Amber’s Thoughts on ToC

But I don’t want to do the same FUCKING thing on the same FUCKING toon in the same FUCKING instance two FUCKING times a week!

,

  1. #1 by Jov on November 4, 2009 - 10:40 am

    /sign

  2. #2 by Elleiras on November 4, 2009 - 10:48 am

    QFT.

  3. #3 by Cynwise on November 4, 2009 - 10:51 am

    Amen.

  4. #4 by Celaeno on November 4, 2009 - 11:00 am

    Or more!

    I feel sorry for people doing reg and hard modes.

  5. #5 by Tarsus on November 4, 2009 - 11:03 am

    Nothing expresses boredom with content more than being happy to run Onyxia because it’s something different.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on November 4, 2009 - 11:06 am

    What happened to the “farm” instance and the “progression” instance? I miss that set up.

    …oh right, now the farm and progression instances are the same one on different settings!

    Woooo!

    /end sarcasm

  7. #7 by youyankityoutankit on November 4, 2009 - 11:15 am

    Blame Tirion I tell you! Never shoulda helped him out in the EPL with his grinding quests…

  8. #8 by Vorian87 on November 4, 2009 - 11:18 am

    well… i do it on my pally (tank both 10 and 25) and my dk (tank on 10 and dps on 25) and i just got my druid up and gonna be working on getting her up there as well >.>

  9. #9 by Linedan on November 4, 2009 - 11:19 am

    Just put a vending machine outside to give us 15 Badges of Triumph, The Insult Comic Dog and let us go do Onyxia, because at least the old girl is interesting.

  10. #10 by Eulogy on November 4, 2009 - 11:24 am

    I kinda agree cept that having downed 10man togc Anub last night for the first time (on my hunter alt no less – so sad that my hunter is better geared than my priest *sniff*), I gotta say that feeling of ‘OH FUCK YES’ was definately still there.

    The whole fight just felt like we were on the razors edge the whole time; possibly because i was sympathising with the Pala and Shammy healer who were 2 maning it >.<

    Is it jsut me or is Beacon making Disc. Priests a little redundant :( makes me such a sad panda. WTB Priest beacon that proc's divine agis on a secondary target!

    Anyway, I can dream :)

    Nice blog Amber, keep up the fookin hillarious posts :)

  11. #11 by Adlib on November 4, 2009 - 11:25 am

    Ha ha, Linedan, that was great!

    Seriously, Amber, I feel ya. Heroic ToC is horrible. Last night we sat in ToC for 30 minutes while our officers overdiscussed strats. That was probably the worst case of over-discussion I have ever seen.

    Plus, it’s not like heroic makes people get out of the fire any faster.

  12. #12 by Kazgrel on November 4, 2009 - 11:29 am

    As a previous comment pointed out, if you think it’s bad doing it twice, try it 4 times. Last week I was in there 5 different times; 1 of our 2 10 man guild groups lacked tanks, so I switched to my paladin alt for that, thus having to scoop up easy mode badges on my main with a pug. Said pug included several alts from my guild, so it went smooth.

  13. #13 by Teuthida on November 4, 2009 - 12:00 pm

    My bright side is, normal mode is quick (and sometimes I get to swap specs, which always shakes things up a bit). But I have nothing but sympathy for my friends who are running that same instance four times a week. I mean, four times?! Every week?! The same instance?! Some of them are running it with the same toon in the same spec all four times. Eesh…

  14. #14 by Forreststump on November 4, 2009 - 12:10 pm

    It is laziness of design. Period. A bone to keep the restless masses occupied while IC is still in work. A rather tasteless bone, at that. If not for the people I play with – I’d have quit this nonsense.

  15. #15 by Backer on November 4, 2009 - 12:24 pm

    How messed up is it that we have TOC25 on farm and are still finishing “progression” into Ulduar25.

    Oh well. Sounds like ICC will not have the same design flaws as TOC. I’m looking forward to it.

  16. #16 by Light on November 4, 2009 - 12:49 pm

    /sign

    I feel your pain.

    Normal mode is too easy, hard mode is fine. Want in-between to make it less boring.

  17. #17 by Ratshag on November 4, 2009 - 12:50 pm

    Shoot, me little guild ain’t nowheres near ToC level, and even I’s bored by the fuhggin’ thing.

  18. #18 by Kotakh on November 4, 2009 - 1:11 pm

    I like ToC. I wouldnt mind doing it more times a week.

