Monday Recap!

Dear Fellow BM Hunters:

We are already the red headed stepchild of hunter specs.  Please do not enforce the bad stereotype by showing up to DPS a Heroic ToC with a tanking pet.  Also, “Is the paladin even holy?”  is not a constructive comment.

>:|

Worms R Not 4 Heroix,
The Hunter with the Devilsaur

Dear FailDK,

71 points in Unholy?

Really?

Is 71 points in ___ that EVER a valid spec for ANYONE?  For ANYTHING?

Baffled,
The Baby DK That Still Knows Better

In other news…

My darling boyfriend made it clear to me that up and coming holy paladins still struggle in 5 man content when he chucked his headset to the floor after several frustrating wipes on Paletress.  Now, Paletress can give my Ulduar geared Priestess hell if we’re lugging alts though, so I can imagine that a group filled with alts and fail pugs was…not exactly pleasant.   When we reformed a bit later with our progression MT it was magically easier.

It was also easier once someone told me I could tranq the renew off the summoned creature.  *coughsAmberisahuntardcoughs* 

Some more lolepix later and he will, hopefully, not be pushed into such rages again.   It’s all about geargeargear for the freshly dinged paladin-ironic, since the heroics to GET you gear will be hard if you’re not going through with people better geared than you.  I just kind of sigh because he two healed a Naxx10 just fine but H ToC was a disaster.  Aoe Damage + Freshly Dinged Paladin = FAILZ.  :(

My dear little hunter has come along nicely-3 days after dinging I broke 3k DPS on Sapph.  I still have a lot of work to do-she needs rep for her head and shoulder enchants, a new cloak, new trinkets (lol greens), a new ring, and the rest of my gear enchanted…but I am not total fail, at least.  There is a dearth of up to date information on raiding as BM for obvious reasons, so I am doing a lot of flailing around on my own.

Lyrandre has done fine so far in her heavy SP/crit, low haste build so far.  At least, we’ve been getting through progression content with me MT healing, and I can’t ask for a better test than that.  Mim was a mess!

Now…to prepare for Yogg!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by shieldbreakr on September 21, 2009 - 10:53 am

    Re: Paladin healing in heroics..

    I have had the same problems with my wife’s freshly dinged healadin. Doing H-ToC, even in my Late Uld/ToC25 tanking gear, is very difficult for her. Not so much at keeping me alive but at keeping everyone else not dead. Without a real AoE heal, these fights are pretty tough. Trade her out for a shaman or CoH priest in all blues and the fights are clown shoes easy.

    WTB Paladin AoE Smart Heal

  2. #2 by Euripides on September 21, 2009 - 11:35 am

    Worms can be useful if there’s no major armor debuff available, but that’s pretty rare.

  3. #3 by kyrilean on September 21, 2009 - 11:54 am

    The trick to paladin healing early on is deciding before the pull who dies first. Seriously.

  4. #4 by shadowtycho on September 21, 2009 - 12:20 pm

    get the armor pen atp proc trinket off of 5toc normal, its fun.except i dont know how beneficial armor pen is for beast mastery. thats agains assuming beast mastry is usefull at all. >.>

    good luck on yogg, here is some helpfull tips:
    do the strat where poepel dont stand in the clouds and dance around, having 1 tank at a time not step in clouds is alot more fun then having 10(or 25 for that matter) do it.
    FTLOGAATIH don’t over dps the damn adds, funnest wipes ever.
    for phase 2, the most important thing is removing the god damn debuffs. if you can swing it with your group, have no melee on the outside during the second phase except the tanks. melee outside is generally standing around or getting itself into trouble. brain room needs to get out with time to spare, don’t cut it close(less then 5 seconds) or you will just get fucked by rng. if someone consistently fails on their san check, make someone focus them and help them with it(or better replace them)

    phase 3:only face the boss if you need to dps the boss, that means you don’t need to face the boss if: you are dpsing adds, healing, tanking.

    most importantly, talk to all your keepers it really makes a huge difference(and attempting alone in the dark by accident is no fun).

    p.s. eagerly awaiting yogg strat.

  5. #5 by dorgol on September 21, 2009 - 1:14 pm

    HToC can be hard on GEARED Holy Paladins. It’s rare that I have any HToC where someone doesn’t die. Mind you, I heal with the Holy / Prot build to get Divine Sacrifice. So on phase 3 Black Knight I can cut down the incoming damage by quite a bit for 10 seconds. People will STILL die if their DPS isn’t high enough. How Paladins heal that fight without Divine Sacrifice is completely beyond me.

  6. #6 by Beruthiel on September 21, 2009 - 1:24 pm

    If I might offer a humble suggestion for paladins having trouble with the 5 man ToC, or any boss with some AoE damage (i.e. Loken), ask your entire group to stand on the tank. Make sure that you have a glyph of Holy Light (don’t undervalue the healing this glyph does!!!). You can then heal anyone in your group, and your group gets the splash heals from the glyph and your tank stays topped off full time. This sprinkled with some holy shocks is generally enough to keep everyone alive.

    Another tip on the priest lady in ToC is to make sure you are running Shadow Prot Aura, and as she is invoking the living nightmare, pop Aura Mastery. 9/10 times I do this, I resist the fear and when I do get feared it significantly reduces the amount of damage the rest of the group is taking.

    Hope that is helpful for your husband/anyone else!

