Friday Flowchart: Feral Tanking

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Llani on October 1, 2010 - 8:46 am

    Hahaha….definitely brought a smile to my face today! =)

    I esp. like the “/jumps off cliff” part!

  2. #2 by Cynwise on October 1, 2010 - 8:55 am

    The answer to “Swipe Spam is kinda boring” shouldn’t be “jump off a cliff.”

    Sadly, it seems totally logical in this context.

  3. #3 by tehshiv on October 1, 2010 - 10:17 am

    As if there were any remaining to jump off cliffs…I mean seriously, when was the last time you even saw a feral tank?

  4. #4 by Achloryn on October 1, 2010 - 10:23 am

    Oh god. I finally have a tag.. What have I done..

  5. #5 by TheGrumpyElf on October 1, 2010 - 10:23 am

    Awesome flowchart, had a smile on my face for sure.

    I jumped off the cliff with bear pugging a long time ago. Aggro hungry fools that spam AoE before I even get to the mobs. I only tank for friends now.

    With these coming changes I do not even think I will do that.

    /jumps off cliff

    Switching to Resto full time on my Druid I guess. I’ll miss my bear and the most awesome dance in the game. :(

  6. #6 by lissanna on October 1, 2010 - 10:27 am

    I tried tanking on Beta. I kindof felt like I was randomly mashing buttons. It was a strange feeling.

  7. #7 by Ambrosine on October 1, 2010 - 10:27 am

    @tehshiv – /points at Achloryn

    :D

    @lissanna – Isn’t that how one tanks anyway?

    /flees

  8. #8 by lissanna on October 1, 2010 - 10:28 am

    I’d also like to add – the flowchart for beta tanking looks almost exactly like what beta tanking felt like when I tried it at ~84, lol.

  9. #9 by Achloryn on October 1, 2010 - 10:33 am

    @TehShiv really? Don’t you think this might’ve been… i dunno… WRITTEN by a feral tank druid? I run into them relatively often still. It does seem, however, that all the feral tanks i’ve come across are of the absurdly geared kind (full t10 or more) so that might be why you don’t run across that many these days. They just hit their one frosty and they’re out.

    @TheGrumpyElf I really don’t think it’ll be all that bad… of course i’m probably more patient than your average pug tank these days. xD

  10. #10 by Forreststump on October 1, 2010 - 10:33 am

    This is going to be a project in remedial education for the DPS class players, and will be especially painful with those who didn’t play pre-Wrath (i.e. no concept of crowd control or ordered killing).

  11. #11 by tytalus on October 1, 2010 - 11:38 am

    Maybe next week’s flowchart should be about the results.

    Blizzard: “hey guys, let’s make tanking exciting again! let’s bring back CC!”

    20 million drooling idiot DPS spamming Blizzard with “wtf instances are horrible” later…

    Blizzard: “this is a pain. let’s give one tank class good spammable AOE threat! make sure it’s not warriors.”

    Warrior tanks: /wrists (again)

    The other tank classes: … /level alts /offspec dps

    One happy tank class: /cheer FOTM!

  12. #12 by Ambrosine on October 1, 2010 - 11:57 am

    So…AoE Icy Dick Punch, go?

  13. #13 by Nzete on October 2, 2010 - 9:07 am

    I think that makes it officially “cat is easier than bear” oh my goodness gracious…. surely there is some sort of happy medium between swipe spam and “cat is easier”.

  14. #14 by warsongpriest on October 2, 2010 - 10:04 pm

    Is it bad that I only come here for the flow charts? =o

    :) Love the blog!

  15. #15 by Zoquara on October 4, 2010 - 11:22 pm

    HAHAHAH!! OMG, so agreed!

  16. #16 by Eberron of Ravenholdt on October 5, 2010 - 1:11 am

    It’ll be less gruesome for those of us bear tanks who also play warrior tanks. While at 80 the rotation feels like it’s missing something (It is: Thrash) it also plays a lot like a warrior rotation. This will make people quit in droves, heh. XD

  17. #17 by Achloryn on October 5, 2010 - 8:11 am

    @Eberron – Thrash is going to be more for trash than bosses. (Affects everyone within X yards with a bleed). Our boss rotation won’t change up much from the clusterfuck I portrayed above… and you’re right, bears who have experience with warrior tanks right now probably won’t have too much of an issue with it, but current bears who have only known bears right now are going to have a lot of o.O going on. It’s the same issue that’s going on with Pally tanks really.

  18. #18 by Forreststump on October 5, 2010 - 9:14 am

    Flowchart gets mention over at Insider:

    http://wow.joystiq.com/2010/10/04/the-daily-quest-four-point-oh-dear/

    Enjoy the traffic spike?

  19. #19 by Achloryn on October 5, 2010 - 7:16 pm

    Man… they shoulda mentioned my blog too since i’m the one who wrote it. :| oh well!

  20. #20 by Isley - Stormscale on October 6, 2010 - 11:30 am

    /swipe
    /try to swipe again
    /why cant I swipe
    /cry
    /jumps off cliff
    /flight form

    And I am out bitches!

  1. 4.0.1: Feral tanking « Paw Prints at the Portal
  2. 4.0.1 Survival (Class) Guides « Jaded Alt

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

