Random words on a screen

I’m a little sleepy and creatively pulled in a couple of directions right now, so forgive a rambling post today.  I’ll probably resume quasi-useful posts here shortly, as I still have a Saurfang strat to get up…yes I am behind the times, what else is new?

Last night the raid was a true BoO raid-we one shot everything except the easiest fight in the first wing (Gunship), then proceeded to wipe on Stinky and Precious.

Yes…yes, it was a BoO raid, and I loved it.  We’ll throw ourselves at Festergust some more tonight.

I probably need to re-download Rawr and spend some shadowy time in front of a training dummy, to see if I can’t “fix” my shadow self.  For fights like Festergut, I really need to do something.  In the meantime I might cave and dual spec the hunter, so that she’s available to do the most DPS possible in a pinch.  

Of course stubborn pride really has me not wanting to make my hunter anything but BM.  I’ve been a BM hunter since early ’05, before the first hunter talent reset.  I was BM when it sucked, I was BM when it was awesome, and I’m BM now that’s back to being the red headed bastard child spec. I’m proud of what I can do with it (over 5k).  And yes, I enjoy the occasional envious remark from a fellow hunter because they, too, wish they could raid BM. 

They could, of course.  They won’t, for one reason or another, but they could.  Me, I’ll take my place lower on the meters in order to enjoy the simple pleasure that is a devilsuar named Omnomnom.   I mean come on now, the sight of a devilsaur chowing down on a snowbold that is in turn clinging to someone’s head is hilarious.  BM is just a silly fun spec.   Alas, I might cave and go Surv or something if Festergust is really obnoxious.  I could always go dual BM later, right?

…right.

What the fuck was I talking about?

…can I take a nap now?

…also, it’s REALLY HARD to not bubble a pally tank in a heroic.  REALLY HARD.  You just need a winter hat, Steve.  Winter hats fix EVERYTHING.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by kyrilean on January 21, 2010 - 11:18 am

    We did not wipe on the dogs!!!

    We ‘Heroed’ our way through Precious as illustrated in my post today.

    The two hunters lived by Feigning Death after Stinky died…which is not a wipe…even if everyone else had to run back. :P

  2. #2 by Grimmtooth on January 21, 2010 - 11:45 am

    SV is pretty amazing compared directly to BM in terms of burst DPS. I need to take time to actually see how much difference that there is. If the difference isn’t too significant, I’ll go back to raiding BM and everybody can just shutty.

    I run a healing priest for my guild. I run my happy huntard for ME.

  3. #3 by supernose on January 21, 2010 - 12:09 pm

    Hmmm, I’ve never had a problem with bubbles in heroics. I don’t even notice them. If the problem is mana for the tank, then someone needs to pull more, or pull faster to keep Divine Plea up.

    I may not know everything, but I know I get hit with bubbles, and it’s never affected my mana so far as I can tell.

  4. #4 by Xuna of Ragnaros on January 21, 2010 - 12:20 pm

    Stinky and Precious…
    how much I hate thee…
    let me count the ways…

  5. #5 by Joe Ego on January 21, 2010 - 12:33 pm

    Depending on your raid composition, there are ways to ‘help’ certain dps.

    We have a very well geared Destro ‘lock (the guy wins almost every roll he makes) who couldn’t hit 6k out with the ranged. Yes, he has some movement/situational awareness. So we moved him into the melee group where he wouldn’t have to move unless both him AND the tank received spores. That try he broke 7.4k and on our 12th attempt/kill (over two days) he broke 8.6k.

    As for BM, I’m not sure how pets are treated by all the AoE because I studiously ignore them lately. I long ago moved pet health bars to the opposite side of the screen from the tank bars. Assuming pets live through the AoE with no problem, a BM pet is completely safe on Festergut and a real advantage in maintaining your dps while you have to move for a spore. So if your BM target dummy dps is actually competitive with another spec, particularly given your available gear, you could find BM working well for you on this fight.