  7. #7 by Ambrosyne on September 21, 2009 - 1:37 pm

    @Beruthiel – Ah! I will pass that along. He’s adjusting to the holy paladin changes just as I am to the BM hunter ones, and I’m afraid we’re both missing these awesome little tricks in the process. Thank you!

    (I am ashamed that I did not think of that myself!)

    @Dorgol – He is running the holy/prot build. I don’t know how you’d do it, either. I flail sometimes on my disc priest, and at least I have an AoE heal and all my bubbles.

    @tycho – Armor Pen does not transfer over to pets, so I don’t think it’s as tasty for us. :( I have picked up a bit here and there on my gear, but I’m better off as an AP whore, I think.

    @Kyr – Healing targets: 1) Tank 2) You 3) Highest DPS. The other two are “extra”. >.>

  8. #8 by UFTimmy on September 21, 2009 - 2:18 pm

    After running on a Resto Shaman for so long I switched mains to a then level 60 Holy Paladin a few weeks ago, so I know full well how hard it is as an under geared Holy Paladin.

    I had healed Ulduar 10 all the way to Yogg before I successfully healed 5 man heroic ToC.

    I had tried two times in a guild run and I died seconds into phase 3. Luckily on both attempts the guildie DPS was enough that they downed him even without me.

    I made an attempt a few days ago again finally and managed to heal it with no deaths. Divine Sacrifice, Divine Shield, and Beacon the tank. That gives you 10 seconds where you only have to worry about the three DPS. I used FoL spam and prayed they downed him shortly after the 10 seconds, which they did.

  9. #9 by Ambrosyne on September 21, 2009 - 2:20 pm

    @UFTimmy – Josh was just SoL the other day, because Paletress three shot him right off the bat at least once. WTF? SMITE SMITE SW:D SPLAT.

  10. #10 by buffarms on September 21, 2009 - 2:33 pm

    So wait, you redid your disc build? Did you blog about this? My disc priest has a permanent love affair with crit, and generally regards haste as little better than spirit (and what an insult that is!!) — which sounds pretty similar to what you’re trying right now. May I ask what perspective you ran with before? …More of a balance of haste and crit? Or were you stuck using holy-friendly gear?

    Because I’m at the point of having too much mana (went with a hardcore mana pool earlier this summer for learning to heal, and because certain theorycrafters told me to stack intellect). I’m slowly switching out regen trinkets and int gems for more SP, except my non-regen trinkets aren’t that hot…which leads me to consider trying out the Brewfest Egg-of-Mortal-Essence-lookalike I just got. But I just can’t bring myself to get excited over a haste proc.

  11. #11 by Joe Ego on September 21, 2009 - 5:13 pm

    My paladin is very well geared and I have only had some scares with Paletress, nothing horrible. The tactics below could work on Paletress (Imp Concentration Aura?), just make sure to get your cooldowns back for the Black Knight.

    “@Kyr – Healing targets: 1) Tank 2) You 3) Highest DPS. The other two are “extra”. >.>”
    WRONG! 1) Beacon the Tank 2) Make sure the Tank still has Beacon 3) Heal everybody else until the tank does not need any healing.

    Heal the Tank directly in emergencies, of course.

    If dps looks to be a problem for H ToC then make the call to your dps to save their cooldowns for Black Knight phase 3. This saved one of my low-dps pug groups from what I expected to be a horrible wipefest.

    Paladins can run Fire resist aura on phase 2 to help with explosions. Switch to Shadow aura for phase 3, though the damage reads “Shadowfrost” so I’m not sure how resist works on dual-schooled damage. Try to make sure your mana is high for phase 3 by hitting things in earlier phases with Seal/Judgement of Wisdom.

    At the start of phase 3 pop Divine Sacrifice & Bubble. Also try to boost your haste with a trinket, potion, or Engineering’s glove tinker. Try to cast Holy Light, rather than Flash, if your cast speed is low enough. Overheal is your friend. Love your overheal! Sacred Shield could be used to help on a non-Tank (yourself) on this phase as well. Use Aura Mastery for extra resist early in the phase as well. If it all goes to crap you can drop Hand of Sacrifice on the Tank and bomb heal yourself to push through the Beacon.

  12. #12 by Joe Ego on September 21, 2009 - 5:20 pm

    Oh, great… now I’m reading the exploding ghouls do Shadow damage? Fine, check your combat log regardless!

  13. #13 by Meki on September 22, 2009 - 12:18 am

    Healing the confessor is EZ MOAD. I do it on my disc priest without using AoE heals, the really really important part is to dispell the magic effect the add puts on people as that re-he-ally hurts after a while
    Be quick on the dispells and you’ll only have to worry about healing the ocassional smite she throws in some random persons face :)

  14. #14 by http://house-improver-tips-advice.snappages.com/ on February 2, 2013 - 4:24 pm

    “Monday Recap! I Like Bubbles” was indeed a pretty nice blog, .
    Keep creating and I’ll keep on reading through! Thanks a lot -Thurman

  15. #15 by http://pinterest.com/primesolar/ on February 4, 2013 - 3:55 pm

    I personally blog as well and I am posting something alike to
    this excellent blog post, “Monday Recap! I Like Bubbles”.
    Will you care in cases where I reallyimplement a number of your own points?
    Thank you -Stacia

  16. #16 by http://www.communitywalk.com/user/view/1802648 on February 5, 2013 - 5:49 pm

    How much time did it take you to create “Monday Recap!
    I Like Bubbles”? It features quite a lot of
    really good information. Appreciate it -Kenton

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

