A mantra for holy paladins.

Well, a mantra for holy paladins and pretty much every other healer as well.

“I will not check recount.” Repeat it as many times as necessary to let it sink in.

“I will not check recount! I will not check recount!” /shifty eyes /recount show “… FUCK”.

When it comes to healing, being in a constant competition for numbers is sure to get you down, unless you happen to be that person who’s always on top (four for you, Glen Coco). There are just so many factors to healing output to render it much harder to measure than dps numbers. A lot of it has to do simply with class and spec – some have higher thoughput potentials than others, and we all know that disc priest absorbs aren’t often taken into consideration. Another factor is how many healers you have in your group. The more you have, the less healing is needed in general, so those who are faster (due to gear or simple reaction times) are going to have more healing done.

But if you’re competitive like me? Knowing that doesn’t make you feel any better. It makes you want to pout and sulk in the corner because you don’t feel like you’re pulling your full potential. The only solution to keep yourself happy is remember that if you make it through the encounter, that means you’re doing well and pulling your weight. Step away from the healing meters!

(Post inspired by the fact that I have been grumpypants over recount lately, even though I know better! I do wish that there were better ways to evaluate performance.)

,

  1. #1 by Michael on March 15, 2010 - 11:19 am

    Why do healers need recount to begin with? For some it just slows their computer down. To me as long as the tank or person they are assigned to heal is alive (barring unforeseen circumstances) then that is all that matters.

  2. #2 by Robert (Aomi) on March 15, 2010 - 11:24 am

    It’d be cool to have an undead boss where you need to heal it to kill it. And DPS can…run around…as bunnies?

  3. #3 by Korenwolf on March 15, 2010 - 11:29 am

    As a general rule, I’ll have recount up when healing initially just to get a feel for what I’m pushing out when compared with similar healers. Then I’ll completely disable it, as long as the heals are getting out, and I’m not going oom then it’s cpu hogging junk which diverts my attention from the fight at hand.

  4. #4 by crankyhealer on March 15, 2010 - 11:36 am

    Skada is less of a resource hog than Recount, so I have left it running for the last few raids – but I never have it UP when in combat (it auto-hides). It gives me a quick-n-dirty analysis post-wipe for raid leading/heal leading, so that I don’t have to wait for the world-of-logs post-mortem to make changes.

    Skada/recount can give you a very very rough idea of when there’s a problem. If there’s a huge huge numbers discrepancy between healers… maybe you need to look a little harder at those healers.

  5. #5 by Kestrel on March 15, 2010 - 11:43 am

    I have plenty of confidence in my healing not to care where I am in relation to others. Instead, I keep the DPS listing up. ;)

    (If we have a new healer, I may check him/her out on Recount, or I may not…depending what issues may have arisen.)

  6. #6 by Aaron on March 15, 2010 - 12:30 pm

    “The only solution to keep yourself happy is remember that if you make it through the encounter, that means you’re doing well and pulling your weight.”

    Maybe, unless one of the other healers is busting their ass trying to cover for you (not you personally, just saying, in general). I know I have been in plenty of raids where we made it through the encounter and no one died, but at the end I was worn out. A quick check of the meters showed I was doing 1.5-2x the raw healing of the next healer, and half the overhealing.

    Or, my other favorite, when I cast more PW:Shields than the other Disc priest by an order of magnitude. :)

    Granted, this won’t generally be a problem for someone who worries about their performance. People who care usually try. But, I find meters useful to investigate these kinds of problems. Overhealing percentage compared to total overall healing percentage is a very useful metric.

  7. #7 by Arkaneena on March 15, 2010 - 12:47 pm

    I too use it, because I am also competitive by nature. My thing is I try to remember it is only to evaluate my performance. Am I doing what I need to be doing? I rarely heal in raids on my pally anymore, (I tank them mostly), but I am thinking about doing some ICC 25 mans for gear upgrades on my Holy set.

    The other Holy Pally in our raids always wants to challenge me to heal offs, but we have fun with it. I have a quicker trigger finger than she does, but she has more mitigation. I have way more crit, and she can absorb. We keep people alive, but pad the meters at the same time and never on progression nights.

  8. #8 by Joe Ego on March 15, 2010 - 1:00 pm

    Recount epeen is the exclusive realm of paladins on Valithria. Shield, HoTs, CoH, etc can all go cry in a corner as I drop fat 6-figure heals once per freakin’ second. RAWR!

    WTB GS on Dreamwalker… please?

    As for actual healer evaluation, choose one of your tougher ‘farm’ fights and give the new guy his own assignment with no outside help. Bonus points if he succeeds with a group assignment that has members who spaz out 40+ yards from each other with no cohesion.

    Either that or take the new guy to an easy farm fight with a drastically reduced number of healers. Like 1-healing Anub10 or 3-healing some early Ulduar 25.

  9. #9 by mediumsizedrobb on March 15, 2010 - 1:49 pm

    Doesn’t Skada count aborbs towards your total? It looks much nicer too. :)

  10. #10 by dorgol on March 15, 2010 - 1:51 pm

    I remember in Naxx as I was just starting to heal 25-mans (in TBC I was exclusively in 10-mans).

    I could literally go entire fights without healing due to the lack of incoming damage and the excessive AoE healing. Slowly that changed in Ulduar (though I really didn’t feel useful until Crazy Cat Lady and especially Mimiron).

    Of course, ToGC is the domain of the Holy Paladin where the tank damage is so freaking high that I have a chance of overcoming the AoE healers. I love pugging that place and just annihilating the other healers.

    I did finally turn recount off on my Paladin though. I can’t top DPS, I rarely top Healing… so what’s the point? :)

  11. #11 by Vixsin on March 16, 2010 - 8:53 am

    Personally, I’ve never subscribed to the “we killed the boss therefore everyone did a good job” gauge of success; it’s such a low bar to set. By using such a binary metric, it implies that there’s absolutely nothing to improve upon the next time in. And that’s simply incorrect. IMO, if a healer is content to be riding the bottom of meters–no matter their class–then like Aaron (#6 above) described, that healer is doing the healing team a disservice. I strongly believe that any healer can top meters in ICC, given that he/she has the drive to do so.

    If you’d like some tips, Ori, on how to critically evaluate your own healing performance, you might check out one of my recent posts: http://lifeingroup5.com/?p=727

  12. #12 by Ooke on March 16, 2010 - 2:35 pm

    if you run with good healers your numbers will be bad, if you run with bad healers your numbers will be good, if you’re all good healers the overhealing will be much higher than your healing and if every healer is bad you’ll wipe endlessly.

    This has been my experience.

    I run with a holy pally who pulls big numbers™ and a tree who also pulls decent numbers by rolling hots on everybody, which leaves me to snipe heals as a shaman where I can and chain the melee/tank

  13. #13 by Joe Ego on March 16, 2010 - 6:18 pm

    This is where dual specs is very handy. Start pushing down the number of healers. If you’re in a group with good healers then I believe you should avoid overhealing encounters because it just compensates for bad players.

    Thorim and Dreamwalker are two fights that are difficult to overheal. If the dps aren’t doing their jobs then the raid probably doesn’t succeed. If the dps can’t do their job on those fights then they are probably holding you back on other fights or making your healers work harder than necessary.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

