In Which I Ramble About Tanking Shit With My Face

A long-time WoW friend of mine, Hazard, returned to the game recently.  Again.  He’s a perpetual on-again off-again player, but I rejoice every time he comes back.  For those of you who read my WoW fiction dabblings-yes, this is THE Hazard.  \o/ 

He works graveyard shifts currently, so I don’t often get to play with him, but yesterday he declared that I would be running instances with him.   Not so much asked…declared.  Righteo then! 

Normally Tuesday is Ulduar Hardmode Night, but for various reasons I wasn’t up to that (RL is a bitch).  Instead, I blew the dust of my prot warrior on Earthen Ring, invited my friend to vent, and proceeded to do some good ol’ gear farming.  With a pocket healer I’m a little less stressed by tanking for pugs, to the point where when we accidentally queued for heroic ToC instead of normal, I didn’t notice until the second boss. 

Ha!  Ha…hahaha…oops.  Who can be stressed out when they’ve got someone doing Sean Connery impressions on vent, though?  Not me.  The tanking ring dropped for me at least-you know, the weird one, with avoidance stats but no defense?  The one I’ve looked at before and asked, who the hell would use that?  Well…apparently my warrior will use that.  Instead of her fail blue rings.   \o/ 

I did notice, offhand, that thanks to the patch changes revenge was often hitting as hard or harder than my shield slam.  I don’t think I have improved revenge currently, so my warrior may well be over due for a spec overhaul in general.  

I still struggle adjusting to warrior tanking after spending most of my time as a tankadin.  I know the basics, and some of the more advanced stuff-but I lack finesse.   Running regular Forge of Souls at my gear level is a great way of throwing yourself into the fire though, oh boy.  Why do you still run away when you have aggro, DPS?  Why?  How much range do you think my taunt HAS, anyway?  Not that much.  Get your ass back here, scrub.  How about you don’t attack that caster that’s still at range yet? Hmmmm? 

Raiding ICC 25 tonight will seem easy by comparison.  Pfft.

, ,

  1. #1 by Linedan on March 24, 2010 - 11:11 am

    Spec into Improved Revenge. Seriously. The cleave effect will help.

  2. #2 by dorgol on March 24, 2010 - 11:20 am

    I’m looking forward to trying the new Revenge on my Warrior. I hear, ya, though on the “I’ve been tanking too much with XX”. Switching between my Warrior and DK is disconcerting.

    This is made worse by the fact that the two characters are the same sex, same race, and with the same name (RP reasons, different servers).

    When I’m on my Paladin I see that Draenei model and my mind immediate says “this is a Paladin, you know what to do”. But going from “Dwarf who tanks with a Shield” to “Dwarf who tanks with his face”… the I find myself reaching for the other classes abilites.

  3. #3 by xuna of ragnaros on March 24, 2010 - 11:43 am

    Earthen Ring? that is in my Battlegroup.

    Next time fire me a flare or something. Just queue specifically for Old Kingdom or Oculus and let the SETI program do their job.

  4. #4 by Alas on March 24, 2010 - 11:43 am

    At least you know the basics. I have nary a clue what the hell I’m doing on my warrior. Maybe an entry level guide for warrior tanking is in order? Please? :D

  5. #5 by Shayzani on March 24, 2010 - 12:15 pm

    Hey now that ring is quite good if you find yourself well above the def minimum!

  6. #6 by Bri on March 24, 2010 - 12:19 pm

    I imagine bear tanks would enjoy that ring more?

  7. #7 by Matojo on March 24, 2010 - 12:35 pm

    Mmmmavoidance.

    I’m bad. When I hit the Def cap I’m like “AVOIDANCE TIME IZ NAO” but I’m… not tanking raid stuff so not being hit instead of soaking up hits is ok. Boring for healer, but ok.

    I would love to know why DPS run away from me when they steal my aggro. Is it because they’re afraid of my wrath, or because they don’t want to give it back? :3

  8. #8 by Nymphe on March 24, 2010 - 1:25 pm

    I get the whole having a pocket healer making you more comfortable position. My retadin has a pretty decent offspec tank set and I am not exactly the most patient person when queueing for the LFD >.> so I flailtank quite a bit through heroics. Having that pocket healer you know and trust and who is on vent with you makes life so much more comfortable. Especially when if you are confident you and him could two man pretty much any boss in the heroics if needed.

  9. #9 by Ceralyn on March 24, 2010 - 2:11 pm

    I can’t seem to get my wee tankity warrior alt past 60ish. I can thunderclap/cleave through ramps like nothing else though! yay!

    I’m more oft the pocket healer since my husband is the one with severe altitis. DK, Warrior, and 2 paladins. 2. Oy. (and those are just the ones he tanks with)

  10. #10 by Albyll on March 24, 2010 - 2:37 pm

    I always run when I have aggro … to the tank. Right?

  11. #11 by Ambrosine on March 24, 2010 - 4:17 pm

    @Bri – I forget that bear tanks exist! You’re quite right, I’m sure it would be tasty for rawrtanking.

    My WoW life needs moar bares.

  12. #12 by shadowtycho on March 24, 2010 - 7:23 pm

    i know as like comment 13 this wont get alot of play but if you are having trouble tanking as a warrior i have the solution for you.

    all you need to do to hold threat as a warrior in most heroics now days is thunder clap and shock wave on cool down and press cleave when its up, the new revenge that you didn’t think anything of in the patch notes is pimp too.
    just bind mouse wheel up to cleave and glyph for it and spin to win! threat is yours! tab target and press other buttons to not be bored.

    warning: raid bosses may require heroic strike and proper glyphing.

  13. #13 by Hashshashins on March 24, 2010 - 11:50 pm

    Best advice ever? Once your warrior has some alright gear make your offspec UA and faceroll through heroics, some of the best fun you will ever have. Especially with the change to revenge you will not lose aggro! It’ll be so easy you’ll think you’re pala tanking.

  14. #14 by Kazgrel on March 25, 2010 - 1:00 pm

    How I would go about it (former MT in BC turned resto shaman LOL Sunwell):

    http://www.wowhead.com/?talent#LAM00fZhZVItrx0didczsGo:dTMMmz

    Improved Thunderclap is hawt, especially if you run with the minor glyph. Combined with imp revenge and cleave glyph, you’ll be shreddin’ stuff. There’s a lot of variety with how prot warrior can be done, which gives it flavor.

    I am weird in that I prefer warrior tanking over paladin tanking because it seems like I always have some form of ability to use, especially for when something gets loose. Not to mention there’s no fumbling around with “LOL PLEA DROPPED OOM NOW”…damn, I hate that.

    Of course, I feel the ultimate in faceroll tanking (at least for multiple mobs) is bear tanking. Glyph Maul, then weave it in while you swipe without going out of rage. Soooo easy.

    Disclaimer: My bear is level 76, so the ease of tanking could very well be due to the lack of DPS (hell I’m often 1 or 2 on meters when tanking).

  15. #15 by http://pinterest.com/primesolar/ on February 4, 2013 - 3:41 pm

    U generated some terrific points in your article, “In Which I
    Ramble About Tanking Shit With My Face I Like Bubbles”.
    I will wind up returning to ur blog before long. Many thanks
    ,Birgit

  16. #16 by Ken on May 30, 2013 - 6:04 pm

    “In Which I Ramble About Tanking Shit With My Face | I Like Bubbles” was indeed a remarkable
    post. If merely there was a lot more weblogs similar to this
    excellent one in the actual the net. Regardless, thanks for your personal precious time, Arlene

  1. » An Open Question to DPS

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

