Monday Recap

I did a lot of raiding this week-far more than normal.  I don’t have a single 80 not saved to one or more raid instances, and I didn’t even touch Ony or VoA.  Jamethera went to Ulduar 10 and Naxx25, Ambrosyne went to Ulduar 10, and Lyrandre made her second foray into ToC 10. 

The ToC 10 was a guild run (sans one replacement for our DCing DPS warrior), albeit it an unofficial experiment before we head into it “for reals” later.  We’d done one off night attempt there before but gotten stuck on Beasts.  It resulted in lovely gems such as this one from one of our tanks:

We seemed likely to get stuck on it again, but after we replaced the aforementioned DCing Guy, we did alright.  In fact, we cleared all the way up to the Twins. And you know what?  Seeing the infamous Faction Champions for the first time, and post nerf at that I…I kind of enjoyed them.

Faction Champions: As Experienced by Lyrandre

/heal heal
/get aggro from the hunter pet
/fear
/heal heal
/get aggro from the hunter pet
/run in circles kiting the kitty and casting bubbles and dispels
/fear
/get aggro from the hunter pet and the DK
/panic and say GETITOFFGETITOFFGETITOFF
/run in circles kiting the kitty and casting bubbles and dispels
/fear
/get aggro from the hunter pet and the warrior
/panic and say GETITOFFGETITOFFGETITOFF
/run in circles kiting the kitty and casting bubbles and dispels
/fear
/wonder where the hunter pet is
/heal heal, dispel
/giggle and run into the middle of mobs and fearbomb

And that is how you Faction Champion as a disc priest.  Since the sight of me running laps around the room with a cat following me was highly amusing, it was therefore an awesome fight.  I admit to having an advantage, however: my tank is in the room with me to hear “GETITOFFGETITOFF” when vent is rather, ah, busy.

Come twins in ToC, however, we ran into issues.  The tank kept dying.  As the tank healer, this makes me QQ hard core.  The only reason I can think of for this tank to die on my watch was the fact that I had to move around a lot.  Let’s face it, I’m not an awesome mobile tank healer when my big spell is channeled and I’m primarily a crit/SP whore.  Haste wut?

We were trying the one-tank, everyone-the-same-color strat.  Which works in some respects, but without anyone of the other color around to sop up those orbs, I was doing a lot of orb dancing.  Steve said that he would occasionally eat one for the sake of healing, which is fantastic, but two orbs will kill me.  I don’t want to risk “eating” one orb only to have a second one sneak up on me before I’m healed.  I think I need to drive home the “STEVE I CAN’T MOVE THAT MUCH AND TANK HEAL” aspect with a bat, because he’s got a wicked case of “If I don’t have a problem there is no problem” disease. 


Guild hobbies: Picking on Huntres, calling Phaseroll a loot whore, healers plotting DPS deaths, picking on Lyrandre

Of course it doesn’t help that I make it easy to pick on me.  Last week in Ulduar I just walked straight into a pack of mobs, for example.

My second trip into Ulduar with Ambrosyne as a tank was…not bad.  I didn’t start to suck until Thorim, where I did Arena for the first time.  Lots of DPS died in there.  Mmhmm.  I guess I wasn’t moving around to pick up mobs enough-a fact that Steve didn’t share with me until after.  Thanks, Steve.  You’re supposed to point out my dumb sooner so I can fix it if it isn’t clicking in my brain, mmkay?  :P  Since I spent so much time in the gauntlet (or staring at green bars) I admit I hadn’t actually watched tank behavior in the Arena before.  Now I know! 

She’s not a half bad alt tank if I do say so myself.  She’s got some gear that needs replacing (just bought a badge belt!) but it’s a toss up between gearing her and the hunter.  A lot of who runs what will of course depend on what’s needed, though I did also finally dual-spec Ambrosyne ret.  She is wearing this lovely mix of epics and…greens, where I didn’t have DPS gear already. 

I didn’t have much in the way of threat issues outside of the Arena, so no complaints there.

Dear Pugs:
I don’t want to see that sort of nonsense, okay?  Okay.

And that’s that for my Monday Recap.  I’ll leave you with this little gem, explaining why my ill-fated, dead-every-ten-seconds level 80 wolf is named HarryOtter.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by repgrind on September 28, 2009 - 11:37 am

    And as if putting 71 points in unholy wasn’t bad enough, the dude even managed to NOT take bone shield. ROFL

  2. #2 by Paolo on September 28, 2009 - 12:09 pm

    Fade, girl! It works like a charm on this fight. (An anti-charm, actually.) My champs profile looks like this: dispel, dispel, dispel, bubble, heal, fade, dispel, dispel, heal, fear. (Repeat until loot appears.)

