We have a…pattern.

Random conversation with Josh in Target:

“So, I was talking with Steve at work, and he was wondering if you would go holy again.”
“Fuck no! Has he forgotten that I hated it?”
“I don’t think so.”
“Ha!  Ha!  Hahahahahaha!  Besides, the crack elves would see.  No.”
“The who?”
“Nothing.”

But on to that pattern thing I mentioned in the title.  BoO has one when it comes to boss progression.  I find it funny, myself.

1) Meet new boss.  HI NEW BOSS.
2) Wipe.  And wipe and wipe and wipe.
3) Make MASSIVE PROGRESS!  OMG, we could kill him tonight!
4) On the very next attempt, someone will flub something stupid early on and we wipe quick.
5) Shit goes downhill from there and the raid is called.

Then, the NEXT TIME we walk in there:

1) Hi boss, LOLOLOLOL HERE’S YOUR BALLS BACK WE TAKE LOOT NOW KTHX.

There may be one wipe in there if we shifted too many new people in, but generally, after a day or so off we come back like a fucking freight train.  I’ve seen it happen more than once, the most notable  case being Freya.  She stonewalled us and then a couple of WEEKS later when we finally got back to her, we one shot her.  Bwuh?

Obviously I’ll be posting a Mimiron victory shot after tonight’s raid, yes?  Assuming Atropus remembers that tank +mine = bad…

, ,

  1. #1 by shadowtycho on September 16, 2009 - 12:07 pm

    so this means that i get to read a fun general vezax strat?

    /hopefull

  2. #2 by Kotakh on September 16, 2009 - 12:17 pm

    Hey Amber,

    Mimiron will have his balls handed back to him tonight, thats for sure.

    As for going Holy…DONT!! I hate holy priest they always pass me on the healing meter ;)

    Seriously, you’re the best disc priest i’ve seen in a LOOOOOOOOOONG time.

  3. #3 by shadowtycho on September 16, 2009 - 12:23 pm

    as a side note to those who want you to go holy, wouldnt that mean losing your raids only external tank cooldown? making fights like mim very difficult if not impossible?
    just a thought while I’m very very /bored

  4. #4 by Jov on September 16, 2009 - 12:27 pm

    @shadowtycho Not pressing Bubs this time, but you’re forgetting Guardian Spirit.

    http://www.wowhead.com/?spell=47788

  5. #5 by slytherati on September 16, 2009 - 12:28 pm

    Every raid needs a disc priest, it r facts.

    Who else would bubble the poor crotch pot people?

  6. #6 by Nyctef on September 16, 2009 - 12:28 pm

    This sort of thing seems to be fairly common, especially when practicing a musical instrument or something. You learn good and bad ways to play a piece, but apparently you forget bad ways quicker than good ones. Sometimes, taking a break from practice can be the best way to proceed, and I guess it’s true of boss attempts too.

  7. #7 by L. on September 16, 2009 - 12:29 pm

    My guild is like 1-5, too!

  8. #8 by shadowtycho on September 16, 2009 - 12:34 pm

    @jov i can see how that would work on mim. but what about surge of darkness on general? given you could try the kiting strat but its much easier with the ability to sit still and mitigate,
    also the raid i was listening in on they had 2 resto droods and a disc priest, a holy priest would have been redundant

    http://www.wowhead.com/?spell=62662

    surge of darkness for your convince

  9. #9 by Hoho on September 16, 2009 - 12:38 pm

    The 10-man group I’m doing heroic totc has a pattern aswell. We kill bosses as soon as our lock raid leader dies in fire and raidleads us over vent as corpse. We’ve had our first kills on all three first bosses using that strategy.

  10. #10 by shadowtycho on September 16, 2009 - 12:40 pm

    the working strat for new content in my guild is to put the main tank on /ignore and mute him on vent.
    know one knows what his input is anymore, but him keeping it to himself has gotten us through all the content.

  11. #11 by Ambrosyne on September 16, 2009 - 12:42 pm

    @shadowtycho – I think for the rest of the week we were disc priest/holy pally/tree. Not a…spectacular combination, but one we are very familiar with none the less.

