Murphy’s Law of Alting to Help the Guild

Murphy’s Law of Alting to Help the Guild:
The Inevitable Cycle of Guild Composition

Let’s say…you’re a priest.  You enjoy priesting, but you also like to have a well prepared alt to help the guild out in case of Wonky Composition Nights, so you start prepping one that you adore playing.  Alright, so secretly you relish the idea of raiding as another toon sometimes.  You REALLY hope that you’ll get to use your alt at least SOMETIMES.  Anyway.  So let’s say you’re readying a hutner, because your guild is actually really low on hunters.

Just about the time she’s ready, suddenly your guild has 5 hunters.

Oh, well, there’s pugs and stuff, right? Back in the back for now, hunter.  So you go along and soon it seems that your guild is always running short on tanks.  They mysteriously vanish during anything but raid times, and it would be cool to help with off night raids and stuff.  So you get your tank ready to go and…

…suddenly your guild has more tanks than they can shake a stick at.  Not only mains, but also alts, becuase it seems like everyone else in the guild had the same idea you did.  And they’re all paladins.

You keep on priesting.  Suddenly a lowbie alt of yours catches your fancy and next thing you know, you’re plugging away at a druid.  Your guild actually has a dearth of druids.  Oooh, could this be your new Cata main?  What a thought! 

Just as she hits that nearly Northrend home stretch…

…half of your newest recruits are druids, of the 2 specs you favored, and you don’t need any more.

…all this has actually happened to me.  How about YOU guys?  :P

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Steve - Kestrel's Aerie on June 18, 2010 - 1:52 pm

    I’m not worried: No one plays Enhancement Shamans. :P

  2. #2 by Merri on June 18, 2010 - 1:55 pm

    I had the exact opposite problem. I play a mage as my main. We were short on healers, so I leveled a priest. I never got to play my mage again. But then we got short on tanks, so I worked on a prot pally. Now, I bounce between tanking and healing depending on the raid make-up…and am stuck finding pugs for my mage.

    New reader (courtesy of Wow.com) – love the blog!

  3. #3 by Lerali on June 18, 2010 - 2:01 pm

    Ahahaha! Yes! This has happened to me before. I actually started a priest in vanilla in WoW for this reason until suddenly my guild didn’t need another healer.

    Ah well, I’m having fun on her now!

  4. #4 by Stop on June 18, 2010 - 2:05 pm

    This is actually what killed my priest.

    I was all super-thrilled to level my priest for a while because my guild had absolutely none of them. Literally. None. We had 1, and then she got eaten by Dragon Age forever and ever, leaving none.

    I was leveling through dungeons, I was discin’ and bubblin’ and flashhealin’ and watching her dwarfy pigtails spin, and then next thing I know our guild ate another guild and we had like 12 priests, and all of a sudden leveling my priest just didn’t seem so appealing.

    It’s why my current focus alt is a bear druid. If I decide to make him my main, all I have to do is gear him up: he’d be replacing the same role I have right now, AND we have zero bears (he says, wondering if someone is respeccing RIGHT NOW).

  5. #5 by Lerali on June 18, 2010 - 3:18 pm

    @Stop
    We need a lolcat stat!

    ~lol. Im n ur guild respeccing

  6. #6 by Gronthe on June 18, 2010 - 3:31 pm

    @ Steve: Lucky for me I do play Enhancement Shaman! And even though our guild has 3 other resto shamans and NO enhance, they continue to ask me to heal. But I digress.

    I leveled my Shadowy Priest and geared her out and was ready to contribute my rangy dps when asked when BAM! 5 Priests join the guild – - – all Shadow. It was like every Alliance SP joined our guild in a week, and each one better geared than I. No invites for my little altie.

    Obviously the larger the guild the more likely that we all run into this now and again. I think Enhance Shammies and Kitty DPS Druids have a better shot than most at being unique, that’s why I keep my Enhance spec up and ready to go at a moments notice.

  7. #7 by Shayzani on June 18, 2010 - 6:12 pm

    I have one of everything, I’m covered no matter what! =D

  8. #8 by Cynwise on June 18, 2010 - 10:21 pm

    I took my DK twink and started leveling him up to be a tank for our guild, because we were low on tanks.

