Red Gems Are Manufactured With Crack

Dear Blizzard,

My disc priest?  Wants red gems. 
My hunter also wants red gems.
In fact, a lot of people want red gems.  Tasty, tasty red gems with straight (insert crucial stat here).  Things like spell power, agility, strength, and attack power are very important to multiple classes.  So why couldn’t you PUT THOSE STATS ON OTHER COLORS SO THAT RED GEMS AREN’T ALWAYS HUNDREDS AND HUNDREDS OF GOLDS?

Just a thought.

I mean, why can’t a straight strength gem be…yellow?  Or something?  There’s always one color gem that’s cheaper than the rest, shift something to THAT color so that we can, I don’t know, spread the pain?

No love,
The consumer of 200g gems that everyone else fucking wants too which is why they are never in the gbank omg

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Adlib on February 9, 2010 - 2:07 pm

    Amen, Sister.

  2. #2 by Cynwise on February 9, 2010 - 2:22 pm

    When I was raiding, all I wanted were red gems. They don’t sell well uncut, surprisingly, because everyone gets them.

    Now for PvP it’s all purple gems, all the time.

  3. #3 by shieldbreakr on February 9, 2010 - 2:24 pm

    I cringe every time I get a chest/belt/gloves upgrade for this exact reason. 2x +20 STR gems = 400g, with Crusher, thats 600g for a < 1% upgrade most of the time. Of course, I still roll on them. =)

    I blame the china farmers (seems to do so fashionable now).

  4. #4 by Ambrosine on February 9, 2010 - 2:30 pm

    @Cynwise – I don’t buy them uncut because they’re about the same price…so why buy one uncut and pester a guildie when it doesn’t save me any money? /lazy

    @shieldbreakr – All sockets are red to me, except for those which must be other colors for my meta. Red red red red red.

  5. #5 by krizhek on February 9, 2010 - 2:31 pm

    Yeah I hear ya, this is why I have two (2) alch, one being xmute spec, so I can make alot of red gems. It’s the only thing keeping cash flow at a normal rate.

  6. #6 by Cel on February 9, 2010 - 2:37 pm

    I’ll take those yellow gems off your hands. NOM NOM.

    The really annoying thing about red epic gems is that they’re more expensive to transmute, because the blue quality red gems are the few that have remained costly.

  7. #7 by koalabear21 on February 9, 2010 - 2:41 pm

    do WG for honor and stockpile up on red gems. 10k honor is sooo easy to get.

    plus you probably have a ton of triumph emblems you arent using. downgrade to purchase gems.

    silly people and their lack of gems ;-)

  8. #8 by Rades on February 9, 2010 - 3:03 pm

    I feel you. Hunter? Attack power or Agi RED gems. Druid? Spellpower RED gems. DK? RED RED RED STRENGTH GEMS.

    Fortunately I have a friend who is maxed Transmute alchemy and is too lazy to use his CD each day, so I steal it when he’s not looking!

  9. #9 by Paolo on February 9, 2010 - 3:08 pm

    HAY!

    Don’tchall remember how much epic gems cost in BC?

    Like 400g or some such nonsense.

    Which is why I rerolled JC.

  10. #10 by Oasic on February 9, 2010 - 3:14 pm

    Thats why you buy them with honor points and badges :-)

  11. #11 by Ambrosine on February 9, 2010 - 3:15 pm

    @koalabear21 – Ew, pvp.

    But my badges are probably being fed to the gem vendor, yes. I just go through a LOT…

  12. #12 by kittyeatface on February 9, 2010 - 3:22 pm

    @Ambrosine “@shieldbreakr – All sockets are red to me, except for those which must be other colors for my meta. Red red red red red.”

    Technically the nightmare tear is red, too! :D

  13. #13 by shadowtycho on February 9, 2010 - 3:31 pm

    stam is for blue gems, which is good enough for me…
    tanks win again

  14. #14 by Xuna of Ragnaros on February 9, 2010 - 3:37 pm

    tried to buy them with the amazing everflowing badges of triumph that your priest healer can provide?

  15. #15 by Zobu on February 9, 2010 - 4:21 pm

    Another vote for the “buy them with emblems or honour points” idea. If you have no honour points and can’t spare emblems, surely you have stonekeepers shards lying around doing nothing? 150 of them (5 lots of 30 shards) buys you a total of 10,000 honour via tokens from the quartermaster in Wintergrasp.

  16. #16 by Fog on February 9, 2010 - 4:37 pm

    I can’t believe you guys will cry about a 200g gem.
    First of all, I am almost certain that Cardinal Ruby’s are no longer going for that amount on any server. The honor to gem, triumph badges to gem conversions have only hurt the prices and thus they have fallen as of lately.

    Quests award tons of easy money if you want to go that route. You could use your professions you know to actually make pretty easy, decent, quick, 3k to 5k gold a day. You could of had the forsight to buy them in mass while all the pvp’ers where dumping these on the AH before the s8 started.

