Disc “vs” Holy

I was slogging through my feed reader earlier when I came across 2fps’s post here.

I can’t comment while I’m at work and I’ll forget by the time I get home, so TIEM FOR POST.

Way back in BC when my guild was faltering on Gurtogg Bloodboil I talked to the healing lead about possibly speccing into a deep Disc build for Pain Suppressioning our clothies on the Fel Rage. … Of course, nothing came of it because Holy was such a powerhouse by comparison.

Wrath launched and it seemed like Blizzard was listening to my stump speeches because Disc suddenly blossomed into a real true healing spec competitive not just with its Holy counterpart, but with any other healing spec from any other class as well.

The unfortunate fallout of this otherwise awesome turn of events is that so many priests have completely forsaken Holy altogether. …

Here’s the thing: despite your objections and your hot displeasure, Holy actually is a great healing spec with a ton of awesome tools to bring to the table and you’re only gimping yourself and possibly your raid by sticking with vehement denials.

One of the BoO “catch phrases” is that Real Priests Are Holy.  Of course half the reason anyone says this is to get my goat, but I am the only disc priest main in the guild right now.  If holy has now become maligned amongst the general populace I am certainly uanware of it.  It’s also silly.

One issue hindering the disc priest is that we don’t “stack” well.  You can have three holy priests in a raid.  Have you ever tried to raid with 3 disc priests?  If you are going with the raid Bubble trend, then what you have is three priests sniping bubble targets from each other and generally going insane. 

I don’t think that many holy priests turned away from their specs–not entirely.  Instead, I think there’s several priests out there sporting both specs.  Disc, for its many useful properties and holy for its…many…useful properties.  

The biggest bonus to disc, though, is that I don’t have this big shiny announcement to the world when I fuck up and die.

, ,

  1. #1 by Askevar on June 9, 2010 - 4:18 pm

    Holy is still prefered to disc on my server… And most disc priests that exist – heal like holy priests…

  2. #2 by Myssidia on June 9, 2010 - 5:07 pm

    =O You’re the only disc priest… because any time I play we don’t need an extra disc priest… I love bubbling and do it as much as I can… it’s just that we don’t need another bubbler that much.

  3. #3 by Xeppe on June 9, 2010 - 5:58 pm

    Ahh, the Angel of Shame.
    Yes, I’ve found being Discy either lonely (’cause I’m the only one in the raid and no-one else even knows what the Disc spells do) or fraught (’cause there’s another Discy and we’re squabbling over shield targets and who gets to stand in the nicest shield spamming spot).

  4. #4 by Grimmtooth on June 9, 2010 - 6:17 pm

    I always figured Disc was so popular because dorks like me could, well, be adequate at healing.

    I’ve never checked out Holy because I can’t bear the thought of axing my Shadow spec.

    I suppose I could level a 2nd priest …

    hmm ….

  5. #5 by omgwtforz on June 9, 2010 - 10:14 pm

    “The biggest bonus to disc, though, is that I don’t have this big shiny announcement to the world when I fuck up and die.”

    lol on holy priests

  6. #6 by LolDrood on June 10, 2010 - 1:27 am

    Speaking of disc and expansions, anyone know what the deal is with this them thar Cata disc tree? Especially around the T4-5 range? Progression kinda goes, “la la la la heal heal USE SMITE! USE IT!! La la la penance.” I’m confused.
    Also, you can totally spec Disc fail angel (DiFA’s. Coined!) now. Do they still suck if they can shoot heal laserz?

    I wait for the beta changes that make this post asinine and worthless. Well, more so.

  7. #7 by Katurian on June 10, 2010 - 3:11 am

    I approve bubbles. I approve.

    This coming from a Shadow too. =) I don’t often approve of things not…shadowy.

  8. #8 by Chirri on June 10, 2010 - 7:38 am

    I love Holy.

    I love Disc…

    We have three Holy Priests in my guild, 1 Shadow Priest, and one Disc Priest (that would be me). Hi there. Why? We have no reliable Holy Pally, and really liked the taste of that Disc Priest we had for a bit before they just disappeared into thin air. I filled the gap (poorly) and now I’m stuck.

    I love everything about Priests. I suck more at Holy than I do at Disc now, I think, and I’m still not sure how I feel about that.

    Mostly, I blame Wrath. I really don’t like healing in Wrath.

