The Telephone Game

Does anyone remember the telephone game, or operator, or whatever the hell it was called?  One person whispered something in the ear of the person next to them, and so on, until by the time it got to the end it sounded nothing like the original?

That very much happens.   Person A says something to person B, who says something to person C (for Cranky Tank), who says something to person D (for…nothing, but it’s me) because well, he lives with person D and tells them everything sooner or later.  Person D flails and person A goes wait, what? 

…I was going somewhere with that, but I was interrupted by work and now have no idea.  Hmm.  Well, raiding with family is interesting, to be sure.  If you tell Josh something, it’ll get back to me sooner or later becuase…well, he’s my boyfriend, we just babble everything at each other.  We’ll keep things to ourselves if you tell us to, but if you don’t?  Pffft!  Now I’ve added my little sister to the mix, which is fun in and of itself.  She’s sweet, but definitely a loud, sometimes obnoxious teenager.  Oh, and a bit of a NubKnight still, to be sure.  She signs up for raids and shows up on time though-this puts her steps ahead of some people already!

The problem is that because she can be loud and obnoxious, she can be…well, annoying, and people won’t complain to me about it.  No, they complain to someone else.  By the time it filters back to me, though (which…it will!) it’s gone from “Damn, she talks too much sometimes” to “So-and-so hates your sister.” 

/facepalm

And people wonder why I’d rather just have them tell me this shit directly…

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by theerivs on January 14, 2010 - 11:23 am

    Sure thing Mom. Kyr told me to call you that.

    Ahh Maybe they fear you, because it is your sister. How would you react if I told you your sister was being obnoxious, or something.

    If It was me I would get defensive, at first, and come to her defense. Which is natural, but maybe thats why they don’t come to you directly.

  2. #2 by Kotakh on January 14, 2010 - 11:34 am

    Sure thing Mom,

    Of course, there’s a better chance of me complaining about YOU to your sister than complaining about your sister to you. ;)

    But then again, i’m just a prick so it’s what i do.

  3. #3 by Ambrosine on January 14, 2010 - 11:35 am

    …I know she’s obnoxious! I grew up with her!

    But the problem with not telling me directly is that it ends up _worse_ when I do hear about it. I am far more irriated at getting things 2nd, 3rd, 4th hand than I am with someone going “Hey, Ry won’t shut the fuck up.”

    Also, DIAF, both of you!

  4. #4 by Alas on January 14, 2010 - 11:36 am

    I firmly believe that trying to play with family members has great potential to make everything about a million times more difficult than it needs to be. When my brother played in my guild, he seemed to think that anything he demanded he would get. And people were afraid to say stuff to him like it would offend me if others said he was a jerk. I eventually addressed it all head-on with the other officers (no, see, I don’t actually like my brother all that much) and then I at least had other people on board with dealing with his and his wife’s drama. Not that it ended well, but still…

    All the rambling to say, yeah, family can make things interesting. I don’t know how we survive with as many married people as have. Piss off one half and oh wow, they’re both angry now. It’s a twofer!

  5. #5 by kyrilean on January 14, 2010 - 12:53 pm

    Someone help me come up with a rumor we can “leak” back to Mom! XD

    As for Rivs and Kotakh…PROMOTIONS ALL AROUND!!! LMAO!

  6. #6 by Ambrosine on January 14, 2010 - 1:48 pm

  7. #7 by raquoon on January 14, 2010 - 2:34 pm

    Playing with family in WoW is like working with family, never ends well.

  8. #8 by Tyrsalt on January 14, 2010 - 2:46 pm

    Well I stumbled across your blog from one of your guildies blogs and I have started to follow them all. Great to have Net News Wire on the iPhone. But one of them seems like they wanted to start a conspiracy against you, so all your readers say
    MOM
    MOM
    MOM
    Mummy,
    Mumma
    Ma
    If I was able to I would link the whole mp3 of Stewie saying that to lois from Family guy. Maybe one of them should play that before your raids.

    I think you guys and gals are great and if there was any inkling for me to like alliance i would be tempted to try and join you.

  9. #9 by Joe Ego on January 14, 2010 - 4:42 pm

    Telephone can be lots of fun, for sure.

    The answer, however, is still Consecrate.

  10. #10 by Cassandri on January 14, 2010 - 6:37 pm

    In Australia we call that game “Chinese Whispers”. I have no idea why.

    I’m not an officer, but my sister is, and you wouldn’t believe the number of times someone will say to me:

    “the officers are so lazy, we’ve got all these casuals who want to raid and they won’t fucking promote them already”

    “have these players told the officers that?”

    *silence*

  11. #11 by Tyrsalt on January 14, 2010 - 8:18 pm

    Play this before the raid for her.

  12. #12 by LabRat on January 14, 2010 - 11:30 pm

    The raiding core of our guild is more than half married couples. ALL of the officers are.

    I have no idea how we have avoided this being a problem so far.

  13. #13 by ainsworthpally on January 15, 2010 - 3:52 am

    I play with my father and my younger brother.
    works the same way in most cases.
    someone will bitch about my dad (hes a officer) n it will get to me and ill tell him, or if my brother, blah blah blah
    but having fam in the guild makes the game that much more fun and you can con them into coming places with you ha

  1. To: Mom w/ <3 « Casual Hardcore

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

