OMNOMNOM SP/Crit

For those of you who are mildly curious as to how my foray into high crit, low haste discing is going, Lyrandre’s stats look thus-ish self buffed:

2455 SP  (2580 w/Broodmother stacks-alas I no longer have my t8 4 pc bonus, QQ)
32% crit
6.28% haste
309 mp5

I’m in a mangled collection of  t8, t8.5, and t9.  Give me a raid with a crit chicken and I’m one happy critilicious priest.

Now I’m not prancing around in hard modes or anything, but this has been sound for normal 10 and 25man content.  10man Ulduar on Wednesday night was a bit of a mana stretch to heal, but we had one healer who was at a lower gear level and we pulled it off with minimal mishaps.   A couple of fights make me wish I was a holy paladin with beacon, which is a statement so deeply filled with irony that I actually weep inside.  I mean I was a holy paladin and I hated it. 

Anyway.

The penance cooldown is as obnoxious as ever, but I seem able to spam sufficient flash heals in between.  Lately Josh has been yelling at me because he blows shield wall at the same time I use Pain Suppression, but it’s really HIS fault for TRAINING me so well.  I can’t help it that our oh shit instincts kick in at the same time!

,

  1. #1 by Celaeno on October 26, 2009 - 11:04 am

    My stats are running around the same as yours and I’m really liking this gear set up, though I might end up playing around with my spec. I can’t imagine gemming for anything else, because I don’t really have mana problems, and my heals seem to be going fast enough.

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on October 26, 2009 - 11:10 am

    I did recently tweak my spec-I dropped some extra points in holy for a smidge more crit in disc. I miss my 4 pc t8 bonus but I think the 9 is worth it…maybe it wouldn’t be if I was replacing 8.5, but I’m not. QQ.

  3. #3 by Ron on October 26, 2009 - 11:45 am

    Out of curiosity, are you working a gheal in your ‘rotation’ after a shield/penance? The extra 25 percent haste and bigger DA shield makes it a very sexy spell with that amount of crit.

  4. #4 by shadowtycho on October 26, 2009 - 12:38 pm

    solution: have the tank call for pain suppression
    or and this is my favorite

    i have had one or two moments where both me and my healers used no cool downs expecting the other to do something, so if you end up using them at the same, just put a bubble on him and laugh as you can just stop healing.

  5. #5 by Ambrosyne on October 26, 2009 - 1:12 pm

    @Tycho – He’s like I’LL CALL FOR IT and I’m all OKAY BUT IF YOU DIE THAT’S NOT MY FAULT.

    @Ron – What is this GHeal that you speak of?

  6. #6 by Ron on October 26, 2009 - 1:40 pm

    Greater Heal – You stare at your glowing fists of healing rage for a few moments longer resulting in bigger number appearing over your targets head*.

    *Bigger numbers provided your target has not died waiting for your happy, glowing ass to heal them

  7. #7 by Whitebeard on October 26, 2009 - 5:58 pm

    **Warning, side effects of Gheal may result in you giving flirting glances to your holy talent tree.

    Addendum: School blocked wordpress. Well, less “school” than “my IT teacher in the neighboring class”, but you get the idea. Insert sad panda face.

  8. #8 by shadowtycho on October 26, 2009 - 7:19 pm

    trick is amber if he dies and he didn’t call for it…

    /ITS NOT YOUR FAULT/

    unless you decided to stop healing him >.>

  9. #9 by Fuubaar/ Abigora on October 27, 2009 - 12:29 pm

    I’ve recieved that angry chatter from my tank for using Pain Suppression on them when they are really taking a beating.

    tank “Where did my threat go?”
    me “You were going to die if I didn’t do that!”
    tank “But but! My threat?!”
    me “well, when you die, you’ll no longer have threat issues”
    tank”…”

    They shut up after that :)

  10. #10 by Nzete on October 27, 2009 - 2:38 pm

    I am in the school of spellpower/crit also and have been saving the bits of TOC gear to wait until it is really worth breaking the 4 piece 8.5.

    I do use some gheal… but only with borrowed time, power infusion, heroism, or somem combination of the above. If not, “someone could die while I cast that”.

    World of logs tends to have my “top heal” as divine aegis.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

