End of Expansion = Alt Time

Alts Appearing In This Post:
Psychiatree, 63 Resto/Feral Druid, Azgalor
Vainglory, 61 Unholy DK, Azgalor
Ambrosine, 63 Frost DK, Earthen Ring
(Why yes, I AM tired of Blood Furnance…)

I hate soloing, for the most part.  Don’t ask me how I ever got my holy paladin to 60 back in the day–I have no idea.  My hunter made it by…well, being a hunter.   I’ve been mourning the fact that Josh doesn’t want to level with me for some time, and my playing schedule can be so wildly variable that I didn’t feel fair tying anyone else’s toons to mine.

…but then I started playing with Ori.  >.>  She has a DK tank about the same level as my tree, and a priest roughly the same level as DkAmbro.  WIN.

Of course, the fact that I’m playing with Ori means that you don’t get quite so many screaming rants about my tree’s pug tanks.  But you do get tales of me being a fail!cat…

Yes, one time the LFD window popped up AND I WAS TO DPS AND NOT HEAL WHAT THE FUCK IS THAT SHIT.    While I solo Psych as cat and indeed leveled that way to begin with, I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THE FUCK I AM DOING.  I proceeded to flail my way to craptastic DPS (as much as meters matter at level 63, I was at the bottom of them.  By a lot).  I died to bombs, then died to bombs some more, then stood in a pile of ick after the floaty-boss thing and died, again.

HOW DID I BECOME THE KIND OF DPS THAT I HATE TO HEAL?!

Melee: a bad idea for Amber.

Of course the group kept going for a few instances, so I continued to fail!cat all over the place.  I am…going to have to research the 60s level cat, obviously.  Bear is so much easier for me to grasp.   SWIPE SWIPE MAUL SWIPE SWIPE MAUL SWIPE.  ROAR.   SWIPE.

If you want to flail about as DPS?  CAT IS NOT IT.  No, you need to ROLL DK.

Seriously.  This isn’t an insult to good DKs, you guys are amazing.   But it was absolutely silly to drag out my level 61 Unholy DK that I haven’t touched in months, use basically the same rotation I used for my frost DK to tank, and then proceeded to roll through the instance doing twice the DPS I did on my cat.   What? 

Maybe I just need to retire my cat spec forever.  SWIPE.

Also, being able to tank in my DK started blues on ER Ambrosine is just wrong.  Wrong, I tell you.  Oh, speaking of.

HEY BLIZZARD.  YOU’D THINK THAT BY LEVEL 62 A CLASS CAPABLE OF TANKING COULD HAVE A TAUNT?  MAYBE?  KTHX.

…and those were my adventures in alt land.

TOMORROW, FUNNY PICTURES OF IT.

(I go to Disneyworld in less than a week now and have no focus.  Bear with me!  XD)

, , ,

  1. #1 by Psynister on May 4, 2010 - 9:42 am

    You did notice you have Death Grip, right? :P

    On a more serious note: Yeah, not getting your taunt until level 64 or 68 (I forget) is pretty stupid when you want them to tank. Six levels of failure ftw? o.O

    “Psychiatree” – I should have remembered that for my druid I rolled last night. The name fits well, me thinks!

  2. #2 by dorgol on May 4, 2010 - 10:04 am

    I also fail at Cat DPS. I absolutely love the cat in PvP – where rotation isn’t nearly as important – but I just cannot accomplish anything worthwhile as a Cat in PvE.

    Which is why my Druid is now a BEAR.

    I’ve been leveling a Shaman lately, and I have also been surprised when the queue pops up as “Damage” instead of “Healing”. I have a feeling that the higher I get the harder it will be to heal with a full Elemental spec.

  3. #3 by Andy on May 4, 2010 - 10:15 am

    I get the impression, from various things I’ve read about cat DPS, that it’s one of the harder ones to do well, kinda like shadow-priestery and possibly enhancement shamaning.

    And I have an uncomfortable relationship with taunt. I’m reluctant to use it in 5-mans when a DPS over-aggros, mostly because I’m a bastard and if they over-aggro it’s their own fault and good luck tanking it mr huntard. If a healer’s got aggro from something they didn’t face-pull then that’s a different story, and such a case an Icy Dickpunch usually convinces the mob that I’m a far worthier opponent.

    Usually if I do use taunt it’s cos I’ve cocked up a pull somehow, or I’m in a raid and need the boss to leave my co-tank alone for a bit.

  4. #4 by Nymphe on May 4, 2010 - 12:36 pm

    Yes! I fail cat dps too. I was all excited about being a kitty dps and clawing things to death but soemwhere down the line of tanking everything I cannot wrap my head around the rotation. So I repseced my second spec to tree… jumping flailing hots ftw

  5. #5 by Zombiee on May 4, 2010 - 12:46 pm

    As a kitty, it just sorta sucks trying to compete with other dps at that level. The tools to tear faces off don’t come till later. Lvl 71 for Kitty-Swipe and lvl 75 for Savage Roar (all dmg x 1.3) if I remember correctly. Once you get these and the mobs have enough health to hit a few times it becomes an extremely fun class to play.

    Don’t forget they have the best ability in the game: Feral Charge – Cat. AIRBORNE KITTY ATTACK! RAWR! For extra fun you can pull mobs that way by shifting to bear midair. Nothing gets threat like an 800lb airborne bear hitting unsuspecting mobs like a bowling ball.

  6. #6 by Ambrosine on May 4, 2010 - 1:26 pm

    @dorgol – I’m afraid I’ll hit the same wall with my ele shaman. We shall see!

    @Zombiee – I pull mobs with AIRBORNE KITTY all the time. >.>

    <.<

    When I'm not supposed to.

  7. #7 by shadowtycho on May 4, 2010 - 1:52 pm

    @amber
    so after this learning experience with you kitty, are you going to heal poeple who stand in fire? or are you going to learn to not stand in fire?

  8. #8 by Nzete on May 4, 2010 - 1:58 pm

    Tanking on the dk prior to dark command had some seriously stinky moments. I started each run by explaining to the unknown dps (3rd is hubby) that “I do not yet have a proper taunt and death grip is reserved for repositioning casters and saving the healer”. Nothing quite like explaining how expendable they are up front to make them behave. I even marked a skull, told them what is meant, and that I needed 3 global cooldowns before they were allowed to touch anything.

    Crabby tank doesn’t like to corpse run…..

  9. #9 by Cathy on May 4, 2010 - 9:42 pm

    As a pvp tree I can tell you cats are very annoying and do a lot of damage. I’m not a cat person though, boomkins are ugly and bears are a tad boring. Healing tree should be all you need:)

    Nice blog BTW

  10. #10 by Ambrosine on May 5, 2010 - 8:30 am

    @shadowtycho – Nope, melee who stands in fire is still going to die.

    Just like I did. :P

  11. #11 by Kazgrel on May 6, 2010 - 12:13 pm

    Add another to the list of those who /boggle at the lack of a true taunt for DKs until 64 or whatever. Should be a trained skill at level 58 at the very least, imo.

    A couple of weeks ago I managed to get my druid alt to 80, and I’ve resorted to staying bear in order to speed up his gearing process. Second spec will probably end up PVP resto, but I’ve been indecisive as all get-out over that decision. :-/

  1. Alt time! « For the Kill Shot!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

