Sssh.

So last night I returned to Ulduar as DPS, though not on my hunter.  With a bit of wheedling I got in as shadow priest, complete with newly tweaked spec.  I was pretty consistent in topping 3k DPS, which for my nubbish state and gear still largely optimized for disc priesting, is pretty good.  Right?  Oh shut up and leave me to my delusions.

And the thing is that…well…I really likeshadow priesting.  Not more than I like healing, no.  But…about the same, really.  So in a sense I don’t mind our plethorea of priests the least little bit, because we are often shy DPS so I get to tag along anyway! 

Wee!

Something about the Thorim fight made my hand hurt, though.  So many targets.

O.o

You’d think after warrior tanking, that would be nothing!  Ah, well.

In trying to maximize my DPS gear, I am reminded for the billionth time that JUGGLING HIT IS A BITCH!  I’m either way over, or way under cap, and fuck if I’m using any damn hit gems.  I sense a lot of time sitting in game with Rawr open sorting through my gear collection in my future.  It’s even worse than def cap…

Healing gear is so much easier to optimize!

, , ,

  1. #1 by kithain on September 29, 2009 - 3:47 pm

    Shadow should suit you… The background of your blog header already looks like an incoming shadow storm imo! xD

  2. #2 by slytherati on September 29, 2009 - 4:00 pm

    Rawr, I’d really love it if we had 25s going so we weren’t stepping on each others’ toes with being disc. I’d be glad to go shadow sometimes when you really want to heal, though! Or maybe I could finish leveling my druid, so we have three of those instead of three priests in raid. >_>

  3. #3 by Celinne on September 29, 2009 - 4:46 pm

    As a fellow disc priest healer with a shadow offspec I totally see what you mean, then again I rarely get an actual chance to melt faces often, but one thing I’ve learned for mixing gear around for each spec is that is always best to have specific slots to focus on +hit gear so that you’re actually able to reach the cap but also able to keep enough of your best healing gear on even for dpsing.
    Long story short, try to focus on pieces of gear you can get on your own (from emblems and whatnot) and optimize them to help you reach the cap, that way you don’t have to wait for rolling on offspec items, specially if fellow caster dps mains need it. On the bright side, spriest’s hit cap is not terribly high compared to other classes ;)

  4. #4 by Oasic on September 29, 2009 - 4:51 pm

    Bah! No.

    I like spriesting too. Dibs the dps spot.
    Ever since I was second highest dps on Freya, my confidence has gone up. I might just waste those 58 badges on the shadow chest piece.

  5. #5 by Shayzani on September 29, 2009 - 5:04 pm

    Be careful if your hand starts hurting like that. I got knocked out of commission for a week after ignoring similar pains caused by excessive Heart Strike spam with a poorly chosen button on my gamepad.

  6. #6 by Adgamorix on September 29, 2009 - 6:52 pm

    Yeah – I get to play all the games with my Paladin.

    Hit cap for Ret, Def cap for prot (and hit, and expertiese), and then just maxing out my healing gear.

    I think that’s why of all my alts – I like my mage the most. No rezzing. One buff. Just DPS like you mean it.

  7. #7 by Ambrosyne on September 30, 2009 - 9:00 am

    @Shayzani – It’s all that mind sear! >.>

    @Oasic – Noooooooo my deeps! …we’ll share. <.<

  8. #8 by Maebius on September 30, 2009 - 9:11 am

    I agree, I recently got a shadow off-set as a Disc priest for those times we had too many healers online.
    The first Heroic run I did, and popped a MindSear on trash, I just about had a joy-gasm with seeing “Killing blow (3)” flash on the screen. It was awesome. Likewise, those snow piles of Jormungir right before Hodir in Ulduar. Tons of fun!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

