How Blizzard Ruined Shadow Priests

I have an evil evil plot in the works that I did not get to finish last night…TOMORROW, you shall behold my evil.  Until then, I’m just going to talk about how I am a silly magpie, and how Blizzard nearly ruined shadow priesting for me.

You see, I’m not really….girly.  But I do like things that are bright and shiny, so spells like penance and holy nova are Awesome Fun Toys.  In hindsight, paladins have some of the most disappointing spells EVER.  I mean, okay, Sacred Shield can be kind of shiny, but shouldn’t beacon be a BEACON?  You know?  A BEACON OF LIGHT?  A BRIGHT SHINING PILLAR OF LIGHT?

I’ll never forgive Blizzard for failing me in that regard, just as I’ll never forgive them for what they did to my favorite Shadow Priest toy right next to Mind Sear. 

THEY RUINED DISPERSION.  It used to be that you’d turn into a FUN LITTLE BALL OF DARKNESS!!!!!!  Now you’re just…er…more…dark?  What? 

NO, BLIZZARD.

UTTER FAIL.

I can’t be a bouncing ball of inky evilness now!  This has totally ruined the spell and thus ALMOST RUINED SHADOW PRIESTING for me.

Don’t you DARE mess with my mind sear, or I’m going to have to do something drastic like…GO HOLY for my second spec, and we don’t want THAT to happen ever again.

I AM PUTTING YOU ON NOTICE BLIZZARD.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by kyrilean on January 6, 2010 - 1:23 pm

    Yes, people. Having Amber fail at disc and shadow is bad enough. There’s no reason to let her fail at holy too! :D

  2. #2 by aveiceae on January 6, 2010 - 1:23 pm

    hahah, I thought the exact same thing the first time I used Dispersion after 3.3 hit. It was so… unfulfilling. WTB awesome ball of darkness back!

  3. #3 by supernose on January 6, 2010 - 1:29 pm

    As a Holy Paladin, I’ll tell you there’s nothing quite as shiny as the huge Holy Light crits! WABAM!

  4. #4 by Matojo on January 6, 2010 - 1:36 pm

    Mah dispersion. ;_;

  5. #5 by Shayzani on January 6, 2010 - 1:43 pm

    Agreedx10!

  6. #6 by Nagrarok on January 6, 2010 - 1:46 pm

    So that is what the one Spriest was doing! That is kinda dumb, though. Used to enjoy watching an ink blob move around and pretend there really was a squid on my face. :P

  7. #7 by Rilgon Arcsinh on January 6, 2010 - 1:47 pm

    Blame PVPtards, it was because Rogues in lolrena were crying “WAAAAAH WE DON’T KNOW WHERE THE BACK OF DISPERSED SHADOW PRIESTS ARE?!?” and Blizzard does whatever the lolrenatards want.

  8. #8 by Alas on January 6, 2010 - 1:50 pm

    Seriously? wtf? All the more reason to change my priest’s second spec to disc.

  9. #9 by (un)Holy Dueg! on January 6, 2010 - 2:00 pm

    coulda been worse, they coulda just put a sign on our back that says “please stab here”

  10. #10 by Rilgon Arcsinh on January 6, 2010 - 2:04 pm

    All the more reason to change my priest’s second spec to disc.

    Which was ALSO nerfed due to lolrena, but that was an actual throughput nerf (2 second longer CD on Penance = lol fail disc throughput), not just a cosmetic one like Dispersion’s.

  11. #11 by Ambrosine on January 6, 2010 - 2:53 pm

    The Amber wonders if the Rilgon was summoned by his tag.

  12. #12 by Forreststump on January 6, 2010 - 3:20 pm

    I’ve long advocated a graphical change to the target circle that appears on the ground to include a pointer to indicate facing direction. Would be nice in a 25-man where there is so much chaos that it is hard to discern which way a mob is facing – and it would also be able to show which way a “bouncing ball of inky evilness” was pointing, too.

  13. #13 by evisceratespam on January 6, 2010 - 4:23 pm

    in the words of many rogues…

    bring back the ball

  14. #14 by Rilgon Arcsinh on January 6, 2010 - 5:23 pm

    The Amber wonders if the Rilgon was summoned by his tag.

    Nah, you just tweeted about it and I was bored and saw that it was about the Dispersion changes and they pissed me off too and by the way did I mention FUCK ARENA AND FUCK PEOPLE WHO PARTICIPATE IT AND RUIN THIS FUCKING GAME?

    *seethe*

  15. #15 by Oasic on January 6, 2010 - 5:57 pm

    I actually didn’t like the original dispersion graphic. (Not sure what this one looks like yet though, maybe its worse)
    Iirc casting it made your character’s height change and the camera adjusted slightly because of that. I might be wrong about that though; my memory is pretty fuzzy about shadow priesting.

  16. #16 by Magejuego on January 6, 2010 - 5:58 pm

    http://www.shipbrook.com/onnotice/

    Obligatory link for anything ‘on notice’.

  17. #17 by Tego on January 6, 2010 - 6:14 pm

    so if beacon was an actual beacon… you would take your paladin holy?

  18. #18 by supernose on January 6, 2010 - 6:15 pm

    OMG, if Beacon was an actual Beacon of Light, I’d love it even more! Blizzard, lets make this happen!

  19. #19 by Prot on January 6, 2010 - 6:17 pm

    I so agree on Dispersion. I hated the spell before but there was at least a cool graphic to go with it. now instead I hate the spell and hate the way it looks.
    /fail Blizzard

  20. #20 by Hoho on January 6, 2010 - 10:56 pm

    When my guild took a killshot on festergut I popped dispersion as usual. When I saw the image I was pretty much invisible against the bacground due to how the new dispersion works :\

    In the other news I’m waiting in horror until I break my 2pt9. With it my VT is already 15s down from 21. After the change I guess I’ll have around 6-8s VT’s during bloodlust.

  21. #21 by Armagon on January 7, 2010 - 3:59 am

    GIVE ME SWIRLY BALL OR GIVE ME DEATH!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcgZ5F8hRVA :(

  22. #22 by kavika on January 7, 2010 - 3:20 pm

    Remember the original mind sear animation? I almost liked that one better than the current one…anyone have a ss of it buried somewhere?

  23. #23 by Nicoran on January 8, 2010 - 1:55 am

    THANK YOU!

    Finally, someone as pissed off by it as I. I almost swore it was due to my graphics card flaking out. Curse you Bliz! Cuuuuuuuuurse Yoooooooouuuuuuu…….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

