The instance is fully doable with two healers with an offspec available in case things get to be too much for the healing tandem. It pains me at times that healers have their hands held so much. No one ever minds bringing extra healers… but they should. Majority of this games healers needs to learn to play (just a rant… bad experience the other day in a pug run.)

    I have to say it simply because I enjoy lighting a fire under you Amber… but if you’re 3 healing Ulduar 10 and you’re not healing the MT, Disc is gimping the overall healing. Raid wide mitigation in a 10 man equates to very little when you compare the loss of throughput healing that could be offered by Holy or by another class. If someone else is healing the MT, my suggestion would be to go Shadow if you’re confident in your other two healers, or spec in to Holy and watch the battles become trivial.

  6. #6 by kyrilean on September 9, 2009 - 2:56 pm

    LMAO! I nearly went oom on Ignis because I don’t remember what Divine Plea is.

  7. #7 by kyrilean on September 9, 2009 - 2:57 pm

    @Ron – Oh by the way we attempted to hardmode XT last night with two healers and we got 148k away from doing it! Soooo close!

  8. #8 by Ron on September 9, 2009 - 3:31 pm

    @Ky: NICE! You’ll get him next time.

  9. #9 by Paolo on September 9, 2009 - 4:09 pm

    @Ron: In my post I linked a page you should check out about the haste cap, worth a quick visit:

    http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?sid=1&topicId=19378360567

    Otherwise I generally agree with everything you wrote.

  10. #10 by Ambrosyne on September 9, 2009 - 4:53 pm

    @Ron – I HATE HOLY. Has this not been established?!?!? DISC/SHADOW FOR LYFE.

    So far we’ve done XT and Freya 2 heals, and I’m fine with stepping it up if the others are. ;) Of course, we could have me tank heal, Ky come back on his priest, and the new druid can boomkin…

    …but I’m not the one assembling the raids. :P

    Also, quit being a pill in my comments and write a damn guest post already!!

    AND CASTED IS NOT A WORD. PRE-CAST. OMG.

  11. #11 by Ron on September 9, 2009 - 4:59 pm

    @Paolo – Work filters prevent that but I’ll check it out at home if I have the time. Otherwise I’ll take your word for it since I haven’t done much theory crafting on Disc for a while.

  12. #12 by Ron on September 9, 2009 - 5:02 pm

    Casted is totally a word. My blackberry spell checker says so :P (even though the fire fox spell check disagrees… let them fight it out)

    You’ll get my guide if you spec over to Holy and try it out :). I want a promise on that first

  13. #13 by Ambrosyne on September 9, 2009 - 6:55 pm

    @Ron – I was already holy! Nooooooo!

  14. #14 by Ron on September 9, 2009 - 10:30 pm

    @Amber – I meant my style nubcake

  15. #15 by HoHo on September 10, 2009 - 3:42 am

    I once went OOM on Ignis25 by spamming entire raid with shields non-stop and pohs after flame jets while also using fiend and hymn. Ended up at around 5k effective healing though and faaar ahead of everyone else :)

  16. #16 by Jedidiah P. on September 10, 2009 - 6:48 am

    I just kind of fell across this blog and when i see things such at this i smile to myself =D Its neat to peek into other peoples perspectives on the game and to do so with a nicely put together blog! I play a newly switched horde BE pally on Gorgonnash. For most the the character’s life she’s been a healer and I tanked a bit in BC. Now im trying the tanking game again and have come a little ways in the past week collecting gear for it:) Her names Nynaeave lol. I have a male BE warlock so i thought i’d make a female one this time. Glad to have found this place! Take care ^_^

    Jed

  17. #17 by Ambrosyne on September 10, 2009 - 8:53 am

    @Jedidiah – Hiiiiiiiiiiiiii!

  18. #18 by HTTP://chiarao.weebly.com/ on March 18, 2013 - 5:04 pm

    Regards for writing “Priest: Int, Crit, and You | I Like Bubbles”.

    I reallymight certainly be back for far more reading and commenting soon enough.
    Thanks a lot, Lawerence

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

