Some Bite With My Bark

When I first rolled my druid back in Vanilla, I just wanted to run around as a cat.  I leveled her as a full cat druid into her 30s then dropped her in the dust bin for awhile.  When I picked her back up in Wrath, she got a shiny tree dual spec because I was interested in resto druids, and because DPS queues were a pain. 

…and then I still spent forever waiting for a tank.  I tried tanking in cat spec and that was awful, so I concocted some hybrid bastard spec of CatBeardom and muddled my way through when not waving my branches.

Finally, at 64, I gave up on cat.  I am an AWFUL cat.  I retooled my feral spec for All Bear, All The Time…

…and proceeded to have an aching wrist from doing nothing but frantically spamming my swipe button.  That lovely rotation I researched?  Only for bosses, apparently.  If I do anything on trash other than “roar + maul/swipe macro spam” then boom, loose mobs everywhere.  I’m glaring at you, mages and warlocks and death and decay happy death knights.

My lacerate button sits on my bar, mostly unloved.

I like bear tanking–like my paladin, it seems a little more forgiving to idiocy (both my own, and on behalf of others).  On the other hand, I have multiple o snap buttons like my warrior.  Psych (as she is now known) seems likely to make it to 80 at this point.  Will she tree, or bear, or both?  That is the question…

Of course, the name Psychiatree is cute on a tree and a little odd on a bear…

, , ,

  1. #1 by Vorian87 on June 8, 2010 - 12:40 pm

    gave up my bear offspec on the druid. it was too boring on trash to spam the glyphed maul + swipe macro.

  2. #2 by Ambrosine on June 8, 2010 - 1:53 pm

    It’s the tanking version of holy paladining.

  3. #3 by shadowtycho on June 8, 2010 - 10:14 pm

    spamming heroic strike got you down?
    wrist aching from pressing swipe more then is healthy?
    just cant seem to get those runic strikes in fast enough?

    then do i have a solution for you!
    just bind it to mouse wheel down and spin to win!

  4. #4 by Littlebark on June 8, 2010 - 10:26 pm

    Fun fact! The macro doesn’t change at 80.

  5. #5 by Robbie on June 9, 2010 - 2:27 am

    Indeed, that would be odd, like Holyheelz the Retadin. O_?

    That being said, tree/bear is a lovely combo of druid that never need look far for a group. Besides, you can always DPS with treepunches.

  6. #6 by Bob. T. Bear on June 9, 2010 - 5:36 am

    We have a toon on my realm named ‘Omgabigbear’ who actually plays resto most of the time. So you’d be in good company with your name only fitting half your specs.

    Also damn – am I the only person with a bear main who Hasn’t macroed Maul into anything so I can have full control of my rage/GCD expenditure (most people I hear have either macroed it into Swipe or into Everything)

    then again, I also seem to be the only person who manages to run out of rage any more. Unique and special snowflake or what >_>

  7. #7 by discomboulat on June 9, 2010 - 6:34 am

    find a decent guild and bubble your ass off imo.

    you aren’t killing HM lk without a disc or two or a disc/holy 21/51

    trees are shit and always have been, even when healing wasn’t spam.. trees were shit.

    oh and I outheal mine.

  8. #8 by discomboulat on June 9, 2010 - 6:39 am

    to addon, if you are running with a druid with a val, just subtract 10% of his healing from his “protection” buff he casts, and shows as about 25-30% of the healing and knock that back to a reasonable 10% proc healed.

    suddenly that tree looks average.

  9. #9 by Ambrosine on June 9, 2010 - 1:07 pm

    @Bob – I still have the skills, unmacro’d, on my bar. I just also have the macro. :D

    @discomboulat – I’m just an altaholic who wanted to break her brain by healing a little differently.

  10. #10 by Escobar on June 11, 2010 - 1:35 pm

    @Bob: I have maul macro’d to everything but Fairie Fire. The only time I have rage issues is when the boss stops hitting me to cast stuff. I really need him to stop doing that.

    @discombobulat: Trees aren’t shit. They’re just used in a shitty way. (I’m a reformed tree, so I have to defend them.) In early Wrath, I was mostly used on tanks, as the guild I was in at the time had no disc priests and a lot of trouble holding onto holy pallies. That was F-U-N. Then I moved to another guild, and was relegated to raid heals. Imagine my shock and horror when I realized that first, I throw as much Rejuv as I could, and then, when WG came off of cd, I’d hit that. For serious? Yep, that’s it. Yeah, screw that. Not only don’t I heal, I don’t even have a healing spec anymore. I went boomkin off, and I leave the healing to my shaman. Maybe if resto druidism gets fun again in Cata, I’ll pick it back up. But for now, no thanks.

  11. #11 by http://www.communitywalk.com/user/view/1802648 on February 5, 2013 - 5:48 pm

    Exactly where did u actually obtain the suggestions to compose ““Some Bite With My Bark I Like
    Bubbles”? I appreciate it -Dorothea

  12. #12 by Www.Foundationhealthcarenetwork.com on April 19, 2013 - 2:20 pm

    “Some Bite With My Bark | I Like Bubbles” was indeed really
    engaging and informative! Within the present day universe that’s difficult to deliver.
    Thanks, Carlota

  13. #13 by Www.Squidoo.com on April 23, 2013 - 9:32 am

    I personally seem to go along with every aspect that was composed
    in “Some Bite With My Bark | I Like Bubbles”. Thanks
    a lot for all the actual info.Thanks for the post-Harriett

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

