Things You Should Not Tank With

I was digging through my screenshot folder when I ran into my actual reasons for not tree-druiding in pugs anymore.  Here are the three gentlemen I ran into.  On the same.  Fucking.  Day.

GOOGLE.  USE IT, MOTHERFUCKERS.  If you have BoA gear, you should really know better.  Or at least know where you can learn better.

And last but not least, just for the fun of it, my very own DK tank:

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by ecclesiasticaldiscipline on August 3, 2010 - 11:05 pm

    I guess I worry less about gear than I do about skill….and spec. Don’t get me wrong, leveling in the DF, I’ve had a huge amount of useless tanks. But the problem doesn’t seem to be item fail as much as arrogance and stupidity.

  2. #2 by Xerian on August 4, 2010 - 3:21 am

    Tell me the name of that belt. NAO. :D

  3. #3 by Teoita on August 4, 2010 - 4:47 am

    I liked the heart tbh…

  4. #4 by Kazgrel on August 4, 2010 - 8:29 am

    BoA gear works great for leveling as a tank…if said tank is a bear. :)

    I can sorta forgive the paladin in the second pic there, but the DK with that healadin belt…DURR.

  5. #5 by Analogue on August 4, 2010 - 8:36 am

    I’ve worn some just plain wrong stuff while leveling; if you don’t get a replacement for, say, bracers for a while, sometimes you’ll take one that has a dumb stat, like int for a dk, because it’s a huge armor and stamina upgrade. Yeah, don’t go tank heroics with this crap but leveling? Most of the time it’s fine.

    On the other hand, I doubt you’re inspecting every tank you run with for poor items so I expect these guys were made of fail, and that’s why you noticed the gear.

  6. #6 by Ambrosine on August 4, 2010 - 8:49 am

    @ecclesiasticaldiscipline – Usually along with utter fail in the gear department comes utter fail in the skill department. Not always, of course, but often enough. Half the reason I gave up on these tanks in particular was their inability to compensate for bad gear by getting out of bad stuff. The end boss of Utgarde Keep is not kind to squishy tanks. Oh, and their tendency to run off while I was drinking.

    >:|

  7. #7 by Ambrosine on August 4, 2010 - 8:54 am

    @Analogue – One of the best tanks I had for UK was a druid who accidentally tanked in his resto gear for half the run. I didn’t notice until an afk break where I wanted to oogle another bear’s gear for comparison’s sake.

    I don’t inspect everyone, you’re right–just the ones who eat my entire mana bar 3 trash pulls in.

  8. #8 by Aggrazel on August 4, 2010 - 9:34 am

    My warrior carried a healadin shield for a while because it was also better in every other stat than the shield I had before. Sometimes when you’re leveling, and especially when you make the transition from say Azeroth to Outland, gear gets weird like that.

    Now if they wore the crap gear and were a bad tank, thats one thing. But having int on a warrior item doesn’t automatically mean that warrior is a dumbass, could be that was the best thing he could find at the time.

  9. #9 by tytalus on August 4, 2010 - 12:00 pm

    Nice belt — pulling mobs with love! :)

  10. #10 by Asa on August 4, 2010 - 12:20 pm

    About the heirloom gear, I kinda find it means not bothering to keep up with my other gear either. It feels like I’ve got some slack when it comes to my feet when I know my shoulders are OP. On the other hand, when everything’s up for replacement, I’ll go through it all and see that my boots really are getting old… and oh and look… pretty new ones if I just do that 15-part quest chain on the other continent.

  11. #11 by LabRat on August 4, 2010 - 2:38 pm

    Yeah, especially in the level transitions between expansions I often had a few items that were really healadin stuff just because of the armor and stam over what I had…. BUT I also know what the hell I’m doing and don’t give a healer a reason to peer at my gear wondering what the hell is wrong with me and how many branches of the Stupid Tree I hit on the way down falling out.

    That, and my healer on my current altie tank is my husband, and he is not exactly going to be shy about telling me I’m sucking his mana dry and need to visit the AH.

  12. #12 by Forreststump (currently in hibernation) on August 4, 2010 - 3:36 pm

    I can almost excuse the boots in the first example. +58 stam at that level is a good thing – the rest of the stats are wasted, though.

    But yeah, this is a real eye-gouger of a post.

  13. #13 by Katherine on August 4, 2010 - 8:12 pm

    I had a healer (in feral gear no less) once complain that I had less health than her on my bear. I wasn’t failing or anything, and I was stacking both agi and stam.

    And yeah, it is impossible to find new bracers sometimes >_<"

  14. #14 by Koch (Aszune) on August 7, 2010 - 9:44 am

    I am more forgiving – as long as they still do their job right. And … I have an excuse for the paladin. Honest. A fair one.

    See.. I have a paladin tank in that type of gear at level 70. She is decked out in supreme acceptable TBC tanking items – which for a paladin consisted of stamina, defence and spellpower. It was only with the last patch before WotLK that it all changed to proper stats like stamina, stamina and stamina.. err.. I mean… defence and strength. If that person didn’t play after patch *mumblemumblemumble* and only recently logged in – this is what they have.

    It’s still rubbish and should be replaced by a quick trip to the auction house, but at least it’s understandable.

  15. #15 by Greth (Suramar) on August 9, 2010 - 9:56 pm

    At least your tanks had gear. I managed to get a gem of a DK come equipped with a necklace, cloak, caster wrists, the standard DK trinkets and sigil, Blue DK starter pants, and a level 44 epic axe.
    The kicker is that this is at 70, and he was trying to tank UK. I honestly thought my UI was glitching, until he started taking hits from normal mobs that ate a third of his life bar. As a healer, it was literally impossible to keep him alive. I left eventually, but I honestly can’t think of a defense for not wearing gear.

  16. #16 by Nzete on August 17, 2010 - 8:55 am

    Two word for plate tanks trying to tank UK and Nexus… cobalt set… see your local blacksmith.

  17. #17 by Cliff on July 2, 2013 - 4:47 pm

    You truly created quite a few remarkable ideas throughout your blog post, “Things
    You Should Not Tank With | I Like Bubbles”. I may end up coming back
    to ur site soon. Thank you -Claude

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

