In Which I Fully Embrace the Light

I have, for the time being, decided to hang up my shadow hat.

“Why would you do that, Amber?  You LOVE mind sear!”

That I do, that I do.  But quite frankly, I suck at shadow.  I didn’t always, of course-in Ulduar I used to be, if not uber, at least not fail.  If we 2 healed something I did acceptable DPS.  If we did heroics, I beat the damn tank in damage.

I…can’t even do that anymore.  I somehow got shucked into a random heroic as DPS last night (wut?!) and I…was…below the tank.  Not DPS wise, no (aoe lol), but in damage done, yes.  I didn’t even break 3k.  What the hell.  When we tried to 2 heal Saurfang, I went shadow because previously I had the strongest dual-spec of the present healers and…

…no.  Just, no.  Again, in a RAID, not breaking 3k.  I swapped in my hunter and could at least do 3.5k.  My lesser geared BM hunter can beat my priest.

Yes.

So.

Until I can find some way to fix things (not enough haste? Too much else lost in trying to gain haste?  Too much cross over gear from disc?  I just suck at playing?) I’ve officially unchecked the DPS box.

And I’m a sad panda.

:(

Mind seeeeaaaar.

In GOOD news, the sort that makes me warm and fuzzy inside, my guildies shoved gear at me in ToC despite fail!rolls.  I have the nifty offhand (a nice upgrade from my Ulduar 10 piece), and two trophys I now need to…farm badges for.  XD  Maybe some day I don’t be the worst geared priest (main) in the guild.  \o/

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Zobu on January 8, 2010 - 11:42 am

    Could be that stuff’s dying too quickly in heroics for you to get your DOTs rolling? Even on bosses it can be hard if they die in 30 seconds – you barely have a chance to get warmed up before they’re dead. CORPSE GO BO… oh. When I went back to my priest recently I pretty much just spammed mind flay and the odd mind blast.

    Tangent: give Event Horizon Continued a try, it’s a lovely addon for tracking DOTs and cooldowns in one handy little box.

  2. #2 by Ambrosine on January 8, 2010 - 11:55 am

    @Zobu – I have EH. I did a lot of Mind Flaying, but that heroic following my attempt at RAID DPS just made me sad. D:

  3. #3 by Kestrel on January 8, 2010 - 11:59 am

    Don’t feel too badly, Amber. I am either going to abandon Shadow for Disc (really REALLY don’t want to do that, now that my Shadow gear is pretty damned uber), or switch out Holy for Disc, just because last night, trying to 2-heal Marrowgar-10 with a tree and me was such utter fail. *cry*

  4. #4 by (un)Holy Dueg! on January 8, 2010 - 12:31 pm

    So, your guild needs a shadow priest, eh? hmm…

  5. #5 by wantedpriest on January 8, 2010 - 12:44 pm

    Don’t do it Dueg! If BoO gains another blogger, the World of Warcraft might explode.

    Vess

  6. #6 by Kotakh on January 8, 2010 - 1:25 pm

    Of course we need a Shadow priest (we dont have any atm)….we really need any kind of dps actually :)

  7. #7 by Ambrosine on January 8, 2010 - 1:49 pm

    @Dueg – /beckons

  8. #8 by supernose on January 8, 2010 - 2:05 pm

    In a round about way, I’ve got the same kind of issue going on right now. My off spec for my Paladin is Prot, but I don’t want it no more! It’s too easy! I can bash my head on the keyboard and hold aggro. I hate it. I’ve been Ret before too, and it’s the same way, so that’s out. So what’s a Paladin to do? Go with two healing specs! That’s right, I’m gonna travel down the duel healing spec road and maybe I’ll see you down there some day.

    -Sady of Flash of Sadysm

  9. #9 by joeego on January 8, 2010 - 2:44 pm

    Dual holy paladin specs…

    Most straight forward would be a HL bomber and a +SP Flash spammer. Take the Flash spammer to the easy content. Best part about the +SP build is you can take it to heroics and crank out some better dps, especially with an overgeared tank.

    And if you somehow manage to crank out anywhere near 2k dps then you could probably get away with checking the DPS box. A 2k dps player would be a massive upgrade on half my Randoms, for sure.

  10. #10 by Ambrosine on January 8, 2010 - 4:22 pm

    @Joeego – Yeah I’ve had those 900 DPS people in my heroics, too, but damn.

  11. #11 by supernose on January 8, 2010 - 6:04 pm

    HA! You know, that’s how I do dailies and solo stuff is as Holy, I find it much easier and a lot more fun that running around as Prot. Sounds like a great fricken plan to me! Gonna farm up a new set of T9 tonight.

  12. #12 by supernose on January 8, 2010 - 6:06 pm

    WTB Edit Button on these comments…

    Anyways, I would NEVER check the DPS button. Cause every character I have can either tank or heal, so that’s what I do in my randoms. I decided last night I wanted to DPS on my warrior, 10-15 minute que times….how do you guys do that? I could barely keep myself awake waiting for the next random group!

  13. #13 by Cassandri on January 8, 2010 - 6:35 pm

    Hmmm You only need 800 Haste but I wouldn’t drop below 20% crit to get it.

    You’re definitely not letting Vampiric Touch and Devouring Plague drop off your target for too long?

    Have you tried out ShadowGreenLight to check that you’re applying SW:P when the debuffs on the target give you most damage?

  14. #14 by (un)Holy Dueg! on January 9, 2010 - 10:18 am

    I found that the rotation of VT, MB, DP, SW:P, MF, MB, MF, VT, MB and then repeat has produced the highest dps. DP will have to be thrown in there once every two full rotations. Basically if you let MF burn all the way through you should be constantly dealing damage and your dots should always be ticking for the close to the maximum amount of time.

  15. #15 by Len on January 10, 2010 - 7:13 am

    It can be hard in heroics with supergeared tanks and supergeared dps so try not to feel too disheartened! There are some classes that excel at bursting down low health mobs quickly and some that have more trouble – spriests and affl warlocks for example.

    Don’t give up altogether, you’ll rarely see people you pug heroics with again so you could use them as a tool to experiment and make sure you are getting good uptime on dots, work out which targets to dot first and when to mindsear, tweak your interface so you can see all your dots clearly, try out new gear combinations etc!

  16. #16 by Chastity on January 10, 2010 - 7:32 am

    This is basically just repeating what the first poster said, but I wouldn’t be too disheartened by your DPS in heroics. Because of the speed with which things go down your Heroic DPS depends more on how quickly you get into the fight than anything else (letting the tank pull nerfs your DPS considerably – if you’re half a second late in a fight that lasts three seconds, that’s a 16% damage loss). I’m sure it’s significantly worse for dot-reliant classes.

    As for Saurfang – we all have off days, and nothing damages your performance like being worried about your performance.

  17. #17 by Nzete on January 10, 2010 - 2:15 pm

    If all else fails for shadow dps, cheat. Get your five stack, pop “Nevermelting Ice Crystals” from heroic Pit of Saron and then apply shadow word: pain. Yes, by my recount, I kept the crit on that for the entirety of Lady Deathwhisper as the dedicated “burn that boss now”. Nothing says fun like 80% crit on shadow word pain for the entire fight.

  18. #18 by HoHo on January 14, 2010 - 5:23 am

    Kind of late to say anything here but I bet the biggest “problem” was that our dots scale with haste and if you can’t keep them up properly your DPS will definitely suffer. I’ve blown my berserking during bloodlust and seen 8s VT’s with 2pt9, I’ve seen 6s VT’s when standing in light column during Hodir with bloodlust+berserking. It’s pretty darn complicated to actually be able to play at those kinds of haste levels.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

