Warpath

I’ve been on something of a warpath lately and I’m not sure why.  At least, I can’t nail down every reason neatly. 

And by “warpath” I mean “gone completely batshit in various peoples directions”.   It’s the little things that set me off right now.  Take, for example, tomorrow night’s sign ups.  Why do I have officers not signed up?  Why do I have someone in a position of import signed up on an alt despite my no-alt policy? Do you enjoy underminding my authority and making it look like I selectively enforce my rules? God you’re a silly git who hasn’t evn thought of it that way, I bet.  AMBER SMASH RAWR RAWR.

Ahem.  These are all problems that should be addressed face to face.  And they will be dragged out at the next officer meeting, I assure you.  But in the meantime I’m this tightly wound ball of Angry.  This is not a good time for me to be Angry at WoW, not when I’m weighing other real life passions and going “you know if I gave up WoW I could have more pony timez!!!!!” 

I don’t understand things like “well I don’t need anything on this character” as a reason to not attend raids.  Reasons like that just DON’T EXIST for me.  Back in Vanilla WoW, AQ40 held nothing for my paladin.  Nothing.  Not a single item, not when we started the instance and not when we cleared through C’thun trash.    But I attended every single god damned raid becuase you know what?  Other people wanted stuff from there and I enjoyed raiding with my guild.  That is the sort of mindset I have: I raid for fun, and to play with friends.  That is the standard I hold everyone else to, as well.

The more the gold gilt rubs off some players and I see what lies beneath, the unhappier I get.  I’ve gone from having a 25 man guild making some solid headway, to a 10 man guild who can’t get their second, supposedly primary, ICC10 together.  Because people would rather play their alts, no matter how badly we need their mains.   Becuase well if we’re not doing 25s they don’t care (nevermind that canceling the 10 makes it almost impossible to retain the recruits needed for 25s).  Because they don’t want join a partially ocmpleted run and miss out on frost badges on an alt.  Becuase they’re not all exactly like me in thier motivations and I apparently can’t wrap my head around that thought right now.

I think I need to step back, go hug a pony, and try to find my sanity again.  I’d take a break from raiding as well, but then what if raids get canceled becuase I’m not there and then I’m as bad as they are and OMG!!!!1!!eleventy!!!1

…excuse me I’ll be over here trying to stuff chocolate into my mouth so that I at least can’t say anything else overly stupid.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by domni on July 6, 2010 - 3:55 pm

    I’m struggling with this as well. I lead an ICC 25 PuG that is very organized and we’ve run every week since it released. We clear 9/12 every week. But it’s not good enough.

    The week after we kill Putricide, I have people complaining about why we aren’t attempting Sindragosa and demanding that we let them go in the Abom suit on their main, on their alt, etc. for their Shadowmourne quest.

    People get all the loot they want and then start giving me crap about bringing alts because they don’t need anything else. Or they finally get that shiny trinket and they never return. It infuriates me. We spend weeks gearing these people up. Now that you’re strong and powerful, pay your damn dues.

  2. #2 by Mason Rhade on July 6, 2010 - 4:03 pm

    Sorry to hear your on the warpath Amber. Here is hoping everything goes better for you.

  3. #3 by Dave Hancox on July 6, 2010 - 5:57 pm

    I hear ya, our guild is going down the same path and I suspect that its like post/pre release blues.

    Ive been into ICC every week without fail and yes Im tired of it on my main, but I keep running on her as Im in it for the people I raid with.

    Alot of people are messing with alts and stuff and due to the release of the pile of Cata stuff causing a stir of excitement, its hard to keep motivated for the current content.

    So sadly, its something you wont solve no matter what you say/do, as its summer, people are getting tired of the current content and head outside for a break.

    cheers

  4. #4 by Alyriora on July 6, 2010 - 6:45 pm

    peace <3 you're not alone in all this crazy.

  5. #5 by Krikket on July 6, 2010 - 8:30 pm

    That is the sort of mindset I have: I raid for fun, and to play with friends. That is the standard I hold everyone else to, as well.

    I think that many of us feel this way. A good raid environment makes even the most boring of farm content fun, and makes the most frustrating progression easier to take.

    Sadly, everyone has different priorities, and it often makes maintaining a raid environment that’s pleasing for everyone impossible. I hope it gets better for you; I know that the decision to quit raiding on my main for the forseeable future has been a difficult one for me.

  6. #6 by Kazgrel on July 7, 2010 - 8:10 am

    It’s the waning months of this expansion, and folks seem to be “letting themselves go” in wow terms, if that makes any sense. o.o

    I’m even noticing some of this in my current guild, but it isn’t too bad because we tend to have enough folks online that we can pull them in and keep on chugging along.

    I have alts, too, and I wouldn’t mind some extra ICC gear on them, but at this point I’m the complete opposite of many folks in that I’ve realized I’ll replace just about all of my alt’s gear in the first questing zone in Cata. Sure, high end gear we have access to now will help with questing early on, but it’s not like quests have been a challenge in this game as of late. At this point I’d rather only do ICC on my main and use the silly frost badges to make more gold for going into Cata. :-P

  7. #7 by Melfina the Blue on July 7, 2010 - 11:26 am

    *hugs*
    I raid for fun and to see the content, plus I like helping friends. I don’t understand why anyone raids for the purples. The purples are a nice bonus, really, but should a bunch of pixels really be your primary reason to sit in a raid for several hours?

    Oh, avoid wow news for the next few days if you’re on the warpath already. Trust me, it’s almost pushed me to quit and I’m not anywhere near bored or burned out.

  8. #8 by Nzete on July 7, 2010 - 1:55 pm

    Large amounts of dark chocolate, maybe a bottle of wine, a bubble bath, time with baby alts, hug a pony, tell cranky tank that he needs to give you a nice back rub.

    Maybe all of the above. Repeatedly.

    Small things make life better.

  9. #9 by Xeppe on July 8, 2010 - 2:48 am

    Calendar fails make XEPPE-RAGE.
    Go straight for the gin, stuff the ponies.

  10. #10 by Cloee on July 8, 2010 - 5:54 am

    cheered me up that I am not alone with the “omgwhydoihavetosignupatall” issue … really made me feel better … until i checked the raidplaner today

    back to rage !

  11. #11 by Eristhan on July 8, 2010 - 7:04 pm

    Tell me if you can fix that issue. I’ve got the same problem.

  12. #12 by Voink on July 10, 2010 - 9:29 pm

    You have some empathy and understanding from me and much of my guild, I’d think. Summer blues, people coming and going have stalled our progress in ICC in 10 and 25.

  1. Bits and pieces « Kiss My Alas

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