    Not only has the content been gimped and made easy, but ways to create wealth for yourself in game have too. Riding has become cheaper than ever if you have alts. If you have alts smartly stack the professions for maximum money making/gem crafting or whatever it is that you like.

    If you want to qq about something, their are much better things to qq about than a 200g gem that wouldn’t cost you that in the first place if you would maybe plan things out a little ahead of time and proactive about.

  17. #17 by Armagon on February 9, 2010 - 4:39 pm

    Guess I should be glad they’re cheap then, right? :)
    Rogue – red gems, yes
    Resto Shaman – HASTE HASTE HASTE
    Prot Warrior – blue
    Fury offspec – blue gems, ha!

  18. #18 by Armagon on February 9, 2010 - 4:40 pm

    *cheap on my server. Actually.

    Think ~70-90g uncut.

  19. #19 by tytalus on February 9, 2010 - 4:43 pm

    I recommend the alchemist method – make one, hire one, something. Blue gem + eternal is much cheaper than the epic, cut or uncut. And unlike your occasional upgrade, you can transmute a gem every day to stock up. It’s very quick, it’s great for the time-strapped or casual player.

  20. #20 by Firespirit on February 9, 2010 - 4:45 pm

    I have never understood why one color didnt represent one pure stat. Yellow – int. Red SP, Blue Stam, Orange STR, green Agil, then sprinkle the other off stats – haste, crit, armpen, etc… in there as well. It WOULD balance out the gems, and they would be more reasonable across the board.

  21. #21 by Forreststump on February 9, 2010 - 4:49 pm

    Cardinal Ruby: 20 EoT, or 10k honor, or 150 shards.

    PvE: For killing a boss in a heroic, you get 1 emblem and 4 shards (if you control WG). So, 20 EoT translates to 80 shards. Average instance (if done randomly) yields 6 emblems.

    In WG itself, you will earn a variable amount of honor for a WG kill. Once per day, there are five easy dailies for roughly 16k honor. Soooooo… uhhh…..

    My thought is running out of steam. One WG should yield 2 gems. 4 more heroics should yield 1 more (plus another ~80 shards possibly). For about 90 minutes work altogether.

    Which is better for acquiring gems? PvE or PvP? About equal, I’m thinking… I need to go home… Rest my brain before learning to be…

    A SOCCER COACH?!? God help me…

  22. #22 by Dristanel on February 9, 2010 - 5:30 pm

    There’s something other than yellow gems?!

  23. #23 by Ambrosine on February 9, 2010 - 5:50 pm

    @Fog – I’m sorry, I’ll quit all my other acitivities and get to that honor/badge/shard/gold farming right away. You’re right, I can’t possibly be correctly remembering the price I paid for a gem on my server last night, gosh! Instead of running heroics on my hunter, who still needs triumph gear oddly enough, I’ll keep running them on my priest so that I can save myself a bit of gold. I mean snarikly pointing out some small logic flaw is utterly pointless. I’ll go QQ about something worthwhile now, like….the snow outside!

  24. #24 by Cassandri on February 9, 2010 - 6:46 pm

    Yellow gems are cheap?!!!! Cut them into Quick King’s Amber (yum Haste) and sell them for a bucket load.

    20 Haste sells for a heck of a lot more than 20 Spellpower where I come from.

  25. #25 by Cassandri on February 9, 2010 - 6:47 pm

    *23 Spellpower (or whatever it is)

  26. #26 by Rilgon Arcsinh on February 9, 2010 - 8:08 pm

    Do Heroics
    Get Emblems
    Buy gems from vendor
    Stop spending 200g per

    Alternatively,
    Do Wintergrasp
    Get like 20k honor
    Buy gems from honor vendor
    Stop spending 200g per

  27. #27 by LabRat on February 9, 2010 - 10:45 pm

    Yeah! I’m totally getting ripped off my fifteen bucks a month that it’s not harder and more time-consuming to do the base level crap I need to do in order to do the bits that are actually fun!

    This is why my ret set that almost never gets used in a raid still has some unfilled gem slots.

  28. #28 by Echo on February 10, 2010 - 8:27 am

    I just gave up caring so much about the offspecs and alts I never use.

    I’ve got a hunter with 2sets of gear (mm arp and surv), a shaman with ele and enh, a dk with blood tank and DW frost dps and finally a warrior with arms dps and prot.

    I cannot be bothered to spend that many badges on gems. My main yes, my alts Main specs yes. Everything else, blue or epic when I can be arsed to do a heroic or do 1 WG run. Even then I tend to take the cheaper option on alts. For example with DK dps you can use the agi critdmg % meta and 1 nightmare tear and gem exlusively STR. Or you can gem crit critdmg% and use 2 purple gems. Minor dps loss – but still an assload cheaper.

    Its really what kind of time investment you want to make. 1 WG with all the quests done is generally over 10k honor and takes 15mins tops. 200g is maybe 12-14 dailies which depending on how fast you move will take up to half an hour. 20emblems is like 3 and a bit heroics which is roughly 45-50mins.

    I agree with your idea amber – switch the stat priorities and make all gems 10badges each!

