MOAR MIND SEAR

Brief Tanky Ramblings
Normal ToC decided to like me and cough up my tanking trinket.  Woo!  …now to run it some more for the DPS trinket.  Pffft.  And then some more to get said trinket for ME, because Josh wants said trinket as well on his DK. 

Thankfully I had enough defense to drop my Seal of the Pantheon for it, and keep the dodge trinket.  I’m also now FINALLY over 30k health in 5 man buffs.   Yay!  Hopefully she’ll get some more goodies in the Naxx25 run tomorrow (that I’m leading?  What?  NO!  *hands to Josh*).  Then I can set her back into her primary alt slot and…

…work on my hunter?  Alas, no.  Jamethera is stuck as the bastard red headed stepchild of my alts.  No, friends, I want to work on my shadow priesting some more.

PTR Changes
Stolen from Duct Tape and a Prayer because I can’t access the official crap:

  • Glyph of Mind Flay now Increases the damage done by your Mind Flay spell by 10% when your target is afflicted with Shadow Word: Pain.
  • Glyph of Shadow Word: Pain changed to – The periodic damage ticks of your Shadow Word: Pain spell restore 1% of your base mana.
  • Glyph of Shadow now increases your spell power by 30% of your spirit for 10 sec. (Up from 10%) (Here’s the current version.)
  • Improved Devouring Plague: This spell now deals 10/20/30% of its total periodic effect instantly, up from 5/10/15%.
  • Shadowform: This talent also now causes Devouring Plague, Shadow Word: Pain, and Vampiric Touch to benefit from haste. Both the period length and the duration of these spells will be reduced by haste. In addition, the mana cost has been reduced from 32% to 13% of base mana.
  • Vampiric Embrace: This ability is now provides a 30-minute buff that cannot be dispelled, instead of a target debuff.

/glee

Lookit!  Lookit!  Buffs!  Tasty things!  Oh my god!  I’m so excited!

…granted I still do less DPS than most of our other shadow priests (HOW?  MUST FIX) but YAY!  Now we get to cross our fingers and hope these changes don’t get nerfed back into the ground by release time.

Also, I find it terribly ironic that spirit is well-nigh useless to me as a disc priest but…it appears that I want some as shadow.  What?  Damn you. blizzard, for complicating my two sets of gear!

Oasic, how do you beat me as shadow deeps?  I MUST KNOW.

…oh they also made it possible for you to bubble nonraid/party members.  Sweet! Thanks Blizz!  Now I can run circles around Dalaran randomly bubbling people!  YAY!*

 

*I may or may not be genuinely excited by this development.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Vorian87 on October 14, 2009 - 11:39 am

    the changes really make me want to level my level 10 priest up >.>

    i’ve tried a friend’s shadow priest before and it’s a lot of fun, at least for me :P

  2. #2 by kyrilean on October 14, 2009 - 12:05 pm

    Are you using Shadow Word: Death? I know my dps spikes when I do.

    Also, I think the druid got everything she needs from regular ToC, including kitty gear…I think. But I can continue to heal for you if you like. My DK still needs some stuff though. /hint, hint

  3. #3 by Katurian on October 14, 2009 - 12:09 pm

    Oooh, those are some seksi changes! /glee!

  4. #4 by Celaeno on October 14, 2009 - 12:37 pm

    My paladin could use the int trinket from ToC (and any offspec gear someone else doesn’t need) so I can take over healing from Kyr if I’m online.

    Dps just requires too much attention and not enough WHEE BUBBLES for me. I’m bowled over when I do a decent job.

  5. #5 by dorgol on October 14, 2009 - 1:08 pm

    Lots of changes for the shadowy freaks.

    And amusingly, I remember when Blizzard REMOVED the ability to bubble non-party / raid members. I wonder why they are reverting it nearly 5 years later.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on October 14, 2009 - 1:26 pm

    @Ky – Die in a fire.

    @Cel – DPS requires more attention than healers? You scare me, woman! Though I’ll admit that having an actual rotation is…different. But that’s what ret is for!