    Now we have more tanks than sticks can be shaken at.

    No problem, I’ll level my druid. That way we can have a healer, too!

    No shortage of druid healers.

    What do we have a shortage of? That’s right. WARLOCKS.

    I’m like, guys, I’m already doing what I can on that front.

  9. #9 by Melfina the Blue on June 18, 2010 - 10:46 pm

    Well, what I’ve got happening is managing to level the same class as a friend in our guild. We both rolled hunters first, and got them to 80. Our names were even surprisingly similar (Garetia vs Gariath) and we’re both nelves.
    Then he leveled a mage while I RAFed a druid/priest pair and dragged the priest up to 80 (thankfully my mage still languishes at 30).
    Then we both leveled pallies to 80 and now we’re both leveling shaman. And I swear we do not coordinate this in any way, shape, or form. Oh, and our pallies are both Argent Champions and we’re both leveling in Theramore right now (at 42 and 43).
    Obviously I need to get the druid to 80 asap just to be different. At least he’s not a healer at heart.

  10. #10 by b0bbly on June 19, 2010 - 6:53 am

    Mine’s the other way around as GM. We’ve got 5 awesome active hunters. So I close hunter recruitment. 4-5 hunters apply and I politely decline as we don’t need em. Suddenly 4 hunters go inactive and we’re constantly short. I open hunter recruitment, spam every recruit site and channel, nothing. Happens to every class :(
    Now I have a tank, a healer and some dps classes just so I can fill spots. But of course there’s always a shortage of tanks so I never actually get to stop playing my main…

  11. #11 by Bathrobe Bitch on June 19, 2010 - 12:21 pm

    Yep, happened to me in my old guild: needed healers so I rolled a disc. Next thing I know, we had trees, preists and shammies coming out of our ears. lol

    Love your blog, by the way. It makes me giggle. Hard.

  12. #12 by puggingpally on June 19, 2010 - 4:34 pm

    Yep! I switched to my alt balance/resto druid, and we recruited another resto druid the following week, so now I’m pretty much just balance, and of course I have this holy pally I could play if we ever needed…

  13. #13 by Voink on June 19, 2010 - 5:09 pm

    Except for the Druid thing (although he does have a Druid alt he’s levelling as well), this is word for word exacty what has happened to my guild leader.

    His main was a hunter, but he’s been essentially playing his priest as his main due to our healing core being so low and us having 6 million hunters. Previously, he levelled and played his DK tank as his main for a while due to our tank shortage. Now, we have a tank glut, our hunters are mostly inactive but we still have no healers (and the heaers we do have are all priests).

    So yeah.

  14. #14 by swampfoxx on June 20, 2010 - 4:14 am

    I can be thankful to say I’ve never rolled another toon yet, well, not seriously at least. Instead I have rediscovered my disc priest in the Priest PvP world!!! I love it, it’s like another game for me. I find it much harder than the PvE stuff.

    If I was to reroll though I would definately roll a druid because they are the most versitile (mispelled) class in the game.

  15. #15 by Sean R. on June 20, 2010 - 5:14 pm

    To be fair, this actually makes sense if you think about it.

    How will your average guild recruit? Well, they’ll look at their lineup, figure out the holes, and recruit to fill them.

    So while you’re thinking, “Hmm. Guild could really use some good druid healers,” it turns out your guildmaster is thinking the exact same thing.

    A better strategy for prepping alts may be to look at what the second greatest weakness is. So if your guild NEEDS druid healers, but it’s only getting by on melee DPS, now is the time to roll a rogue. By the time you’re leveled up, the following things will have happened.

    1. The guild will have moved to recruit more druids.
    2. Natural attrition will have killed off a few members across the board, and the ‘need for melee DPS’ will have moved from ‘managable’ to ‘desperate’.
    3. Rogues will have been nerfed to heck.
    4. Warrior DPS will now be awesome.
    5. Your forehead will be bright red from how much you’re slapping it.