  29. #29 by Kotakh on February 10, 2010 - 9:01 am

    Stop QQing and send an Eternal Fire + a Scarlet Ruby to my Rogue. She’s transmute master and my transmute proc ALWAYS proc when i do a transmute for someone else…of course it NEVER proc when i do them for me :(

  30. #30 by Cel on February 10, 2010 - 10:54 am

    @Kotakh I have two transmute masters, and the rule for them seems to be the less likely I am to want to use the gem, the more likely it will proc. I’m looking at you, green gems.

  31. #31 by Stop on February 10, 2010 - 11:09 am

    It’s sad, but the best part of tanking is that I rarely if ever need red gems anymore. Red gems are now for my offset.

    Not that blue gems are much better.

    /grumble.

  32. #32 by Joe Ego on February 10, 2010 - 12:19 pm

    I posted the following in our guild forums. Feel free to ignore in jokes / dick jokes / in-dick jokes / dick-in jokes / etc.

    Gems and Enchants for the rest of us

    You’re “that guy”. One top level toon you actually play. Engineering as your primary profession. Modest gold reserves to cover your repairs, to salve the pain of 40g+ raid flasks, and to let you gaze longingly at 2k Primordial Saronites on the AH. You’re a poor bastard.

    Well you’re in the big leagues now, and those new pants from ICC aren’t going to enchant themselves! Don’t pay inflated AH prices. Follow my simple plan to customize your gear on the cheap. To receive my CD, simply send 200g…

    1. Bank enchanting mats from Heroics. Don’t just show & go for 2 Frosts. Loot everything and save the mats for enchanting new gear. Stockpile some Frozen Orbs if you can use them later. No enchanter in your group? No problem! Make friends with a disenchanter. I hear Engorgio is a pushover, though he might take half the product if you want to be a dick about it. So don’t be a dick. Seriously.

    2. Buy your gems with Emblems. Why are you still sitting on a stack of Conquest emblems? Unless you’re buying a piece of gear, spend your Triumphs and lower on raw gems from the Heroism vendor. Orange, Purple, and Green are particular bargains at half the price of R/B/Y.

    3. Buy your gems with Honor. 10k honor each at the Champions Hall in Stormwind.

    4. Out of Honor? How many Stone Keeper’s Shards do you have? Get thee to Wintergrasp and purchase Wintergrasp Commendations. 150 Shards converts to 10k Honor converts to 1 epic gem.

    5. Make friends with a Jewel Crafter. Be their bestest buddy. Engage Piety in a thoughtfully sycophantic discussion on his UI and post screenshots so everyone else can laugh at you too to show your dedication. Shower Effony with Baby Spice and pumpkin heads to make her feel special. And don’t be a dick. Nobody likes a dick. Except Effony, so that may be worth a shot. Seriously.

    6. Stuck for some crystallized elements, leather, or ore? Look in the guild bank and ask. Look for a gatherer in the guild and ask. I’m sure if you’re really nice and don’t chain Vile Gas onto Kheann, he’ll gladly bend over for you. If you’re into that. His dwarf does have a cute ass. Seriously.

    7. Still out of luck? Check the AH and try to buy on a low day. Buy enough to cover a couple armor kits at a time so you don’t find yourself paying in blood on a Tuesday night.

    That’s all there is to it! Soon you’ll be sporting top level gems and enchants just like the pros and you’ll have spent pennies on the AH dollar.

  33. #33 by Euripides on February 10, 2010 - 1:01 pm

    To all the people suggesting that heroics and wintergrasp gems are somehow “free”: they’re not. you spend time earning the badges and honor required to buy them. If you use that time to, for example, do dailies, skin, mine, or craft greens for disenchanting, the money you make per hour should be compared to the money you save per hour of heroics and wintergrasp.

    Unless you make less with your tradeskills / dailies than you would avoid spending earning those same red gems in heroics and WG, you’re choosing to spend more time grinding your gems. That said, if heroics and WG are more fun than whatever else you do for money, you need to factor that in. I actually like crafting greens for disenchanting, and I make several thousand gold per hour doing it.

  34. #34 by Armagon on February 10, 2010 - 2:40 pm

    What’s wrong with you people? Ruining a perfectly good rant with advice. :P

  35. #35 by Tevala on February 10, 2010 - 7:46 pm

    I’m new to blogging, well, new-again. I came across your blog, and totally agree with your “perfectly good rant”. I have plenty of gold, but am often out of gems, badges, and honor. Paying 200g per gem blows!

  36. #36 by ahealadinstear on February 12, 2010 - 9:49 am

    Red also serves as armor pen! w00t…yeah no. And a lot of tank stats like dodge, parry and expertise…

    I switched my alchemists spec (I always fail to use flasks anyways) in the hopes that someday while transmuting a nice red shiny I might end up with 12!

    But, I am also thankful the girl with the constant upgrades only cares about yellow +20 in her paladiness. 0:)

  37. #37 by Amandine on February 13, 2010 - 7:14 am

    the bright side of the love for red gems is my alch Always knows which transmute to do…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

