Dear Orb Huggers,

Just in case you thought it escaped my notice, we are watching you.

When you stand still DPSing whatevering as hard as you can and eat orb after orb on Twin Valks, we are watching you.

Why are we watching you?  Well because we are the dutiful healers players, skirting around Bad Orbs and nomming the Good Orbs so that they don’t come nom YOU, oh DPSer Player of the Other Color.   We’re paying attention.  I see you, Orb Huggers!

I see you, and I will find a way to reach through the screen some day and choke a bitch.

, ,

  1. #1 by Pike on November 11, 2009 - 10:59 am

    I’m actually usually too busy Rejuv’ing everybody to notice who’s eating the orbs and who’s not =[

    *is a bad snarky healer*

  2. #2 by shadowtycho on November 11, 2009 - 11:57 am

    1. wait until vortex
    2. tell everyone the wrong color
    3. everyone paying attention switches properly
    4. ????
    5. profit

  3. #3 by Kotakh on November 11, 2009 - 2:08 pm

    Telling them to switch to the wrong color is wrong imo, ppl might assume that their DBM is bugging or something and listen to your directive.

    I would do:
    1.wait until vortex
    2.DONT TELL PEOPLE TO SWITCH
    3.Everyone paying attention switch
    4.(in our guild) Wipe
    5.People *might* learn

  4. #4 by Euripides on November 11, 2009 - 3:25 pm

    Orb hugging is a skill- DPS should know to never risk taking damage to get a DPS boost, however they should be attempting to collect orbs of the same color as their aura. One way to check for it would be to look at recount and check the damage taken- I believe orbs have their own entry in that addon. If someone is taking too many, let them know it’s not OK to use healer mana for personal DPS.

  5. #5 by Myssidia on November 11, 2009 - 5:08 pm

    Orb-hugger… My new favorite derogatory term for people I don’t like. “Dirty orb-hugger.”

  6. #6 by quelles on November 12, 2009 - 12:42 am

    But if they have to stop dpsing to avoid orbs they won’t be able to smugly link Recount after the fight!

  7. #7 by Christopher on November 12, 2009 - 5:24 am

    We use ‘ball-hugger’ or ‘ball-eater’. But overall I agree completely. /snark

  8. #8 by theerivs on November 12, 2009 - 11:34 am

    Obligiatory mage argument. Bubble my ass, and let Incanters Absorption ROCK THE MUTHA FRICKING HOUSE!!!!

  9. #9 by wantedpriest on November 12, 2009 - 12:19 pm

    As a healer, it is critical to identify serial orb huggers and be aware of their location at all times, since the splash damage from their hugs can kill you if you’re not careful.

    We use healer chat to remind each other who the orb huggers are before each Twins encounter. We too are watching you!

    Vess

  10. #10 by dorgol on November 12, 2009 - 2:13 pm

    I hate this encounter on Heroic. I have an unidentified error that causes my CPU to spike to 100% every 10-15 minutes while inside ToC. This causes my framerate to drop to 1 or less. And while that’s OK on normal… we are working on Heroic and if I get a CPU spike at the wrong time I’m guarantted to die.

    So yeah, I really hate this encounter right now.

  11. #11 by Ooke on November 13, 2009 - 2:19 pm

    I have one healer and one hunter who are orb-huggers.

    I even run interference for them if I’m healing and not dancing around the boss. My healing may go down, but my damage mitigation skyrockets. I’m glad that some people understand that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

