You know…

…it’s really hard to write a Monday post about WoW when I spent all weekend either out and about (The Melting Pot=yum) or playing Dragon Age.  

Here’s to hoping 3.3 hits soon.  Bwuh.  What is there to log on for?  I can’t do too many pug raids because I fear the Cranky Tank’s enrage, and he’s been sick (the sickness debuff shortens his enrage timer by quite a bit) .  Heroics…meh at heroics until patch.  So that leaves…RP!…but that’s on a different server from my primary one, and doesn’t solve the Vanishing GM thing.  Sooooo DAO it was.

(For those of you that are wondering: why yes, I DID chose to play a healery type mage in DAO.  Adorable elf is adorable.)

My hunter now almost outgears my priest.  This fact is disgusting, and highlights some of the issues that come along with, well, playing a disc priest.  I almost said priest, but then I thought of some nice spirit/mp5 laden cloth that dropped recently that had a whopping two rolls for it.  Make it a crit piece and suddenly every damned mage and warlock on your server has magically appeared in your raid to roll on that shit.

Gearing is the one thing I miss about being a holy paladin.  Oh look, spell power plate.  Here you are, Token Holy Pally.  Oh look, more.  Here.  More?  Here!

, ,

  1. #1 by Copernicus on December 7, 2009 - 1:36 pm

    I always have stuff to log in for. With my five 80s (confirmed altaholic, hi, my name is Copernicus ::wave::) there’s dailies, unfinished quests, guildies that need healer/tank for heroics and/or raids, unfinished rep factions, yada yada yada.

    My disc priest (I greet you, sister!) is my most recent that I’m actually trying to gear up and get good at. I feel your pain with gearing up! I just ran a EoE 10 last night where two caster items dropped and half the raid rolled on them.

    Speaking of raiding, I just read your “Raid Healing as Disc” guide. We two healed EoE last night with a holy paly and me, the disc priest, and it DID NOT go well. I was OoM halfway through phase 2. PoH just sucks me dry. We ended up asking the shaman to go healy and three healed it, which went perfect the first time through.

    However, I’m loving disc healing. My other healer is a shaman, which I love as well. They’re such different styles, but perform the same job, it’s awesome.

    I can’t wait to get him geared up and into Ulduar or ToC and see how he does.

  2. #2 by Ambrosine on December 7, 2009 - 2:30 pm

    EoE is Not Nice. When I originally wrote the Disc Raid Healing bit, it was pre-PoH nerf. I can still kinda do it, but my mana bar does not love me, and you can’t do it while undergeared.

    My problem is that I can’t even chain run heroics, so, meh…

  3. #3 by The Renaissance Man on December 7, 2009 - 2:42 pm

    The Melting Pot? At which location did you sample their wonderful molten fondue goodness?

  4. #4 by Tego on December 7, 2009 - 2:58 pm

    except for me, playing a holy paladin there were 4 of us as healers… and 2 of the other 3 maintained holy sets… yes I raided with 7 paladins in a 25 man. Though I do feel your pain, and can understand the frustration almost everytime I want a cloak, trinket or (insert something that isn’t plate) Maybe this is a sign you should spec your paladin holy and run with that for a while

    ::runs and hides off in the blogsphere, maybe just maybe she wont find me…. “EEEP”

  5. #5 by xuna on December 7, 2009 - 5:40 pm

    I have that problem with trinkets cloaks… well anything. these thingies are fought by priests, mages, shammies, locks, moonkins…

    and with cloth thingies the other disc which happens to be the GM takes it because “it would help the guild progression more in my hands”

    I still loathe that offhand. he didn’t even pay the dkp…

  6. #6 by Ambrosine on December 7, 2009 - 5:43 pm

    @Tego: /STAB STAB STAB

  7. #7 by Antigen on December 8, 2009 - 3:24 am

    I’ve spent a few sleepless nights playing DAO so far. I’m not one for priests much (other than the flowchart-producing kind), I found the game at LEAST 7 times easier when I got one in my party.

    Great game though.

  8. #8 by wantedpriest on December 8, 2009 - 9:28 am

    Switch from spellpower/crit to a haste/regen build Amber, then you can roll on the spirit/mp5 and haste gear that few others want. It won’t thin the ranks of those rolling against you for cloaks, off-hands and trinkets (fcuk you Blizz), but it should help improve your kit.

    Vess

  9. #9 by Kiramaren/Shadowhisper on December 8, 2009 - 9:45 am

    /Crai, same thing with cloaks of the tanking variety well hell any cloak, I am still rocking a 205 lvl for 10man Uld and its dps to boot… with hit, which is soooooo easy to cap for, I am now clocked at 10%+ /sigh!

    I would kill for a new one, a TANK one with nummy nummy health, Must hit 50k health! :s

    I think our other tank would kill for one too, fight to the death?

    *dingding!*

  10. #10 by shadowtycho on December 8, 2009 - 10:33 am

    i has 50k hp buffed, i can has heal?

  11. #11 by Tego on December 8, 2009 - 10:43 am

    /dodge /parry /block ::runs::

    embrace the healadin…

  12. #12 by Beruthiel on December 8, 2009 - 11:23 am

    Mmmmmm…The Melting Pot! We dined there this weekend also :) It is one of my favorite places to eat!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

