25s: wooooo!

So last night, BoO made its return to 25s.

Yaaaaaay!

We still need some solid DPS-we pugged a couple, some of our own still need work, and some alts made appearances.  Of course part of the alt fun was because two nublettes decided that it was okay to take their healer mains to a pug Ulduar25 since OMG we have so many heals right?  …and then we’re short a healer come the night of our run.  

Don’t do that.  You know who you are and you of all people should know better.  :P  Yes, we have more healers than you can shake a stick at.  Yes, you have alts that are capable of going into Ulduar25.  But you have no idea if one of our other healers might have connection issues, wife aggro, kid aggro, or whatever at the last minute.   Save your god damn mains for god damned guild runs. 

Let me tell you, the last thing I want on what is still progression content is Josh healing.  Not because Josh isn’t a fine holy paladin-he is-but because I want him tanking.  

Besides, on his pally Josh gets all up in my healing business.  “I think that not having healing assignments on this was a bad idea.”  Really?  It was a one tank fight  (pummelbot bitch doesn’t really count).  Do I have to explicitly tell you that you’re a tank healer and should therefore be on the tank?  And that the raid healers should be on the raid?  Hello?  /thwack 

If we have an excess of tank healers (and we did, last night) then I’m going to be the one on raid bitch duty.  This is fine with me as I’m the most used to it.  I really want to push the tanks to be comfortable with Celaeno, anyway.  Know the Celaeno, love the Celaeno.  I am not the only disc priest.  I do not want to be the only disc priest.   Feel the warm embrace of the other disc priest’s bubbles…  They seem a bit insecure sometimes because she’s not on vent (with reason), but they’ll have to get over it.  I’ll make them.  >:|  

I’m not sure if my tendency to hand out similar healing assignments is good, or bad.  Familiarity vs boredom?  I’m most likely to assign Kotakh the floating “assist on the tanks but watch the raid”  because I know he’ll be on top of it.  And well…raid is raid.  I could switch up the tank assignments, but…Josh wants me healing him.  So.  You try to work with that and make it interesting, damn it!

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kestrel on October 13, 2009 - 10:38 am

    FWIW, I make explicit healing assignments for EVERY fight, 10-man and 25-man. I use Surgeon General (and insist healers get the Surgeon General Listen Client), which makes it pretty easy.

    But there is never, ever any excuse for bad assumptions. Sure, the healadin is always on the MT, and either I or the other Holy Priest is always on the OT, and the trees, shammies, everyone else is on raid. But I still spell it out.

    Do it every fight, and your healers will love you (more). :)

  2. #2 by theerivs on October 13, 2009 - 10:45 am

    Though I didn’t perform DK awful, I wasn’t happy with my performance.

  3. #3 by Celaeno on October 13, 2009 - 10:45 am

    I probably will start using vent, since Matt has a tendency to leave the room when I’m raiding these days, but at the same time I feel like me not being there helps people get that you can’t just say “Cel do this” in vent and expect it to be caught every time (especially if multiple people are talking, omg what). So I guess it’s like training wheels, in reverse. XD

    Anyway, I thought last night was pretty good until we had that long break and people got impatient.

  4. #4 by shadowtycho on October 13, 2009 - 10:47 am

    yay for BoO.

    …guess i don’t have to server transfer after all.

  5. #5 by Fiorra on October 13, 2009 - 10:48 am

    Nice post Amber :)

    I wish that we were swimming in healers for my guild, we lost two last night and that kinda hurt us. So now I have to level my ass off to bring my Shaman up.

    It’s only ever the healers who have healer alts in my guild though…its like everyone else is too afraid to try healing.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on October 13, 2009 - 10:49 am

    @Kestrel – I didn’t have Surgeon General (I’m still discovering add ons I’m missing from my HD crash) and, honestly, I’m just the de facto healing lead. I don’t even want to be doing the healing assignments most of the time, I just get stuck with them. :P I’m slow becuase I over think it, and sometimes they pull when I’m only halfway done anyway.

    Also, I personally don’t like being told what I already know. I’m a disc priest, I’m on the tank. Duh. The sky is blue. Also duh.

  7. #7 by Hikari on October 13, 2009 - 10:51 am

    Your tags make me happy.

    On a more serious and topic-related note, being specific with assignments never hurts.

    Also. I wish I could help you guys! Your raids always sound like fun. :o

  8. #8 by Ambrosyne on October 13, 2009 - 11:01 am

    @Hikari – My tags make me happy, too. Silly tags are half the fun. I just don’t see the need to repeat…what are essentially the same assignments from one fight to the next.

    @theerivs – There were…worse mages. In fact, we need a Mage School.

    @Celaeno – They’re already used to me being in la la land. “Wait, what?” is a rather common comment from me. :P The lull was them having to switch Mikata’s intenret from wireless to wired-they had to crimp the cable and everything, haha. The wireless just wasn’t cutting it.

  9. #9 by jong on October 13, 2009 - 11:09 am

    “So last night, BoO made its return to 25s.”

    Yay. Hope you guys had fun.

  10. #10 by Kotakh on October 13, 2009 - 11:30 am

    “assist on the tanks but watch the raid” *grumbles* ;)

    I’m so happy we finally ran a 25 man (i dont mind pugs if they dont suck too much, plus it might be a way to recruit some new dps). And it went very well too.

    As for wanting Josh to tank…sure, hes a great tank. OTOH, the 3 tanks we had yesterday did VERY well too so it just gives us more flexibility raid comp wise.