    Of course why we were running that combination when said holy pally has a holy priest, I don’t know. :P

    Josh is silly.

    @Jov GS is the shit and I’d love to have it on Mim-they we wouldn’t have to worry about tank swapping in the first phase.

  12. #12 by shadowtycho on September 16, 2009 - 12:52 pm

    @amber if you are running a holy pally they can use BoP(?) and hand of sacrifice(in that order!!!) on the tank for the third blast and you do not have to do a tanking transition. also if they are holy with a few points in prot they can use divine sacrifice again combined with immunity. i think divine sac is preferred cause it dosent have the aggro drop(I’m a warrior tank, leave me alone)

  13. #13 by Mikata on September 16, 2009 - 1:01 pm

    We good luck tonight, Amber… I’m about 80% sure that I’ll be rotated out tonight for other people to come in so they don’t QQ and ragequit. -_-;;

  14. #14 by Ambrosyne on September 16, 2009 - 1:14 pm

    @Mikata – but rotating on progression fight is siiiilllyyyyy.

    We’ll see, we’ll see. Perhaps you’ll stay in, I’ll go DPS. ;)

  15. #15 by Mikata on September 16, 2009 - 1:21 pm

    @Amber- No… we need the bubbles. It’s like… out of our healers, we have

    You-Disc Priest
    Kotakh-Resto Druid
    Me-Resto Druid
    Lil-Holy Priest
    Oasic-Holy Priest
    Ky-Holy Pally
    Steve-Holy Priest (Who he wants as his main now)
    Celaeno-Disc Priest

    See the pattern? We have… a butt load… of raid healers, and hardly any tank healers, who all want to fight to get into a 10 man. And that’s just mains, not counting alts or casual raiders. And with most being officers/core raiders with no priority, people QQ and ragequit if someone goes other than them, even if they can only raid one day.

  16. #16 by Mikata on September 16, 2009 - 1:22 pm

    @Amber-Plus… after Monday, I’m sure I’m the LAST person Josh will want to take because, I say again, I don’t think he likes me very much. -_-

  17. #17 by Ambrosyne on September 16, 2009 - 1:25 pm

    @Mikata – But I feel that switching out healers when we nearly nailed Mim is SILLY. We should maintain as much of the same group as possible.

    Also, you left off Aloness…er…Krucible…as a holy pally. Though he just rejoined so I don’t expect you to know him. And there’s The Holy Pally Who Doesn’t Bother To Sign Up, too.

    and /eyeroll – HE LIKES YOU FINE, WOMAN.

    Steve is the closest thing he has to a best friend…if he hated his gf, I’d know, and he doesn’t. :P

  18. #18 by Mikata on September 16, 2009 - 1:33 pm

    @Amber- o.O

    People who don’t have account on the forums and or don’t sign up I do not acknowledge because they are /llllllaaaaaaazzzzzzyyyyy!/

    And also… we had 2 rsto druids and no tank healer but you and our(Kotakh and I) HoTs.

    I’m just recalling to last weeks issue we had, and I can foresee it happening again… possibly even tonight.

  19. #19 by Mikata on September 16, 2009 - 1:34 pm

    OH FFS WTB COMMENT EDITZ

    I KAN EDIT COMMENTS LULZ – Amber

  20. #20 by Ambrosyne on September 16, 2009 - 1:37 pm

    I want my Zuki back. *sobs*

    WTB SHAMAN PLOX.

  21. #21 by Mikata on September 16, 2009 - 1:39 pm

    I would have a nicely geared resto shaman by now, but Blizz wanted me to go enhancement… I had to listen. >.>

  22. #22 by Ambrosyne on September 16, 2009 - 1:40 pm

    Why are we chatting via my comments when we are on twitter?

  23. #23 by Kotakh on September 16, 2009 - 1:46 pm

    @Mikata – The good thing about having 2 druids is 2 BRez. It’s very usefull when dps decides its a good idea to hug whoever is getting the next Napalm blast ;)

    Also, if you want to rotate me out instead of you for someone else it’s ok (as long as it doesnt become a habit ;). I need to work on my Boomkin gear anyway.

