1. #1 by Ori on April 12, 2010 - 10:53 am

    “This way there’s less screaming “stay the fuck away from me during fucking empowered vortex you fucking useless fuckwits!” at their screens. ”

    There will be less of this, but there will never be NONE.

  2. #2 by Krikket on April 12, 2010 - 11:09 am

    Something you may not have seen in 25s, but that I totes saw in 10?

    Those purple balls you’re not supposed to touch? You can get healing aggro on them. I’ve been *that* suicidal healer who chases the Kel tank, and I will pick up a purple ball or two while healing. So I run, stand in the consecrate until they decide the tank is prettier than I am.

    Another note: On this fight TAB TARGET IS NOT YOUR FRIEND. I get “arena” style frames on the right side of my screen, and I highly recommend using those to target the active Twilight Sparkler. :)

  3. #3 by Joe Ego on April 12, 2010 - 11:12 am

    For 25s we have our resto shaman following the Kel tank the whole fight. CH = magical visual leash = knowing exactly where your heal target is at all times. Keeping the stage relatively clear makes sure the two of them have space to run across the room.

    For raids failing this fight, there are a couple easy fixes that take advantage of the loooooooooooong 10min enrage timer:

    1) Bring extra healers. Assuming the Kel tank gets enough orbs and too many people don’t die to an errant beachball, you can brute for the encounter if your healers are at least competent.

    2) Restrict your melee dps on Val. I’ve seen some people doing hard mode with no melee on Val. Either way, fewer people running for the Empowered Vortex is fewer chances for failure. It does make the fight run longer, but a longer kill is better than constantly wiping while your healers make a “stay the fuck away from me, fuckwit!” macro.

  4. #4 by Shamus on April 12, 2010 - 11:32 am

    I’m usually the Kel tank healer on my disc priest. I don’t bother following the tank. I follow Kel so I know the tank will be in range. Also, if Kel is moving making me move at least I know he’s not nuking the tank :)

  5. #5 by Robbie on April 12, 2010 - 12:40 pm

    Oddly enough, this makes the fight much clearer than any other strategy I have read.

    WTB Mind Spike.

  6. #6 by Nymphe on April 12, 2010 - 12:44 pm

    In one of my 10 man groups we’ve actually had a paladin tank tank Kel using any of their ranged attacks to get the orbs and just kiting him around, while a warrior or other tank tanks the other two guys up on the stairs. Its seemed to work very well *im generally of the pew pew variety in this fight*

  7. #7 by Len on April 12, 2010 - 2:02 pm

    We actually only 2 tank this on 10 man and it works really well (as long as your healers don’t mind the occasional heart attack moment on your val/tal tank). The second tank takes Kel and with all of the stamina, damage reduction etc. available to a tank, its a breeze. We’ve had a DK doing the kel tanking so far and he does a fab job.

    We had maaajor issues on this trying to tank Kel with a warlock, partly because they were doing it in regular gear and spec and just kept going SPLAT.

    One of the problems we have had is with a healer assigned to the Kel tank having to trail after him as he collects orbs (thats my lovely job!). It’s not a major issue as I’m a disc priest so fairly mobile, but can cause panic moments when I suddenly realise he’s out of range and I’m not entirely sure where in the room he is!!

  8. #8 by Ceralyn on April 12, 2010 - 2:36 pm

    Bubble-priests have a decent-ish time chasing the Kel tank. Though make sure it’s somebody mobile and situationally aware….

    Yeah beacons tend to be easier, but holy pallys aren’t ALWAYS the answer!

    P.S. your captions are amazing. “Do not give hugs” and “Tank” vs. “Schmuck” = <3

  9. #9 by matha on April 12, 2010 - 3:15 pm

    We also 2 tank this. we have a paladin tank with vindication tank two of the princes and a dk on the shadow orbs. works like a charm but can cause some heart attacks if vindication falls off for some reason.

    p.s. love the blog.

  10. #10 by Joe Ego on April 12, 2010 - 5:35 pm

    The first time we got this in 10man we ran a hunter with pvp gear, including dual Direbrew +stam trinkets, as the Kel tank. He did well enough we managed to get Orb Whisperer on the first kill. That is the “you’re doing it right” achievement, but our 25 man group still doesn’t have it. We only picked up Boned a couple weeks ago. /facepalm

  11. #11 by tytalus on April 13, 2010 - 10:36 am

    Tanking Kel was not much fun for me until I searched for a way to zoom out further than the default setting. Not being able to see anything around the black balls smothering you…well, certainly you can make up your own joke for that. :)

  12. #12 by Kiramaren on April 13, 2010 - 10:58 am

    @ Tytalus Kel’s balls looked more blue in colour /snicker

    When I was in the 25man guild on my previous server I was one of the healing bitches and really I dont know how many times I had to get on ppl… you see this 12 yrds that I dont really move from this is my bubble…. DONT POP IT!!

    But ya we went into 10man with ‘most’ of my guild (I despise random no shows) we pugged 4 ppl and we got Pro Pru down in a few tries but had issues on the Princes…. /le sigh the boomkin couldn’t juggles the sparkling yellow balls <..>
    I was tanking this one and I took Val/Tal really not too bad, a few oh shiz buttons were needed but over all that part was super!

    I do love the comedic value of this fight, I was the only girl in raid and of course I was the one explaining about the juggling… :) Soooo much hilarity ensued. :D

  13. #13 by Shayzani on April 14, 2010 - 2:20 pm

    Chiming in to say that Nocturne does this fight with only two tanks on 10man as well. I spec Unholy for magic damage reduction and our bear tank grabs the two melee dudes.

  14. #14 by Jaderaine on April 14, 2010 - 5:05 pm

    We actually 2 tank this on 10 man. We have our MT take Val/Tal and have used both a lock or Druid for Kel.

    Works really well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

