Bubble hearth, GO!

I joke about bubble hearthing because it’s just one of those things that comes with being a paladin, but it’s not something that I do. I play on a pvp server and I’m hopelessly terrible at pvp, but instead of bubble hearthing when someone gets a jump on me, I just stick it out. I don’t recall ever using it in instances, except maybe when I’m the only one alive and there are a bunch of ugly mobs who want to give me not nice hugs. Even that’s rare because I’m stubborn and it’s easier to just die and run back than it is to make way for the instance again, at least that was the case until the new dungeon teleport system. Bubble hearthing feels really rude in a way that my beloved Divine Intervention doesn’t, even though they pretty much perform the same function in avoiding repairs.

You see, I suffer from healer guilt. I like to make jokes about letting people die to fix their stupid, but in reality I do my best to keep everyone alive because I’d feel bad if I didn’t. I don’t bail on instance groups after wipes – in part because I want to make things work, and because I would feel guilty about letting another healer stumble into a mess that I left behind. So basically, it takes some real abuse for me to throw up my hands and say “screw it”.

For the first time in a long time, I reached my breaking point. It was Drak’tharon Keep; the tank was rushing but it wasn’t anything unmanageable because RAWR PALADIN MANA POOL (/flex). But after we downed King Dred, the druid tank asks us to wait at the bottom of the stairs. His warrior friend (from the same realm and guild) repeats this, and expounds with “DON’T FOLLOW HIM, DO NOT HEAL” in all caps, I guess so we’d know he was serious. I decided to humor them, and when the druid rounds up about 4 groups and goes splat as he’s pulling them down the stairs (well out of my healing range) I laugh a little and get ready for what’s probably going to be a wipe, because it just wasn’t very likely that I’d be able to keep a dps warrior alive with four packs of angry trolls on him. Like I thought, he dies before I can even get a holy light on him, but all the while he’s freaking out in party chat.

After that he proceeded to call me a dumb cunt.

Bubble hearthing? Was totally warranted. It even felt GOOD.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Anna on March 1, 2010 - 1:43 pm

    HOW DARE YOU FOLLOW DIRECTIONS!

  2. #2 by Ambrosine on March 1, 2010 - 1:50 pm

    HEAL YOU FAILURE amuses me more than it should. That’s a lot of typing instead of hitting oh shit buttons.

  3. #3 by LabRat on March 1, 2010 - 2:52 pm

    So, you execute a plan involving a stranger, when the stranger is critical to your plan, and you only give her half the explanation, then verbally abuse her when she follows your instructions to the letter.

    ALL TANKS ARE SUCH NATURAL LEADERS.

  4. #4 by Joe Ego on March 1, 2010 - 2:53 pm

    Yeah, who has time to type in those situations? I type fast, but my chat frame may as well disappear during combat for all the attention it gets.

    After Dal finished loading I would definitely consider throwing out a vote-kick on the warrior. “Yells @ ppl for following his directions and types in chat during combat.”

    I can’t wait for the new vote-kick implementation.

  5. #5 by Ori on March 1, 2010 - 3:35 pm

    @ LabRat I think what really got me is how SRS BUSINESS he was about it. If you aren’t willing to suffer through wipes with a sense of humor, don’t try to wave your epeen with unusual tanking pulls!

    @Joe Ego I just dropped group because I don’t appreciate being demeaned. I hope the other dps dropped too.

  6. #6 by Alex on March 1, 2010 - 4:30 pm

    I’m still not sure what the guy was attempting to do.

  7. #7 by Xuna of Ragnaros on March 1, 2010 - 4:38 pm

    how dare you!

  8. #8 by Joe Ego on March 1, 2010 - 5:03 pm

    If I want to wave my epeen and do something unusual/stupid then I bring a pocket healer or dps and I just do it. No stupid instructions. No stern words of warning. I’ll just go & grab Hadronox early or start pulling more raptors on Dred or grab all of the Faceless Ones in OK. I expect the healer & others to react like rational players.

    Unless you’re the mage in AN who decides we’ve got all day to kill Hadronox adds to gain rep.

  9. #9 by Angelya on March 1, 2010 - 5:58 pm

    So you were TOLD not to heal then abused for following orders?

    What a douchebag.

    Bubble-hearth completely justified /nod

  10. #10 by Rake on March 1, 2010 - 10:01 pm

    Recently did this in a HoL when the tank charged off and picked up the first three or 4 packs he could find before dropping group. What a tool. meh, bubble/heart. Call me when you find a new tank.

    Had a rogue do it as well when I was on my mage. You can vanish? Oddly enough, so can I. /boot

    What is it about PuGs? Why do some people, even the ones on your own server, seem to be totally without decency. I realise there’s the internet anonymity thing, but seriously. Like a mostly guild run VoA last night. We picked up a heal, dps and tank to fill the gaps. Our own tank temporarily dropped offline and the PuG tank decided to head to Tor first. Stupid heals that I am just followed.

    We downed Toravon. Yay. Meh. Cloth stuff dropped. And the mount! Woohoo! Oh. DPS got it. Other cloth went to the pickup healer. And the tank logs after saying “Sorry, guild raid”. Mage DPS just vanishes and the priest does a “LOL” and drops too.

    FFS. I guess all we can do is put them on ignore and keep hoping we get the guild numbers to do this ourselves. So tired of seeing it happen though. And tired of getting into a guild either to never get an instance run or being in one that’s great but lacks the people and/or skill to do ICC 10 or 25.

    /grrrr

    Frustrated.

  11. #11 by Kadomi on March 2, 2010 - 3:43 pm

    Wtf is wrong with people these days? These power games are nothing but stupid e-peen. I would have left too. Reading this alone frustrates me, haha.

  12. #12 by Arkaneena on March 3, 2010 - 8:30 pm

    This is why I don’t have party chat on anymore. The abuse way outnumbers the few times it is needed

  13. #13 by Pugnacious Priest on March 8, 2010 - 9:26 pm

    It pee’s me off when tanks try and take “shortcuts” that cause wipes. You followed instructions – Bubble hearth was well deserved. I just wish healers could leave notes for the poor healers that end up taking their spot as warnings.

  14. #14 by Shadowhisper on March 9, 2010 - 10:39 am

    Not all tanks are like that :s What a dip, I would have attempted to punt him (even with his friend in grp) just for the sheer satisfaction of trying. His behaviour is ridiculous I love doing some crazy stuff sometimes but wow really if you want to do something like that pull you better have all your CDs ready and a pot maybe. I always see what my healer can handle before I do anything nuts, and if its a friend that’s healing :D /roar its defiantly fun to try and pull everything in site, my tanking friends do it to me when I heal I love returning the favour.
    Ppl are defiantly rude, I doubt he would do that in person in a face to face situation with some one but give them an avatar to hide behind and wow :s
    and if they do talk like that in real life I hope someone smacks them :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