  6. #6 by Voink on January 21, 2010 - 2:18 pm

    Actually, I was hoping for some tips on how to disc heal festergut. Not for me, but for a guildie who’s primary disc (offspec holy) and really doesn’t get holy as much as he does disc.

    But it seems like Fester is the disc killer with all of the raid wide damage.

  7. #7 by Ambrosine on January 21, 2010 - 2:57 pm

    @Voink – When I have more than a few end of raid wipes under my belt, I’ll see what I can do. XD We’re going to try swapping around with me healing vs DPS, etc.

  8. #8 by Joe Ego on January 21, 2010 - 5:09 pm

    I would think Disc would do OK in this fight. The tank damage is very high after 2 inhales and requires attention from all your healers after 3. Before the 1st inhale the tank isn’t taking much damage. I know paladins are a bit ez-mode with Beacon, but I’m not sure how Disc would handle it.

    I can see how my nose is going to be a little sore when this boss is on farm…

    The people to watch are going to be the pukers. If ranged can keep that under control then the spike damage out there will be minimized tremendously.

  9. #9 by LabRat on January 21, 2010 - 6:08 pm

    …So that explains why I was sucking on fumes running with our new Disc priest during the gauntlet in H-HoS.

    Using my face and sparkling personality to try and gather waves of mobs was entertaining.

  10. #10 by HoHo on January 22, 2010 - 4:27 am

    Shadow is pretty exceptional in most ICC fights I’ve been to. I can’t remember the last time when I dropped under top5 unless I screwed up horribly. Though I admit, having 1k unbuffed haste, PI, berserking, haste pot and bloodlust active all at once make for an interesting challenge for dot uptime :)

  11. #11 by Calrisian on January 22, 2010 - 8:59 am

    Being that I am playing my now 73 pally tank and I seem to be randoming with almost strictly disc priests healing me, I definitely find it annoying .. and the better equipped disc priest the more annoying it is.. I mean its beautiful not taking damage and seeing my health bar green all the time, but it does present a mana problem for me now because I end up not following the pally tanking rotation to conserve mana so we don’t have to wait between pulls but then if I am in a good dps group threat becomes an issue. So.. I see the annoyance, once I pop back on Kels (disc priest fairly well geared) if I get a pally in my group I keep an eye on his mana bar almost as much as his health bar and I have found myself renewing instead of shielding unless he is at 75% mana.. I would rather throw him an FH and of course PoM every CD and let that recover his mana ( assuming he is specced into spiritual attunetment) and save the shields for oh crap moments on him. And that has worked very well in all heroics I have run with pally tanks. Bit of a change in strats but it keeps the group motoring along with fewer drink breaks.

  12. #12 by rustbeard on January 22, 2010 - 9:35 am

    And the wind whispered “Marksman…..”

    Yes, I was a Marks hunter when it sucked… and in some ways it still does. But, when it comes to opening the hurt locker – happy days.

  13. #13 by Nzete on January 22, 2010 - 10:32 am

    Amber, do you have a dot timer than you are running? That is huge for me. I can’t guesstimate the time remaining on a dot on the boss with the 8 million debuffs. I run DoTimer and it counts it down so you can look at the time left vs. the cast time of VT. It is really nice. As off spec shadow (only healer with decent dps), I’ve been switching for some fights recently, and I beat our newly recruited shadow priest… like blown out of the water. So, I’ve been doing a lot of shadow dps advice recently…. who knew that being married to an affliction warlock made me an expert in shadow dps.

  14. #14 by http://interior-design-baker.blogbaker.com/ on February 18, 2013 - 7:13 pm

    Your personal blog post, “Random words on a screen I Like Bubbles” was indeed well worth commenting down here
    in the comment section! Just wished to say u really did a remarkable
    job. Regards ,Abbie

  15. #15 by Delia on August 16, 2013 - 10:22 pm

    “Random words on a screen | I Like Bubbles” was in fact a splendid article, can’t help but wait to read through more of your postings.
    Time to waste some time on the internet lolz.

    Thanks -Concepcion

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