    Cya tonight

  24. #24 by Kotakh on September 16, 2009 - 1:51 pm

    Also, i have a lvl 80 shammy but she is totally ungeared right now so it would need a LOT of work to gear her enough to run progression Ulduar.

    I guess i could start working on her tho if the guild need a resto shammy.

  25. #25 by kyrilean on September 16, 2009 - 1:55 pm

    Wife works tonight. Should be available for raid if needed.

    Ah the joys of having Holy Pally, HOLY Priest, and Resto Shaman. :D

  26. #26 by theerivs on September 16, 2009 - 2:21 pm

    You need more mages in your comment section. Hai there

  27. #27 by Oasic on September 16, 2009 - 2:24 pm

    If only it wasn’t Wednesday…

    *I* could have been the one replacing Mikata with threats of ragequitting

    (kidding)

    GL tonight guys!

  28. #28 by Kestrel on September 16, 2009 - 5:41 pm

    @Mika: You’re aware there are some resto talents available that make Trees outstanding tank healers? Not being a drood, I don’t know what they are, but I AM aware of them.

    Of course, if you don’t like tank healing, that’s another matter entirely. :)

  29. #29 by Sephirah on September 16, 2009 - 11:47 pm

    You are silly Amber! You say you have too many heals and then you want MOAR SHAMAN! Incidentally I haven’t forgotten about you, we are a little steep on monies at the moment because we are apparently taking my boyfriends son to Disneyworld and that takes money? idk? Curse these six year olds needing memorable memories! By the time I get over there you’ll be drowning in healers and not need me anymore, but I <3 you anyway. Maybe I'll work on my enhance set while I wait =P

  30. #30 by Mikata on September 17, 2009 - 8:12 am

    @Kestrel

    Funny thing, before I knew you posted that…

    Last night I went on a talent calc and looked at a 23/0/48 spec that has every available SP, crit, haste, and nourish buff just for tank healing. With our abundance of raid healers, I might drop my kitty spec for a while and try out this one. Go-go dual spec Raid/Tank Resto Tree? Lol.

  31. #31 by Ambrosyne on September 17, 2009 - 9:31 am

    @Ron – I don’t. Like. Holy. I’m tired. Of being told. To go holy. You don’t understand HOW HARD it is for me to say no, over and over, when I’m very much inclined to give in for the good of every fucking other person in the guild. I’d rather SIT OUT RAIDS for the other tank healers then go holy.

    I’m not the one who brings a disc priest and a holy paladin to a 10 man raid though, now am I?

    @Sephirah – But with Zuki out for an undetermined length of time, we has no SHAMANS! Not even DPS shamans! HEROISM PLOX. <3 …well, there's Ky's alt, but what doesn't Ky have an alt of, healing wise?

  32. #32 by Kestrel on September 17, 2009 - 10:37 am

    Amber, come to Kul Tiras. I can put a dozen healers in our 25-man, but not.one.Disc. And it pains me. AND our tanks. I mean, our healadins are fine, and the other regular Holy Priest and I are two of the best at keeping tanks alive, but dammit…I WANT BUBBLES!

    (But no, I’m not changing to Disc and neither is he.) :P

    @Mika: I used to be Holy/Disc dual specced. But I never used Disc, and I DO solo my dailies…which are SO much easier as Shadow! :D

  33. #33 by Ambrosyne on September 17, 2009 - 10:59 am

    @Kestrel – I’ve decided that having Pain Supression for Mimiron and Vizax is wonderful. Which is why I’m actually glad that we have a second disc priest!

  34. #34 by Heather on September 20, 2009 - 6:14 am

    Glad to see another fellow priest who feels the same way about Holy as I do :) I’ve always been a fan of disc, and hate being asked to go holy with a passion. I have it as my second spec but avoid it like the plague.

  35. #35 by Kestrel on September 20, 2009 - 9:46 am

    The way I see this issue is, asking a priest to switch from Disc to Holy (or vice versa) is like asking a tank to switch from Warrior to Paladin. Yep, that much.

  36. #36 by Ambrosyne on September 20, 2009 - 1:44 pm

    @Kestresl – As someone with both a paladin and a warrior tank, I snicker.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

