A Tale of Two Tanks: Ambrosine


I decided to carry out my little experiment.  I logged on to Ambrosine, which resulted in a small explosion of dust.  Her gear is mediocre-tanking ToC10 is really the pinnacle of her ability right now.  Despite that, it is still all epics, gemmed and enchanted and showing that I’ve managed to flail my way through several raids somehow.

I did three heroics, including Halls of Stone, which I loathe.  Things did not go flawlessly-I tried to skip a couple of mob packs to save time, which resulted in people pulling them, naturally.  The healer died at least once.  I lost control of an add here and there, even as a lolpaladin.  I was often mana starved, until I won the Winter Hat in Nexus and put it on.

Yes, folks, I ran around in a gods be damned Winter Hat (visible-see above!) and no one said a damned word.  In fact, everyone was quite nice.  This tells me a few things:
1) Even mediocre epics make a difference in people’s attitudes, or
2) I got damned lucky with the handful of heroics that I did despite every single one over the weekend being full of fail, or
3) The Ruin battlegroup is magically less fail than the Vindication battlegroup, or
4) Winter hats are awesome

Obviously this is an experiment I’ll have to continue, but the initial results are…interesting.

On another note, I was no more OOM with a disc priest healer than I was with the others.  I sure can see the geared paladin plight in the older heroics though-damn, even with Divine Plea up, I was perpetually running on fumes!  I was drinking before some pulls!  My suggestion is that you either downgrade some gear, or wear something silly (like my hat) while still remaining over def cap.  Don’t ask the disc priest to not bubble you, you’ll make me cry (and I’ll swear that it didn’t fucking matter).

ETA: If you want advice better then “wear a silly hat” go here, my fellow mana starved tankadins!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by TheAllianceGuy on December 30, 2009 - 10:00 am

    Tanking ToC10 is mediocre? Damn, I’m not as cool as I thought D: Saying that, I’ve only ever tanked one raid, I was off-tanking OS10 yesterday. That is the sum of my raiding experience :P

  2. #2 by theerivs on December 30, 2009 - 10:01 am

    I don’t know how Warriors are now, but back in the day when I had a epicced out Warrior, I was so Rage starved in heroics it wasn’t even funny.

  3. #3 by Cynwise on December 30, 2009 - 10:03 am

    The Ruin Battlegroup is full of awesome.

    Winter Hats are full of awesome.

    Therefore, the Ruin Battlegroup is full of Winter Hats.

  4. #4 by Ambrosine on December 30, 2009 - 10:07 am

    @TheAllianceGuy – I mean I’m not running around in ICC25 gear like some people. ToC10 is ZOMG ONLY A 10 and ZOMG TOTALLY A TIER AGO and really she’s still in a lot of Naxx25 gear sans badge stuff. XD

  5. #5 by Bhorg on December 30, 2009 - 10:28 am

    My prot pallie is lvl 43, so I can’t speak too intelligently about it, but an experienced, talented prot pallie from my guild said that so little damage gets through in heroics that he runs them as if he were soloing on his pallie. That is, the seal, self-buff and judgment he chooses are usually based on mana-regen and not on self-heals (since there is so little damage, typical self-heals are usually not 100% needed).

    On a side note – with most pugs these days in the 40-43 lvl range, I’m noticing the same thing. The heirloom gear, the random buff and general OPness means that in most dungeons my pallie goes oom pretty quick and ends up needing more time to drink than the healer does.

  6. #6 by raquoon on December 30, 2009 - 10:39 am

    @Bhorg – He is right. I do the same thing depending on the Dungeon i’m running. FoS, PoS (funny abbreviation for a dungeon), HoR or ToC use regular seals. Rest use mana regen seals.

    @theerivs – Its not that bad for warriors anymore since we get rage when we dodge now. It does not mean you can spam heroic strike like we normally do, but its an improvement.

  7. #7 by shadowtycho on December 30, 2009 - 10:58 am

    oooo oooo ooo ooo i got this one

    http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=21726258134&pageNo=3&sid=1#57

    If a group is getting on to you for using PW:Shield as a Discipline priest (or jeez even a Holy priest), you have my permission to say “GC says you’re doing it wrong.”
    -ghostcrawler

    im pretty sure that settles it for the rage/mana starve crowd.

  8. #8 by @valkyrierisen on December 30, 2009 - 11:06 am

    I met a wonderful disc priest yesterday that made tanking the upper level heroics, which my pally is really NOT geared for, wonderful. I hugged that disc priest lots yesterday! (interestingly we only met one holy priest yesterday and saw 4 disc)

  9. #9 by Dechion on December 30, 2009 - 11:07 am

    Oh, wow.

    I would hardly call tanking ToC10 mediocre. Hell, I am still gathering the gear to tank Nexus on normal.

    Ok, I likely have the gear, but I fail at knowing what buttons to push to make things hate me properly.

    Congrats on having a good string of Pugs, hope you have many more good ones.

  10. #10 by @valkyrierisen on December 30, 2009 - 11:10 am

    so… I am a prot pally that loves Seal of Command and judges wisdom. I think she’s wearing the SoC glyph for more mana back too.

  11. #11 by Prot on December 30, 2009 - 1:54 pm

    I love and loathe running heroics with my paly. Love because you can usually pull multiple groups at once and can roflstomp most aoe trash mobs. Loathe because places like Violet Hold you are constantly mana-starved. I have tanked VH with out pants many times and have even gone the way of tanking it in Ret spec with tank gear on, just to have some fun. Some healers find it humurous, others hate me. :-D

  12. #12 by Kadomi on December 31, 2009 - 2:32 am

    I did the same experiment and tanked heroics with my winter hat, for about a week. I was waiting for people to tell me that with just 32k health I wouldn’t be able to tank heroics. >.>

    No one said a word which was rather disappointing.

  13. #13 by apokteino on December 31, 2009 - 12:49 pm

    i’ve been holy for 3 years and just decided to start tanking 5 mans on a whim last week. i’ve tanked enough to now have full (crappy) t9 and the badge ring. literally the only time i have mana issues is when i let Divine Plea drop. other than that i’m fine. spiritual attunement seems like the worst way to try to get mana back in 5 mans. judge wisdom and don’t let DP ever drop off and you’ll be fine.

    being an alch and having a free mana pot every ~60 secs is sexy too if things get hairy. you can also drop consecration out of your rotation for a bit if you need to.

  14. #14 by Meka on January 4, 2010 - 5:46 am

    To quote Big Bear Butt “Yes, yes, Bears may start slow, but we can go all night long.”

    EXCEPT in Violet Hold.

    A lot of people hate Halls of Stone but I like it (due to going all night long) so chain-pulling the whole place makes me one big happy fat bear. But Violet Hold? Darn mobs spawn at set intervals, my Rage bar is on valium damnit. Removing one piece of gear isn’t enough here, I had to remove 4(!) pieces to be able to keep aggro against my 6k+ dps guildmates who, for some reason, sees it as their personal charge to make my life a living hell whilst doing heroics.

    So, I’m all in favour of learning to love HoS, but loathe VH.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

