Amber’s Musings on Druid Altness

There’s a lot of fuss going around about the potential change to tree form.  I’ve been sitting here blinking at it.  I don’t understand the kerfluffle, but then, I’m also a product of a by-gone WoW era.

There are, for example, no less than three resto druids in this screenshot.

Ah, Celonious.  A brother paladin.  Twig, the tank who never remembered his Onyxia cloak.  Art, one of our MTs (Cranky Tank’s predecessor, actually).  Delbok, one of our two perpetual locks.  And…the druids, Leola, Koufax, and Etheralmoon.

When you played a druid, you saw leaves–on your gear.  You hid your god awful moose antlers.  You watched your character do yoga as they cast spells.  As an elf.

There was no tree.  Tree didn’t exist–for what, two years? 

Eh.  So tree might become a cooldown.  I’m no fan of night elf models, to be sure–I hate the eyebrows.  I hate the crazy, long ass ears.

But it sure as hell beats looking like a stalk of broccoli forgotten on the kitchen counter. 

Color me unusual in this opinion, I suppose.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kae on April 15, 2010 - 11:05 am

    I will remember to put on my fire resist gear when fighting Fiiiiiremawwww…

  2. #2 by Jasyla on April 15, 2010 - 11:41 am

    You are not alone with that opinion.

  3. #3 by Liadan on April 15, 2010 - 11:46 am

    The moose antlers are awesome, I don’t care what people say.

  4. #4 by mediumsizedrobb on April 15, 2010 - 11:49 am

    I agree– the idea of the druid class is very cool, but the main reason I can never get an alt past 20 or so is the prospect of having to look at the same exact model forEVER no matter what gear I get. You’re the same bear. You’re the same cat. You’re the same broccoli. Like I said, it’s a cool idea to be able to change forms but how does it not become mind numbingly boring after 80 levels of seeing the same thing? The change to treeform is making me consider a healer at least.

  5. #5 by MyName on April 15, 2010 - 12:39 pm

    The model itself is “meh”, but the animations are awesome! You do the twist when you dance, you punch things with your branches when you autoattack, and you look like a tree cheerleader with green pompoms when you jump up and heal!

    I can’t say I’m completely attached to the model, but I think the whimsy is what makes people want to at least have the option of being a tree.

  6. #6 by Leafshine on April 15, 2010 - 12:40 pm

    The thing is, I’m also a product of the pre-Tree era. I was resto all through vanilla WoW – but that doesn’t mean that I’m not really upset by the change. In the 3 years it has been part of the spec, for many of us who play resto as our main (or, in my case, essentially only) toon, it has become a central part of our identity.

    I think you’ll find that most of the people who are upset are resto mains and most who don’t get what the fuss is about are people with a resto as part of a stable of alts.

  7. #7 by Dinte on April 15, 2010 - 12:51 pm

    I’m with MyName. I’ve played WoW since vanilla, but only finally managed to find my perfect class, resto druid, late in BC. Mechanic and design wise, I couldn’t be happier with the changes. It’s exactly what the class needs. That being said, I am gonna miss a few things. My good luck dance that made everyone smile. The absurd overbite. Stuffing my face when I eat. Slouching when I sleep. /cower. Flailing my arms as I jump. Backhanding webwraps because DPS are being stupid. MyName had it right, it’s the pure whimsy of tree that make me smile.

    What I recommend all tree lovers do is get a hold of the Teldrassil sapling Tournament pet, and enjoy a mini tree for years to come.

  8. #8 by Greysmoke (Shadow Council) on April 15, 2010 - 12:52 pm

    I love healing as a druid, but I hate Tree form. I /like/ the way my tauren lady looks; I love her casting animations and the appearance of her gear. I, for one, welcome the ability to be in caster form most of the time. ]:)

  9. #9 by Krikket on April 15, 2010 - 5:52 pm

    I’m just saddened by the loss of tree-dance.

  10. #10 by Jen on April 16, 2010 - 4:36 am

    The tree is ugly. My elf is pretty. Some of the tree animations are funny, but I never found them so hilarious… I only use them to entertain my guildies.

    I like the idea that’s floating around of making the tree form a toggle just like worgen/human. It would keep tree-huggers happy and I could keep using my tree the way I do now – as a marker. It’s easier to say “run to the tree” than “run to the corner of the room with that little spike on the floor”.

    Also, I HATE branching web wraps to death. I feel so useless then.

  11. #11 by Nanuki on April 16, 2010 - 5:06 am

    I exactly feel the same.
    I hate hate hate the tree model and looove the resto playstyle but I stopped playing with my beloved druid because I couldn’t stand looking like a tree aaaall the time like all the other resto druids.
    So I don’t understand all the panic and dislikes all around – and I wish Cataclysm will hit soon :)

  12. #12 by Kiramaren on April 16, 2010 - 10:19 am

    Its really a mixed bag, my main spec is rawr bear and my offset is healing, I can see some pros and cons to it like in pvp not being a beakon of come kill me. But I LOVE the look and feel the dance, run (especially with speed boosts), and all the other cute and funny animations that the tree has, I love sleeping on my drood right next to a buddy of mine it unnerves him so I follow him around doing it!
    I do like the idea of having a toggle for the form, then ppl can wear it if they want. I asked for new skins for the tree not taking it away, being a drood is all about your form, if you dont like it play a different NE class.

    R.I.P Dear Tree, R.I.P

  13. #13 by Armagon on April 16, 2010 - 1:13 pm

    I’m in the alt camp – I don’t see Tree form often enough to be annoyed.
    My gear also is much worse than on my Resto Shammy where I delightfully spam Damage spells while healing Heroics. I don’t feel the need for this on my druid, though.

    Yes, it is a part of Druid identity, but I also remember the shouts of our Druids on TBC launch with mixed feelings. Didn’t they run 30% slower back then additionally to not being able to cast any Balance Spells? :)

  14. #14 by Vorian87 on April 18, 2010 - 1:49 am

    @ Nanuki

    And all the panzerchickens look like others!!! :)

    And I just for whatever reason cannot stand to be in tree form for too long in heroics. I just HAVE to pop out and start spamming Moonfire, Wrath and Hurricane.

    Must be a byproduct of my ages old early-wrath Holy Paladin times when I used to toss out judgements and holy shocks and consecration on mobs all the time. Eh.

    Lately I only pop into tree form if I need some extra oomph to healing via the SPI –> SP conversion from the form. But even that is starting to get rare.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

