Rage, Real and Feigned

A lot of my infamous rage on this blog is, if not feigned, at least greatly exaggerated.  Rants are funny, I like being funny, so what could be better than funny rants?

Underneath the faux rage is, however, a very real build up of genuine anger.  I’m frustrated with some attitudes, and some people.  And some day, I’m not going to bite my tongue anymore.

It’s already starting to show.  Part of the problem is, of course, in my own attitudes.  I often tell myself, in relation to horseback riding, that the horse only misbehaves as much as I let him.  If I don’t get respect it’s because I’ve given people little to no reason to.  If people don’t do what they’re supposed to, it’s because there’s no repercussions if they don’t.

I’m standing on the edge of changing all that.  Brotherhood of Oblivion is my guild.  Not Steve’s, not Josh’s, not anyone else’s.  I do want as many people happy as possible, yes.  It is not, in any way shape or form, all about me.  But right now, it is not in my best interest or theirs that GMing BoO makes me miserable.  And you know what?  It’s making me miserable.

Not any more.

I have my pointy stick, and my sand, and I shall be drawing some lines.  If you cross them I will POKE YOU IN THE MOTHER FUCKING EYE.

/brandishes stick

/pokes self

…ow.

I want to continue having fun in raids, killing bosses while having ribald conversations about buttsechs-but I want to do it without being talked over in vent during loot.  Tell jokes about how I get lost in Gruul’s and ToC, but don’t arms tank when I explicitly tell you not to.   Be my lovably dorky crew without…you know…being douchebags.

Novel concept?

We’ll see.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kotakh on February 4, 2010 - 3:19 pm

    Thats it?!?!

    Pfft, after your comment on Twitter i tought we’d have something outrageous with finger pointing and all out angst…

    I read that and i just cant hear the whip in teh background at all ;)

  2. #2 by Xlark on February 4, 2010 - 3:23 pm

    I completely, utterly, absolutely, totally understand how you are feeling! I’ve been in very much the same place with my guild recently. Hang on to that stick, I’ll grab mine, and if they can’t deal with the backbone there are other places to go!

  3. #3 by Ambrosine on February 4, 2010 - 3:29 pm

    @Kotakh – That’s for angry!whispers.

  4. #4 by Kotakh on February 4, 2010 - 3:31 pm

    @Amber angry!whisper aernt as much fun for your reader tho

  5. #5 by theerivs on February 4, 2010 - 3:56 pm

    I am woman… hear me roar!

  6. #6 by domni on February 4, 2010 - 4:45 pm

    Agreed. GMing should not make you miserable. Go forth with pointy stick and make your guild’s feet move.

    About talking over the RL in vent during loot: I handle loot in raid chat and they can jibberjabber in vent all they want to blow off steam. But they’d better not type in raid chat! I remind them after each boss kill in case they forget procedure.

    Pick one medium for them to chatter in between fights? Lets them be themselves without interfering with official business.

  7. #7 by Zobu on February 4, 2010 - 5:53 pm

    Seeeing as I recently got pushed into the GM position by my girlfriend, I’ve developed a keen interests in posts like these. I think I too shall have to start brandishing pointy sticks. Fer sure, I need to set out some rules, as it’s a bit TOO informal at the moment.

    What do you do to actually punish people tho? I set up a Searing Totem-like rank I can demote people to, so they can’t talk in /g (nor see or take stuff from the guild bank), but beyond that and not taking them to raids, I dunno what else I can do.

    Damn it this GMing lark is no fun. Or am I doing it wrong?

  8. #8 by Xlark on February 4, 2010 - 7:00 pm

    Wait…GMing is not supposed to be a miserable, soul-sucking, life-draining experience 5/7 days a week…?

  9. #9 by Ashley on February 4, 2010 - 9:17 pm

    It seems like you’ve reached the same point I have. People not wanting to raid on a certain toon, or as a certain spec, so they respec/not show up on the toon we need/they signed up on and get into raids anyway.

    Or worse, like last week, where a hunter was mad we wouldn’t let him go exchange his ring because it was getting late, so he spent most of Saurfang intentionally getting hit to cause wipes. Yep.

    This week, he got removed the first time he pulled that stunt.

  10. #10 by Xuna of Ragnaros on February 5, 2010 - 5:39 am

    I love the tags… just… love them…

  11. #11 by Firespirit on February 5, 2010 - 11:05 am

    I was recently promoed to co-gm, and raid lead, and I feel the pressures of both ends. I agree with you on the raid front.

    My guild is in the awkward stage of not having enough to do 25′s (and not really wanting to pug it) and having too many for 10 mans. Trying to rotate people and keep everyone happy is getting to be a PAIN IN THE ASS. I’m at the point where I am going to tell a few people “YOU CANT FUCKING PERFORM IN PROGRESSION CONTENT ASSHOLE, THAT IS WHY YOU ARENT INVITED TO THEM. GET YOUR SHIT TOGETHER IN FARM RAIDS AND I WILL START INVITING YOU MORE OFTEN.” in excatly that tone, all caps.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

