Why Spirit Beasts Are Rage Inducing

Despite my new Survival off spec, I am still BM4LYFE.  The one pet that I have been after, for months and months and months…has been Loque.  I have seen him once, moments after he was tamed by another hunter.   

Why Spirit Beasts Are Rage Inducing #1
There’s several (SEVEN FOR LOQUE OH MY GOD WHY) mother fucking spawn points scattered across a large zone for all but 1 of them.

Seriously, Blizz?  I once spent a good, oh I don’t know, 7 hours camping Humar back in the day when he was more than just a pretty skin.  It wasn’t too onerous becuase I sat in one spot and entertained myself with friends while we waited.  He had only one spawn–I’d know the moment he popped and also the moment I missed him, if someone else beat me to the punch.  Even if I didn’t get him it wasn’t the end of the world–I’d have a good idea of when to come back and could safely wander off in the meantime and pretend to have something better to do.

You can’t do that with the spirit beasts.  Take Loque.  There’s so many spawn points for him, scattered so widely across the zone, that you can miss him and not even know it.  Did someone just tame him?  Are you wasting your time with no chance for him to spawn?  Did you move on just a smidge too soon?  The other hunter in the zone left–did he get him, or give up?  Did that belfadin who has been killing you repeatedly while he mines kill him out of spite?

You can never tell…so YOU MUST KEEP LOOKING. 

….FOREVER.

Why Spirit Beasts Are Rage Inducing #2

You’ve been hunting for hours.  Finally, you spot him–your moonfiring quarry.  You start to tame and….oh no.  Oh no.  FUCK.  FUCK.  GOD DAMN IT ALL TO HELL.

Tames can be fucked with.  People are jerks.  End of story.

Why Spirit Beasts Are Rage Inducing #2.5

Making Loque part of the Frostbitten achievement was a cruel move, Blizzard.  Fuck you sideways.

Why Spirit Beasts Are Rage Inducing #3

You will find and tame every spirit beast but the one you want.

I’m 2/4, if you’re wondering. 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Anna on August 18, 2010 - 9:14 am

    You might look into the addon NPCScan >.> It makes noises when it detects a spawn in the zone that you’re in. I’ve not yet started looking for Skoll because of stable space, but I really want to tame him eventually.

  2. #2 by Ambrosine on August 18, 2010 - 9:25 am

    I have Silver Dragon, which works quite nicely…even if it will randomly trigger on things like the croc in Dalaran and make me flail.

  3. #3 by Grimmtooth on August 18, 2010 - 9:33 am

    I wanted Gondria above all others, and spent some serious time hunting his sparkley butt. I used a number of addons to make patrolling his spawn points easier on me, and since I’m a skinner I availed myself of the local resources in Z’D.

    A few differences, of course. NOT on a PvP server (FUCK YAH). Z’D is not the haven of asshats that Sholazar is (too many gathering nodes). And of course, not part of that retarded cheesement.

    NPCScan does this thing where it knows where a rare is SUPPOSED to be, so if it sees Loq in Dal, it just pops up a line in the chat frame “saw Loq, but we’re in dal, so it’s cool, that must be a pet.”

    I only wanted one Spirit beast, so Loq can go play with himself. Hope you get him eventually.

  4. #4 by Linedan on August 18, 2010 - 9:36 am

    Don’t forget #4: After you go through all the pain and time of taming your spirit beast, he still does about half the damage of a garden-variety wolf that any schmuck (like me) can go and grab in any zone.

  5. #5 by Jaedia on August 18, 2010 - 9:52 am

    Plonk your Hunter over the white gorillas, log into a herbing/mining character, install NPCScan, the second it pops QUICK RELOG. Guaranteed for it to pop for anything but your Hunter, and it’s how I found him! :p

  6. #6 by Steve - Kestrel's Aerie on August 18, 2010 - 10:54 am

    Oh what the hell…I’m gonna log in RIGHT NOW and see if Loque’s around…

  7. #7 by Fuubaar on August 18, 2010 - 11:29 am

    Even funnier is that Loque has a really nice hunter loot table when he’s killed & skinned >.>

    How Ironic…

  8. #8 by Forreststump (awakening from hibernation) on August 18, 2010 - 11:36 am

    I tamed Loque the first day I looked.

    OK, not really.

    The tag made me do it.

  9. #9 by Jasyla on August 18, 2010 - 11:37 am

    I hate spirit beasts.

