How To Not Look Like A Useless Git In Heroics

1) Gem your fucking gear. 
Look, we’ve all gotten a new peice and looked at our funds and cringed.  In the very least, toss a blue-quality gem in there.  If you don’t have the funds to gem it yet, then…don’t wear it.  If I look at you and see multiple ungemmed pieces, though, I’m going to be slightly irked in your direction.  I don’t care if it’s “just a heroic”, that’s plain fucking lazy.  Dailies, go do them for golds.

1b is naturally ENCHANT your shit (at least, your good epic shit).  Even if you get +8 stats instead of +10 because +10 is OMG exepnsive, it shows some effort on your part.   If you don’t enchant your ilevel 200 gear…okay.  But your 245 pants?  Proooobably worth at least putting something on.  Some day you might want to do something more than get carried through shit.

2) Interrupt your chain heroics to repair, or you might end up looking kind of dumb like me

3) Ditto that but with ammo and reagents.

4) Don’t forget the part where you at least try to spec, gear, and perform with some semblence of knowledge.   Those can be an evolving process, but seriously?  EMPTY GEM SOCKETS ARE AN EASILY SOLVED PROBLEM.

This post brought to you by lingering butthurt over losing the polearm to a huntard with full…ungemmed…t9.  But also laughing at myself (see point 2).

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rades on March 11, 2010 - 2:59 pm

    Totally agree! Enchants, well they can be a pain sometimes…but gems? No excuse. Get the blue-quality ones, hell get the green-quality ones. Even if you’ve gemmed completely wrong and are a hunter sporting some fine Strength and Expertise gems, well…at least you’re trying.

  2. #2 by Joe Ego on March 11, 2010 - 3:00 pm

    It’s sad to think my profession is more valuable to chain heroics than progression raiding.

    Jeeves FTW!!!
    http://www.wowhead.com/?npc=35642

  3. #3 by Shadowhisper on March 11, 2010 - 3:21 pm

    /Agree its one of my pet peeves, gem your shit!!!

    Uhhhhhhg on my server forums (Norgannon) there is a lil hunter that is like 67 trying to justify that hunters are amazing melee and that’s what we were meant for and blah blah blah, at first I thought they were kidding, I cried by the end of the post…. no no lil hunter go to Huntersunion(dot)com they can help you there. I would post the forum link but work firewalls prevent that :s
    You need help your obviously insane /pat

  4. #4 by theerivs on March 11, 2010 - 5:32 pm

    Couldn’t of said it better myself…well actually I could, but it would involve more words like Fucking Asshat, Douchebag, and Cock Gargler.

    Otherwise well put.

  5. #5 by dorgol on March 11, 2010 - 7:25 pm

    “In the very least, toss a blue-quality gem in there.”

    Do people forget there are green gems? And they are really, really, really, cheap (we’re talking 50s here).

    I REFUSE to use Epic Gems on anyone other than my main (Paladin). My Warrior, Warlock, Mage, and Druid are all decked out in T9 / ilvl 232s. Heck, my Warlock has even done some raiding.

    I still refuse to use the epic gems because they aren’t worth the cost per stat. Hell, for a long while my Warrior (who is on his own on Galakrond) refused to even use Blue gems. I finally switched when I started getting tank gear.

    So, while I completely and totally agree that people should gem their shit, I disagree with the impression that epic gems are the only way to go.

    And in case people are wondering – I don’t refuse based on available funds:

    I have 60k gold on Alliance / Boulderfist, 15k on Horde / Boulderfist (I won a Battered Hilt :)), and another 8k on Alliance Galakrond. Money isn’t the issue.

  6. #6 by Rades on March 12, 2010 - 4:12 am

    re: Dorgol

    My personal rule is that pre-80, I use green gems (preferably the perfect kind, but meh). Once 80, then the blue gems. Once at end game and raiding, then epics.

  7. #7 by Demeternoth on March 12, 2010 - 6:36 am

    You now, I’ve only ever gemmed with Epics. It never occured to me to gem anything else, on my main spec I’ve gemmed/enchanted everything all the way along, but my off spec, hmm not so much. No gemming on ilvl200 for my offspec. The offspec T9 pieces however will get some gems in them shortly. So I’ll have 1/2 and 1/2 for a while. I do wear gear though that’s not gemmed/enchanted IF it’s been such an upgrade that to wear the old piece is just daft, for example going from 219 to 264 bracers.

    I like your way of thinking though Rades, I’ll probably employ that tactic on my myriad of alts as I get them up to the higher levels.

    Good post, made me think about how/why I gem. Thank you.

  8. #8 by Nzete on March 12, 2010 - 11:20 am

    My main gets epics, and my first alt gets epics at the ICC level… both specs each. Second alt and below… gets blues/greens probably the blues… I need the greens for my JC daily thank you very much – they are valuable stuff (unless I actually take up farming but I don’t see that happening anytimes soon).

  9. #9 by Askevar on March 12, 2010 - 11:55 am

    I gemmed my offspec on my shaman with blue quality gems… because I can’t afford 8 toons worth of epic gems plus all the offspecs. She’s enchanted and gemmed completely, minus a belt buckle [I need to poke hubby to make a couple for me].

    One piece ungemmed/unenchanted I can get and not even ponder… Yeah guildie requeued you before you had time to hop about and get it just so and it’s an upgrade anyway as is… But to see someone get noted on my EG addon for having NO enchants and NO gems? unacceptable!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