    On another topic, i saw we scheduled a ToC 25 for next Monday…but we currently have 18 ppl signed up for tomorow ToC 10!! Maybe we should try to run the 25 tomorow instead of Monday, or at least make 2 ToC to make sure everyone has a chance to un it in-guild.

  11. #11 by Kotakh on October 13, 2009 - 11:31 am

    “or at least make 2 ToC to make ” was suppose to be 2xToC 10

  12. #12 by Adgamorix on October 13, 2009 - 12:11 pm

    So some say vent is a must have – others, not so much. Ensida doesn’t use vent – Premonition does. We’re not either. For the sake of my sanity – I don’t let folks without vent raid with us. I don’t care if they don’t have a mic, don’t talk, or whatever – but it’s much easier for me to give instructions or to react on the fly why I can’ push one button and talk – while still doing my assigned task.

    For a casual guild, I guess you can make exceptions – I just refuse to do so. I will boot a PUG in a heartbeat if I give a direction and it’s missed b/c they aren’t in vent – or logged into it and then turned down the vent volume so they could watch Hannah Montana reruns.

  13. #13 by Kestrel on October 13, 2009 - 12:48 pm

    So Amber…what if you have two healadins, a disc, a holy priest and a tree? (You say you don’t have shammies, so … )

    Now the disc priest on the tank is not so duh: I would probably prefer the pallies on the tanks (assuming a 2-tank fight), with the disc backing them up but also bubbling the mages (do your mages pewpew so hard they take reverse damage? Sure looks like ours do), and anyone else who needs it. Holy Priest & Tree on raid, natch.

    BUT…you may have a healadin who isn’t, so much…so you want Pally #1 and Disc on tanks. And it’s stuff like that, when I don’t make assignments, that makes my hair fall out.

    I’m just sayin… Naturally what works for me may not apply to everyone. But I finally have our tanks and RL trained (mostly) that healing assignments take time because NO ONE BUT ME USES oRA2 SO I DON’T KNOW WHO IS TANKING WHAT till alluvasudden people are dying. “WHO PULLED?” :p Yeah…I could rant too. ;)

  14. #14 by Celaeno on October 13, 2009 - 1:41 pm

    @Adgamorix I’m the Celaeno that’s not in vent, and it’s because I’m hearing impaired. If you can’t hear, vent’s not much use. :P Everyone else gets in there for raids.

    @Kestrel For this one we had one holy paladin, two disc priests, a shaman, a holy priest, and a tree. Pretty self-explanatory assignments there, imo. I’m with Bubbs on this and glad it’s not my job. XD

  15. #15 by Ambrosyne on October 13, 2009 - 2:09 pm

    @Adgamorix – Before Cel we had an entirely deaf guildie. I have another friend whom I don’t raid with because she’s horde side, but she is deaf as well. I’m hardly going to tell them they can’t raid because they’re not on vent! But then we are, as you said, a more casual guild. Since I’m almost always at raids, it’s no issue for me to play Tell Cel. I don’t mind. :D She’s damned good at what she does, anyway, and that makes up for a lot.

  16. #16 by theerivs on October 13, 2009 - 2:45 pm

    I don’t worry about other’s dps. I lead by example, and part of that is to make sure I’m doing the best I can. I will never turn away though anyone who asks for help.

  17. #17 by Katurian on October 14, 2009 - 1:31 am

    I started healing as Disc. It’s kinda boring. =( Then again, I haven’t done any raids yet…meh.

    Um, nothing else to say really. >.> Go Shadow! Woot.

  18. #18 by HoHo on October 14, 2009 - 2:10 am

    Healing assingments? We just usually have “heal stuff” in most runs and it seems to work quite well. People generally know what works best for them and act accordingly.

  19. #19 by Kiramaren on October 14, 2009 - 9:57 am

    Okay dont laugh <..>
    Do healers like healing assignments? …Really?
    My offspec is heals but I never really raid as a healer always as a tank, unless I do like OS/voa or something, and my disc priest isnt there yet yay lvl 69…so I dont really know.
    Cause I am the RL/GM/Babysitter, and my guild pretty much goes by heal stuff, woot! But I think there is an almost unwritten rule that if we have pallies they are on the tanks.
    But when we have done joint runs with other guilds they were like whats the healing assignments… lol what… ummm well ya know…. heal stuff <..>
    And we dont die too often, maybe the whipes we do have would be reduced more…
    Hmmmmm…. responses?

  20. #20 by Ambrosyne on October 14, 2009 - 10:21 am

    @Kiramaren Offical BoO Healing Assignments That Have Actually Been Given Out: Don’t let people die.

    >.>

    Some do, some don’t. YMMV.

    (Totally not helpful, I know.)

  21. #21 by Kestrel on October 14, 2009 - 10:30 am

    @HoHo: I am curious as to what content you’re raiding, and for how long.

    @Kiramaren: A lot of healers do NOT like specific assignments, for the simple reason that healing, believe it or not, is not as easy as pointing at the boss and going “pewpew.” Healing assignments make people responsible, and if their responsibility dies, all eyes are on the healer. Of course, it doesn’t matter that said responsibility couldn’t or wouldn’t get out of stuff on the ground or falling from the sky.

    I also hope no one has the impression healing assignments are exclusive: When I assign a healadin to the MT, I expect that pally to also throw any heals to nearby people who need it, especially in periods of high splash damage (which often coincide with low periods of tank damage).

  22. #22 by Kiramaren on October 14, 2009 - 11:09 am

    This feels like a good poll to try on our guild site… lol if the healers vote. Or I guess I can canvas them… Oh Hai healers /wave!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