    #2.5 is the worst for me. I have a feeling I’m never going kill him, or any of the Sholazzar spawns for that matter, because there are always hunters wathcing for them with much more determination than I have. I’d never kill one that someone was actively taming – that’s just cruel.

  10. #10 by Steve - Kestrel's Aerie on August 18, 2010 - 11:46 am

    Update: Two circuits of Sholozar, no Loque. Headed over to Zim’Torga; first circuit of ZD and there was Gondria. Had to tame her twice though: Forgot to dump a pet first!

    Not Loque…but at least I can once again use my primary spec with pride. ;)

  11. #11 by Calbry on August 18, 2010 - 12:00 pm

    4 for 4 on spirit beasts! Perseverance pays (Silverdragon helps)!

    But totally agree with Linedan above: your reward is bragging rights only, since actually using these extremely-hard-to-get pets gimps your dmg compared a generic wolf.

    I understand Blizz not wanting to give them *extra* dmg so hunters felt they had to go BM and collect spirit beasts; but they could at least make them equivalent to the universal choice for raiding pets.

    Hope that changes in Cata.

  12. #12 by Steve - Kestrel's Aerie on August 18, 2010 - 12:30 pm

    Funny thing, but SilverDragon didn’t pop until after I’d spotted Gondria, landed, and dismissed my wolf. (And then I tamed the cat…and realized I needed to stick the wolf in the stable.)

    No luck on Arcturis or Skoll though. :(

  13. #13 by tehshiv on August 18, 2010 - 12:34 pm

    can we get a an exotic please that does swipe? I’m tired of my diseased bear.

  14. #14 by Ambrosine on August 18, 2010 - 1:33 pm

    @Jaedia – I actually found Skoll while herbing on my druid. :D

    @Steve2 – Oddly enough I had a similar experience with Skoll, where SilverDragon didn’t ping until I landed. It used to work much better before–I wonder if I need to check for updates…

    @Linedan – Gondria, now Softpaw, actually gets a raiding spot for Twilight Sparkle Party. It makes tracking her location/curren ball juggling much easier, and I never have to worry about the bloody stairs. She also comes out for HoR and any other Heroic where the tank goes ARGH STUPID HUGE DINO. Or when I feel like having pew pew moonfire around.

    BM hunters–you already gimp your DPS, now have this really awesome, hard to get pet that GIMPS IT EVEN MORE! YAAAAY!

    …yet I want one anyway. Damn it.

  15. #15 by Kestrel on August 18, 2010 - 1:51 pm

    My SD is current, so I don’t think that’s it. Funny thing…when I was leveling my Shaman, it went off ALL the damned time. There are a LOT more rares in the old world than in in Outland and Northrend combined. Hell, I think there are more rares in any one zone in the old world than in either OL or NR. And yeah…SD was whamming all the time in those zones. Too bad there’s no achievement for killing rares there.

  16. #16 by Echo on August 19, 2010 - 8:10 am

    Got it 5mins after I started looking. Hope this helps.

    bwahahaha

    I’ve got kind guildies and one mage spent 5mins sheeping skoll for me so I could get my slow ass over there and tame him

  17. #17 by Sarai on August 19, 2010 - 5:50 pm

    I went through all that on my troll hunter, he was my first 80 and still doesn’t have Loque (he did get Gondria tho). A few months ago on my then-77 Nelf hunter, I was just flying around questing, not even looking for him, and I ran smack into him. Had to fly all the way across Sholazar to stable her moonstalker and then get back, but he was still there and I got him.

    I think the point of this is- quit looking for him, and you’ll likely find him.

  18. #18 by TheGrumpyElf on August 20, 2010 - 12:57 pm

    You are two more then me then. I have certain pets because I like them or need them. Spider for PvP, Wolf for raiding, Turtle for tanking and Cat because I am attached to it as it was my first pet and the only one I used all the way up to 80 which leaves me only one spot. So I have never even tried for a spirit beast. They would be really nice to have if I had the space… and the patience. Both of which I am lacking.

    I would most likely rage if someone came along and killed one as I was trying to tame it. There are way to many people that play this game that love to annoy other people for no other reason then they know it annoys them. That is another reason I would never go for them.

  19. #19 by http://stunninginteriordesign.webstarts.com/ on February 18, 2013 - 7:21 pm

    “Why Spirit Beasts Are Rage Inducing | I Like Bubbles” seriously
    enables me personally ponder a little bit extra. I really loved each and every
    single component of this blog post. I appreciate it -Markus

  1. That’s the Spirit (Beast)! | Kestrel's Aerie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