  16. #16 by Saunder on June 20, 2010 - 8:48 pm

    But the leveling journey and the possibility of using those alts is fun too. In fact it may be more fun than the end of the journey some times (Says the man with 2 x 80 Pallys, and one of each Druid/DK/Hunter and Priest at 80 :D)

    There is also the ability to fill multiple short roles. Noone made me drop my ret spec for prot, but it’s paying off in spades now, and Tanking / Healing, both specs able to handle ICC … Its nice to be needed!

  17. #17 by Armagon on June 21, 2010 - 1:26 am

    I’ve stuck to my Rogue main since Vanilla, but I’ve been Bear Main Tank in Kara for many runs, I’ve been the SoC slave for early Illhoof wipes, I tanked Magtheridon on Warrior and Bear…

    When we had no tanks in very late TBC I levelled my Prot Warrior in parallel to my main and dinged 80 roughly the same time in November 2008 – just to see we were stuffed with tanks again.

    Starting ICC I’ve had to fill in Resto Shamaning a fair bit, killing Sindragos, Prof AND BQL before my main got it – but in the end I managed to get Kingslayer on the main first.

    So, no – not so completely out of luck, but I’ve always just had awesome alts, never really switched mains.

  18. #18 by Endyme on June 21, 2010 - 2:35 pm

    Aww, gee. Now I’m nervous. This has thankfully never happened to me, largely because I don’t keep a whole gaggle of alts, and only one or two at max level. But I just transferred my wanna be Disc priest from my old server and as it stands right now, my guild only has one other main specced Disc priest. That’ll probably change as soon as I hit 80. All of the guild’s shadow priests will suddenly change to be Disc. Yep.

  19. #19 by Forreststump on June 22, 2010 - 10:16 am

    “…all this has actually happened to me. How about YOU guys? :P”

    /nod

  20. #20 by tytalus on June 22, 2010 - 10:47 am

    I think at least half of my alts are responses to either this or experiments I conducted when someone told me X class couldn’t do better. :) I have a semi-Ulduar geared priest who got lots of experience in Naxx when we needed MC’ers. I have a pally tank designed to be ret but tanks all the time now. And, yeah, warlocks…what happened to warlocks, where did they go?

    I am a long way from my first ‘main,’ a nelf hunter. But I’m going to make a new worgen hunter for Cataclysm. I’d make a lock, but werewolf in a dress…hm. Not feeling it.

  21. #21 by Oakshorn on June 22, 2010 - 11:59 am

    My main used to be a hunter… I wanted some variety and the ability to help the raid with something other than just DPS and I don’t really like leveling, so I dual-box leveled a druid and shammy. Specced the druid for tanking and the shammy for Ele / Resto. Bam, all 3 positions covered! I actually switched my main to the druid for tanking since I loved it so much.

    To avoid this issue though, just level a druid! This gives you Ranged or Melee DPS, Healing, or Tanking!

    Druid – the most versatile class out there!

  22. #22 by Katherine on July 25, 2010 - 7:57 pm

    In my guild its the opposite. Every raid night it’s the one act saga of “I have too many alts”.
    Raid Leader: “Which character do you want to bring?”
    Guild Leader: “Oh, what do you need?”
    RL: “I don’t care as there are only 8 of us signed up and we need to PuG a couple.”
    GL: “Oh well I don’t know, I don’t mind.”
    RL: “Well who needs gear?”
    GL: “Well my [class] could use the rep, but I don’t want to make us fail.”
    Everyone: “Just pick one already!”
    GL: “It’s not that easy! I want to be contributing to our success!”

  23. #23 by Daken on July 27, 2010 - 12:13 am

    My main is a hunter but when my guild went through a tank shortage I went and leveled an old… yup, paladin. Now he’s 80 and tanked the first 6 ICC guys when our regular tank got hacked. His dual spec is heals because the last thing my guild needs (and I’m guessing a lot of others are in the same boat) is more melee DPS. My advice if you are considering rolling an alt is to make sure it can play at least two rolls, cos by the time you hit 80 your needs, or you guilds needs, will probably have changed. :p

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

