Woo!

Not only did the Brotherhood of Oblivion finally conquer our cockblock (DIAF Anub), but we got a new recruit out of it.  There’s another two that I’m reeling in, as well.  Yay!  DPS!

I am forever amused (and frustrated by) the fact that we have this plethora of tanks and healers and a dearth of solid DPS.  WTF, guys?  Thankfully, most of our tanks and healers can rotate  into DPS slots, but not all of them.   The majority of them are competent at their secondary jobs if not downright excellent, which certainly makes my life earlier.

To my further amusement, our healers are less likely to complain about DPSing than our tanks.  While most healers I know suffer from “back seat healing syndrome” (see how often I drop out of shadow form sometime), none of them seem to flail at others doing their job like a tank will.  Is it because the tanks are more visible?  

And now, let’s talk about…

How To Offer Opinions And Not Look Like A Dick

We have two raid members who are both rather opinionated individuals with a lot of usually solid advice to offer.  One of them is an appreciated, well-liked member of the team…

…and the other is on the verge of being gkicked nearly every raid he attends.  Why are they different?

  • Watch your word choice.
  • Watch your method of delivery.

“In hindsight, using X at This Time would have been better,” is less hostile than “Gee, using X at This Other Time was a mistake!  Didn’t you see that _____?”  If you are really frustrated and want to vent, find a friendly ear and do it there.  Hint: ventrilo isn’t it.  Tell your Healing Buddy that doing Y was dumb as hell, then suggest far more politely to your raid leader that maybe we could try ___ some time, because you’ve seen it work really well before.

Similarly, commenting in raid chat or in whispers is considered more polite than random vent comments during a boss fight.   So, what what you say and how you say it: it makes the world of difference.

On a related note, if you are not the RL/an officer, don’t call for things like brezzes or heroism.   Sometimes, we forget…but sometimes we have something else in mind, so we’d really rather you not confuse the matter.   A pug, for example, might not recognize that you’re not the RL/officer and go ahead and do it and then…well.   Oops.

, , ,

  1. #1 by apokteino on December 1, 2009 - 11:45 am

    warlock channel is clearly the only place for name calling/racial slurs/real swearing/other inflamatory comments and behavior.

  2. #2 by theerivs on December 1, 2009 - 11:55 am

    Phase was rocking the house last night, I was so proud of him as a mage. Hopefully I get to be where he’s at soon. 10k on Valk’yrs, Im no slouch at 8k, and number 4 on the fight…but damn 10k is hawt.

  3. #3 by xuna on December 1, 2009 - 1:12 pm

    I’m glad to hear that everything is going well there.

    I have to listen my GM rant about how any of the healers besides hmself have any skill at all and how the tank, which was as durable as wet cardboard… and taking on blood presence… and not using rune strike…, kept dying even with 4 healers on him.

  4. #4 by kyrilean on December 1, 2009 - 1:20 pm

    I swear to whatever gods you believe in that the next person that calls for Heroism gets a global mute! My thumb hovers over it anticipating the call and sometimes it’s hard to discern who asked for it. If the wrong guildie calls for it, I’ll /gkick them! :)

  5. #5 by Edainne on December 1, 2009 - 1:51 pm

    Hi there! First time commenter, but (recently) regular reader <3 Grats on the Anub kill!!!

    I can't agree with you more about calling out for *the* spell on vent. My boyfriend and I frequently are the RL's for out guild, and it drives me bananas when people call out for heroism. And usually it's our long term raiders too, who KNOW better.

  6. #6 by Kiramaren/Shadowhisper on December 1, 2009 - 2:44 pm

    /Agree! Cant stand it, hey buddy if you want to lead the raid then by all means have at er, but when I am leading I cant stand it unless it is another officer and he is reminding me that I missed something, I dont mind if my Droods ask if I want to blow a BR, sometimes its better to save it.

    And yes the raid leader(s) make mistakes, my point of whats happening is probably different than yours and I could be in the wrong but loudly saying on vent. ‘owmg! your doing it wrong’ is probably a bad thing.

    I like auggestions and trying new things but please please do it in wsp form or after raid or anywhere but vent and raid chat.

    I have had ppl (mostly when we pug) that are very loud and vocal and after they ‘explain’ something everyone is like wait what?!? And it takes more time to sort through.

    Oy on FC 25man when we first tried it, I miss called one of the markers to target next as I was trying to do my taunt rotation on the baddies so they wouldnt eat the healers and this guy comes with attidue and tells me to learn to f-in lead o.o too bad he left raid before I could punt him!

    What strat on anoooob did you use? we are as you say cocked blocked on him in 25man.

  7. #7 by Ambrosine on December 1, 2009 - 3:22 pm

    @Kira – I’m not 100% sure of every aspect of the strat-I know we tanked the boss next to an ice patch and held the mobs on said patch, had everyone DPS the first pair down, etc. We 3 tanked it, with our two most seasoned tanks picking up adds.

    Cranky Tank was also running around hamstringing the little bugs, which seemed to make a world of difference. Slow those damned things so you don’t have so many stacks of poison!

    I myself was running around tossing SW:P like a mad woman. We didn’t try to group up the bugs because grouping up is a real hard concept to grasp (o hai is my sarcasm dripping) but rather single targeted them, “especially the big red ones”.

  8. #8 by apokteino on December 1, 2009 - 4:31 pm

    just curious… are you talking 25 ToC or ToGC? i’ve only recently started following your blog (as all the other ones i normally read at work have gotten blocked!!! /pouts)

  9. #9 by Ambrosine on December 1, 2009 - 4:36 pm

    @apokteino – ToC25. ToGC would lol at us.

  10. #10 by Nzete on December 1, 2009 - 7:20 pm

    Funny, we are short dps also…. Except not really funny, we are running tens and rolling for the healing slots instead of running 25s and having just the right number of healers.

  11. #11 by Prot on December 2, 2009 - 12:06 am

    As a Prot paladin now rolling a dps DK I have to say that it is still odd for me to do DPS. As a tank you are the king of the hill, master of the domain. A tank is a serious power trip because if things go bad it is your job to get it right. Many a times have healers fallen but I as a tank was able to keep the raid up and finish the boss.
    A helaer is in a similar role. But a DPS? As DPS I just mash buttons and hope to god that my tanks and healers are doing their jobs. It is still a little bit odd to have had the power and then lose it. At least that’s my take on it.

  12. #12 by shadowtycho on December 2, 2009 - 10:06 am

    so, i don’t mean to step all over how your doing things, and this seems to be working, but i would like to see a flowchart at some point.

    ami dooin it right?

  13. #14 by Prot on December 2, 2009 - 5:26 pm

    I agree. Bloodlust > Heroism I can always tell an alliance reroll on my server when they call for Heroism.
    HORDE had it FIRST!!!!

  1. The Needs of the Many Outweigh the Needs of the Few…or One. « A High Latency Life

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