  19. #19 by Nzete on November 4, 2009 - 1:28 pm

    At least we do have the Ulduar hard mode progression…. and I should eventually get a mount out of that.

    Faction champions = no fun; give me a nice big boss that hits a tank like a truck instead. Or adds, fine… even okay with Freya and then saving an alt to the raid to herb the place. Funny no one in the raid has herbalism anymore… everyone dropped it for a better perk.

  20. #20 by Ellyndia on November 4, 2009 - 2:13 pm

    Oftentimes I’d do the same instance on the same toon twice in one *day*. Especially when we’d do uld 10 man hard modes in the afternoon (working toward the drake), and then do Uld 25 during normal raid time. ToC at least has the mercy of being short. Do you really want to do Vezax trash twice in one day? I don’t think anyone does.

  21. #21 by firsthandtengen on November 4, 2009 - 2:33 pm

    I’m right there with you. I’m so tired of ToC that I really wish my guild would stop running 10man regular, and onyxia 10 to be honest, even though it only take about an hour to do both, including travel and goof-off time. 10 Heroic is progression so it’s where I want to be, but we run DKP so farming is a must. Nevermind that I stopped playing all my alts because I just can’t stand to be in there anymore. I wanna go back to ulduar /cry

  22. #22 by Oasic on November 4, 2009 - 2:50 pm

    Well too bad. You are healing it tonight with me.

  23. #23 by Ambrosyne on November 4, 2009 - 2:58 pm

    @Ellyndia – Yes. Yes I do. I’ve only seen it once. >:|

    @Ratshag – AMG. AMG YOU COMMENTED ON MY BLOG. HAI. /dies

  24. #24 by theerivs on November 4, 2009 - 3:06 pm

    It all looks the same from where I’m lyeing in the dirt. LOL!

  25. #25 by Linedan on November 4, 2009 - 3:41 pm

    The problem is, I find myself wanting to do ToC a second time (in a 10-man in addition to the 25 I do now) for absolutely no other reason than badges. Ulduar is the opposite–I need very little loot or Conquest badges from there anymore except for filling in holes in my DPS off-spec set, but I like doing it because we’re pushing for some hard modes, and it still looks cool, and something about it just feels more engaging.

    ToC is flat-out boring, and easy enough that it’s nothing more than mechanical repetition–push lever, get [Pellet of Triumph]x3. The leap between ToC and ToGC is too big, IMO, it’s the size of the Grand Canyon…not saying that heroic is “too hard,” more like normal is “too easy.”

  26. #26 by Sarai on November 4, 2009 - 5:05 pm

    /signed.

    Funny thing is, I just made a rant like this on my blog. Only mine was kinda long and rambly. You cut to the point very nicely here.

  27. #27 by Voink on November 4, 2009 - 6:05 pm

    /sign

    Ulduar is still fun because some of the bosses are challenging regardless of gear. This isn’t.

  28. #28 by sainttonone on November 4, 2009 - 10:19 pm

    today is a `santa isn`t real` day.
    I hope tomorrow your Hannah Montana tickets arrive.

    <3

    IBToD

  29. #29 by Jaedia on November 5, 2009 - 11:28 am

    I hated it so much I quit raiding. Now I miss raiding!

  30. #30 by Paolo on November 5, 2009 - 11:32 am

    HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN THAT THERE ARE *TWO* WORMS!!?? It’s a double boss wrapped inside a TRIPLE boss. How can that not be fun to do umpteen times a week?

  31. #31 by Rahana on November 9, 2009 - 3:28 am

    Lol @ Paolo :)

    I feel ya there. Glad I downgraded to 10 man only guild with not allowed achievments for 25. That gives you 2xTot(G)C to run along with Ulduar and the odd Ony and VoA each week – really helps against burnout.

  32. #32 by Iteken on November 11, 2009 - 5:54 am

    Fuck ToC man.
    and thanks for making me LOL. I’ve quite raiding now until ICC as i’m sick of:
    1. being able to clear toc10 in 20 minutes adn DE’ing all the loot
    2. Wiping once in ToGC10 in an hour and missing Insanity, Again.
    3. Watching 10 people drag a ToC25 run out to 1.5 hours
    4. Watching the same 10 people make toGC25 completely Fucking Impossible. Because 3.5k dps in Full T9 is good right?

  33. #33 by drug on November 16, 2009 - 9:46 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. But you’re lucky today and I won’t start a long comment dripping with BC nostalgia.

  1. Two Things to Read Today
  2. Wrath Raiders are Guinea Pigs | Tank 'n' Tree

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