    Re: Cata Disc – good lord I hit a bottleneck not knowing where to put points to get to the useful healing talents. As I read through the text version I thought, “What the heck. Smite talent. Smite tal… Sm… Oh look, it turns a Smite talent into something useful.”

    Is Disc turning into some “unholy” (ahaha punny, I go hurt myself now) combat Priest that does better only when sprinkling damage while healing? The rest of the tree didn’t reflect the Smite bias at all; it feels very unwieldy.

  9. #9 by keats on June 10, 2010 - 9:04 am

    Looking at the alpha talents as they are right now, seems like the Fail Angel will be pretty much standard issue for us come Cataclysm. I for one am looking forward to it, I always envied Holies for the OMGAngel visual. I’m also hoping the new Archangel thingy’s gonna be shipped with some nice big shiny-wing-y visuals, or at least a halo, priests could definitely use some more pop right about now.

  10. #10 by Prot on June 10, 2010 - 10:16 am

    I got a weird comment the other day from someone and just had to share it with you. It was a druid healer who went OOM during Rotface. I commented that I never see healers go OOM anymore. His reply was that he was tank healing. I said, “that’s what the Disc Priest is for” and he replied “no, they raid heal. They do not have enough HPS to tank heal.” I was floored. Is that really the direction that disc has gone?

  11. #11 by Velendrood on June 10, 2010 - 12:01 pm

    In my guild we have a few people who run the heals, depending on if the GM/Heal Lead. I always get a kick ut of what our disc priest’s assignment is. They have included “that thing you do”, “save the world”, and “HOLY NOOOOVAAAA”. We have a relaxed healing team, good senses of humor, makes it all much more worth it.

  12. #12 by Logtar on June 10, 2010 - 1:48 pm

    I don’t get what the hatred towards disc comes from. I think they are very useful (not just as 25 man bubble spammers) but they are great (save that Hunter that pulled aggro with a pennance cast) reactive healers. I love playing it and I have no encountered the pushback that most other disc seem to get. We have 2 holy and 1 other disc priest, and we have all mixed and done just fine. I guess we are more casual and just don’t get so intense about meters and suck, but if you read skada which measures absortion as well as throughput you will see that disc is just beast when it comes to healing!

  13. #13 by Docatron on June 10, 2010 - 2:44 pm

    “The biggest bonus to disc, though, is that I don’t have this big shiny announcement to the world when I fuck up and die.”

    In cata you can. With 76 talent points at level 85 you can get Penance and still be a towering beacon of fail when you die :)

  14. #14 by Nzete on June 10, 2010 - 6:36 pm

    I was trying to make pve healing specs with the released alpha probationary talents. What I could make of discipline and holy both… each tree ends up with the disc smite talents, 20% hit talented (holy spells), and the fail angel. The choice is smite talents or “when crit by a melee/ranged attack” pvp talents…

  15. #15 by Docatron on June 11, 2010 - 3:22 am

    @Nzete
    Yes, it seems Blizzard is redesigning the Disc priest into a dmg dealing support healer. It looks very interesting indeed.

  16. #16 by korenmolen on June 21, 2010 - 6:28 am

    I’m playing holy. And I think I am never sure whether I am doing the right thing – I can’t provide the *huge* blanket of HoT healing that the druids can, and I’m not tank healing – I’m snipe healing round the raid.

    My heals seem inefficient – I have a lot of overheal – when my figures are compared to a disc priest on WoL, they have massive effective healing through shields – which don’t seem to overheal. I have disc-envy.

    The best thing I can do is my *save you* wings on a tank – every minute if necessary. When it procs, I know I got there in the nick of time, and it was needed to prevent a tank wipe. And when it doesn’t proc, I know the 40% healing buff was appreciated (I hope) by the tank healer.

    Disc seems so much sexier than holy. It has a niche that holy doesn’t seem to. I want more holy priests out there blogging saying how much they love their spec – and whether to take lightwell to train their raid before cata – and talking about points in the current tree to take or not to take, given gear levels and raid comp.

    Fail angel? Erm, yes. That’s me – I can heal from Beyond the Grave! Nothing can stop me now.. *flop*

  17. #17 by Cupofjoe on September 22, 2010 - 5:57 pm

    The spirit of reckoning isn’t a sign you fucked up unless your standing in fire or something. You’re forgetting if the healer dies it’s the tank’s fault, if the tank dies it’s the healer’s fault, if a dps dies it’s their own damn fault.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