  3. #3 by shadowtycho on September 28, 2009 - 12:13 pm

    @ failpugs, you make life so very very interesting, i haven’t seen any two fail in the same way. One or two failed so bad i questioned exactly what they where doing to make that happen.
    personal all time favorites:
    kitty druid, 71 pts
    feral, 530 dps…. shouldn’t autoattack do more then that if your spamming like 1 button?
    holy priest, properly speced
    out healed by retadin in a heroic, at lest they didnt pull threat right?
    eleshaman, 70 pts ele
    really? 70 pts, couldnt just put one more point in that tree and be /really/ fail?

    @faction champs: thank you for making sure that the locks in my guild die,every time. somehting that locks do makes them a magnet for the mobs, its really funny.

    i told you what i thought of that strat last night, you should at least have your healers be the opposite color of the dps, heals stand with range, range soaks one color heals soak the other, everyone stands still and is happy.
    also everyone has higher damage cause more absorbed = more time at +100% damage and healing

    more luck next time.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on September 28, 2009 - 1:03 pm

    @Tycho – I think that’s what we were going for at some point (or at least, healers wouldn’t switch if it wasn’t for the AoE) but I’m not sure what happened with that.

    /shrug

    @Paolo – I did that too! Fade and Fear were usually on CD. :P

  5. #5 by dorgol on September 28, 2009 - 1:22 pm

    For the twins I just stand and take the orbs. My guild is too fail to do hardmodes in Ulduar 25, so I KNOW we aren’t going to do ToC Hardmodes. I really like the effect you get form obsorbing 25 shadow orbs, though – I felt like a HEALING SHADOW PRIEST. Very cool. ;)

    Faction Champions are either amusing, or holy hell for me.

    When we do them in 25man, they all-but-ignore me. I stand in the middle of the pack tossing Flash of Light and Holy Shock and Dispels to my hearts content. Sometimes I’ll get feared or sheeped, rarely a big bad will walk over and beat on me.

    I did the same fight in 10-man for the first time over the weekend… and I was silenced probably 60% of the time. Felhunter, Mage, Shaman – I think ALL of them had me as their focus.

    It was a good reminder on why I hate PvP as a Holy Paladin.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on September 28, 2009 - 1:40 pm

    @dorgol – My holy pally was the only toon I extensively PvPd on, and that probably explains why I don’t pvp anymore. :P

    I had the hunter pet on me almost the entire time, with the DK or the warrior sometimes choosing to give me hugs. I got sheeped…once? I got SLEPT a few times, too-wtf, I’m not dragonkin. But I didn’t have a rogue stunlocking me so it wasn’t frustrating pvp as I recall it.

    Damn rogues.

    Taking orbs will hand me my ass, so I really, really, try to avoid them.

  7. #7 by Nzete on September 29, 2009 - 8:06 am

    Faction champs… hate clothies…

    Tailoring frostweave nets work on the pets… but not the boss level mobs.

    Fade actually works… I tend to save it for the three focus emergencies… bubbles are good.

    And against all expectations, I am more survivable as shadow than disc… =( Talented damage reduction, reduced fade cooldown, fade removing movement impairing effects, and dispersion rock here. (This was a “one healer needs to go dps night” but funny my divine hymn was still on cooldown and I was still needing to cleanse crap.)

  8. #8 by Ambrosyne on September 29, 2009 - 9:47 am

    @Nzete – MY NETS WILL ACTUALLY HAVE A USE? HOLY SHIT.

  9. #9 by Adgamorix on September 29, 2009 - 11:44 am

    This is what we do for Hard Mode twins (we kind of just faceroll to greatness on regular), but this will work for regular as well.

    If you’re going to do the 1 tank method, with everyone the same color (I honestly don’t know why you’d do this, but whatever) hold the twins between the two portals.

    Have your melee stack around the mobs, and put your squishiest healer in the middle of all of it. You’ll never get hit, because the balls will either hit the melee/tank, or the boss.

    With having no damage reduction on the off color for the tank though, and everyone having to shift if you get unlucky with the AoE, this strat seems more suited to guilds that are rolling it, not those that are just starting it.

  10. #10 by Nzete on September 29, 2009 - 12:28 pm

    @Ambrosyne – Pets like me too much… I actually used 5 nets the last time we were in there… must convince the raid leader that the pets should really be killed… I was still netting and running after all the bosses were dead.

  11. #11 by Mr. Operator on September 30, 2009 - 12:59 am

    My GM just leveled a priest and he currently has 71 talents points in the holy tree. I die a little inside every time I see it. His shadow dps isn’t doing that great either. Might be better if he stopped using Mind Sear on every pull…

    brb, crying self to sleep.

  12. #12 by whisp on October 2, 2009 - 3:37 am

    uhhh you know u can fade to drop your aggro from enemies in faction champs right?? :o

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