  7. #7 by Adgamorix on October 14, 2009 - 2:15 pm

    My guess is the PW:S change was for WG. You can have 100 people from each team, but only 40 in your raid group – so if you’re heads up healing, you may not be able to shield those around you.

    Plus it sounds like there will be NPCs in Icecrown fights that you’ll have to keep alive.

  8. #8 by Oasic on October 14, 2009 - 2:19 pm

    I am just awesome. Nothing more.

    I told you my basic rotations on the forums! I did take the advice and try to re-apply pain when I have insane sp buffs up. I have two ilvl 200 trinkets that give me 550sp(I think its 550) each when they proc. I need to set up a power aura to let me know when they are both active. I also have that glyph of shadow that gives me a nice bonus from my lolspirit holy gear. And then I have the cloak embroidery that gives me another sp buff.

    All those notes for the next patch are amazing. Except for maybe the 1% mana back one (I can’t remember what glyphs I have at the moment, but I think that one replaces a 10% damage increase on something) because I don’t see how spriests need more mana regen (replen, dispersion (every 2 mins!), fiend, spirit tap). Maybe I don’t have oom issues because I have too much spirit for a spriest.

  9. #9 by Ambrosyne on October 14, 2009 - 3:43 pm

    @Oasic – I wonder if spirit is part of it? I, obviously, don’t have much. Hmmmmmmmmmm.

  10. #10 by repgrind on October 14, 2009 - 4:03 pm

    squee! /me goes and levels teh priest instead of doing dailies

  11. #11 by Myssidia on October 14, 2009 - 4:48 pm

    The three glyphs I use in my shadowness is Mindflay (bringing it up to 30 yard base range), SW:P (increasing Mindflay’s damage by 10% when there is a SW:P), and shadow (Crits = 10% spirit as sp). The only difference that they’re saying is SW:P glyph is changing to give back mana, which isn’t necessarily a buff. However, the mindflay glyph is changing to the current SW:P glyph and mindflay is becoming 30 yards without any prodding and Glyph of Shadow is going from 10% to 30%. So basically… all of our shadow glyphs are now useful and got buffed at the same time. LUFF PATCH NOTES

  12. #12 by Myssidia on October 14, 2009 - 4:52 pm

    also… priest base mana is 3.9k which means 1% would be 39 mana every three seconds which is…65 mp5? Almost makes me wonder if it would be worth glyphing SW:P and remembering to cast it as a holy/disc spec… =]

  13. #13 by Ron on October 14, 2009 - 5:13 pm

    @Myssidia – ummm… no :)

    858 mana cast cost on Shadow Word Pain.
    About 300 mana returned with glyph.
    Disc/Holy will not receive mana back from this.
    This is only viable with the Shadow tree talent for auto replenishing SW:P

    Besides, would you really want to have to mana a SW:P rotation while healing :P

  14. #14 by Ron on October 14, 2009 - 6:11 pm

    *manage

  15. #15 by Myssidia on October 14, 2009 - 7:42 pm

    Yeah… I realized that about 30 seconds after I posted, but decided that Amber was probably tired of me spamming posts. Also… if it meant 65 mp5, I might would try and manage a SW:P rotation. Sad that I’m terribad and suggested wasting 450 mana every 15 seconds.

  16. #16 by Worldmage on October 15, 2009 - 1:25 am

    Wow.

    Y’know, I was originally planning on waiting for Cataclysm to level up my priest more, but if those changes are in the live release I’ll change my mind.

  17. #17 by Ambrosyne on October 15, 2009 - 9:17 am

    @Myss – Spam away, dear! Also, meet Ron. Ron used to be my fellow disc priest but has since left the game, so he lurks around our blogs being opinionated. :P

    @Ron – DID YOU DARE TO BRING MATH INTO MY BLOG?

    Alright so actually Myss started it, but you continued it. Eeewww!

  18. #18 by Ron on October 15, 2009 - 11:40 am

    @Amber – I just miss you guys, that’s all :(. Lurking is such a…. creepy word.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

