Random Musings on Paladin Tanking

Our dear Kyr has decided to dabble in paladin tanking.  As it so happens many of the officers are or have been paladin tanks, so it’s not as if he doesn’t have a plethora of opinions to draw from.  I actually transferred to Azgalor as a paladin tank, and I am…reasonably comfortable on that role.  I tend to have several heart attacks the first time I fight anything new and then, blessedly, mellow out after that.

You should have seen me doing Ignis trash-I was cowering in terror, because I’ve seen the adds cause wipes repeatedly when allowed to give healers hugs.  I was quite proud of myself afterwards, too-no one died!  Yay!

I’ve not found-as a Naxx25 and early Ulduar10 tank-that the recent nerfs have not really affected me much.  I’ve even stopped thinking about how, exactly, I do it-I did my research on attack priorities, arranged my bar, and just smack the buttons when they’re shiny (I will so totes be an awesome ret pally).  I keep an eye on defense cap, I try to get some hit, and I like dodge and parry!  Block is okay, I guess.  I think wairrors like block more.  Stam + stuff gems are good!  Yay, stam!

…and that is how I prot pally.

…I should probably leave teaching Ky up to Macharious, huh?

I might toss out a paladin tanking 101 guide though, because simplifying things for those of us who recoil in terror from the EJ forums is only doing some people a favor.  :P 

Non-bleeding edge tanks, ho!

, , ,

  1. #1 by kyrilean on October 1, 2009 - 1:54 pm

    Right now, any info helps and a lot of it I think will be in the little things.

    For example, I have seen some tanks tab target their way around mobs to maintain aggro. I’ve also seen some tanks target one mob, let it die, then move to others relying only on their aoe or multi-target abilities to maintain aggro. What’s better?

    It’s those little things that scare me to death!

  2. #2 by theerivs on October 1, 2009 - 1:58 pm

    I would find a pally tank guide helpful, cause I’m working on a pally tank myself. Even though I was a warrior tank back in the day. I would thunderclap, and tab through targets sundering the mobs(later devestate). With Pally tanking I’m sure it’s a little different nowadays.

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on October 1, 2009 - 2:12 pm

    @Kyr – I seldom tab with groups of 3-4, relying on my AoE to keep them on me. Sometimes I will tab over to my next target when the first is -almost- dead, giving me a slight lead on trigger happy DPS. Both Captain America and Righteous Hammer or wtf ever our 51 point talent is hit 3 targets, so I never worry about groups of 3.

    I have enemy health bars turned on and I’m not sure if it’s default or omen or what anymore, but anything aggro’d on me will have a red halo around the bar. If it starts getting yellow (“losing aggro!”) then I might tab over to give them a quick slap.

    If you know you’ll be taking larger groups and can spare devo aura, ret aura will help hold things.

    I think that, at least, is particular to both your gear level and how trigger happy your DPS is. In theory, they’re following your target anyway. In theory.

    And then there’s people like Phaseroll…

  4. #4 by Rhidach on October 1, 2009 - 2:29 pm

    @Kyrilean: Pah, tab targeting is for meathead warriors. Like Amber said, let HotR and Consecrate build threat on other stuff for you, and just give them some extra attention if it looks like their losing interest. Between the initial shield toss and follow up hammer cleave you should have a sizable threat lead on them as long as dps isn’t playing footsie with whatever add they feel like.

  5. #5 by Cynwise on October 1, 2009 - 2:46 pm

    I didn’t know that about enemy health bars. I should give that a try!

  6. #6 by Maebius on October 1, 2009 - 2:56 pm

    Our Pally tank of AWESOMESAUCE posted this to our guild forums. It’s the clearest most math-less summary of Pally tanking I’ve read in a while.
    I personalyl don’t have a paladin to confirm or deny the info, but it sounds quite useful to a beginning tank (which is who it was written for)

    http://sop.guildportal.com/Guild.aspx?GuildID=317372&ForumID=1491774&PostCount=2&TabID=2660788&TopicID=8556302&Page=1#42247553

  7. #7 by Matojo on October 1, 2009 - 3:07 pm

    I am all for 101 guides, though I’ve been known to write stuff based upon EJ posts (the regurgitation method).

    … I didn’t think of the health bar thing. I’m going to have to do that on all my tanks (I think it’s “V” or “CTRL-V”, not sure which now)

  8. #8 by Mach on October 1, 2009 - 3:08 pm

    Kyr I will gladly teach you the ways of the tankadin. You just need to stop me when I rant about rediculous details :-P

  9. #9 by Ambrosyne on October 1, 2009 - 3:12 pm

    @Matojo – I regurigate a lot of my stuff. :P I specialize in “here let me translate this into something clearer and funnier!”

  10. #10 by adgamorix on October 1, 2009 - 4:52 pm

    Pally Tanking 101 – for Amber.

    Get a shield, and a 1H weapon (tanking stats preferred).

    Get to 541 Defense (there’s math blah blah – trust me, the extra point is worth it).

    Get stamina – as much as you can.

    Hit is good, but don’t gem for it.

    Tab targeting is for single target tanks – if they even exist any more.

    Get the glyph of HotR, DP, and either SoR or RD – depending on expertiese.

    Pull everything.

    Profit.

    Oh – and/or visit Rhidach’s or my site for some dumbed down info.

  11. #11 by Cassandri on October 1, 2009 - 8:17 pm

    Divine Plea is good. I know that much.

  12. #12 by lethal on October 1, 2009 - 11:39 pm

    If you want a good Tankadin 101 guide, http://honorscode.blogspot.com/2009/08/tankadin-101.html will do you fine

  13. #13 by Ambrosyne on October 2, 2009 - 9:02 am

    Quit robbing me of my material, people! :P

  14. #14 by Ten'nen on October 5, 2009 - 9:26 am

    I’ve found the button mashing tactic to work quite well as a paladin tank. As long as you have righteous fury up and remember to use Holy Shield whenever it’s ready and to keep a Judgement up, I’ve found the rest to be details…minor details. It’s kind of nice that we have 3 moves that can help us “AOE” tank instead of just Consecration…

  15. #15 by Cerys on October 16, 2009 - 3:16 pm

    Late to the party, blahblahblah.

    I need to make a flowchart for how I think as a paladin tank. It would probably amuse you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

