1. #1 by Gwenyth Love on October 14, 2010 - 11:40 am

    Your BM hunter comments exactly express my frustration…thank you for putting it into better words than I ever could so I could share this with my guildies who had no idea why I was frustrated.

  2. #2 by TheGrumpyElf on October 14, 2010 - 12:44 pm

    I’ve been playing with my MM spec mostly being that was my raiding spec and I wanted to get ready with it but I plan on getting some BM time in being it is indeed raid viable now based on early returns. The focus thing does take some getting used to but one thing I can say is at least it is not as bad a rogue energy.

    I’ve adapted this as a starting point rotation to expand on in MM. You can replace Chimera Shot with Kill Command for BM, which is what I plan to do, and then work on getting it better from there.

    SrS(if needed), CS, SS, SS, ArS, ArS, SS, SS, back to the start.

    It has already evolved from there some, but that is what I started with as a mild rotation and am expanding from there to see what else I can do. Basically this leaves me with focus all the time so should I need to adapt, such as movement, I have some extra focus for a moving instant. It will keep you from being focus starved and not ever let you be at max focus. So, as I mentioned, it is a nice starting point.

    Nice bugs on ICC, I’m going in there tonight, at least now I will know what to watch out for.

  3. #3 by Achloryn on October 14, 2010 - 2:00 pm

    But Amber… You forgot the bug of the invisible mob on Deathbringer’s Rise.. of course, Solt falling through a ship that was (to the rest of us) VERY clearly still there was immensely hilarious.

    And the fact that we did all of that with only about a 1/3 functional DBM was still kinda nice, but I think we just have the feeling for how the timings work and all of that now anyway… except for some of the things like chilled to the bone… Yes I know you can’t watch a debuff you can’t see, but still you lived so you must not’ve been too bad.

  4. #4 by Katherine on October 14, 2010 - 3:58 pm

    Not that I play a hunter (I’ve had lots of hunter alts that never got past level 40, it’s my fav altaholic class), but focus makes more sense than mana. My partner was constantly saying while levelling his hunter “AMG I need to stack int and spirit!!!” while I went -_-”

    Ty for the ICC 4.oh.noes advice.

  5. #5 by Kel on October 15, 2010 - 1:17 am

    I think I’m in the minority, because I love focus. I’m still in the habit of spamming SS instead of arcane shot, so I’m almost never out of it, and it seems to regen pretty fast when I do run out. This patch has resparked my addiction to the class.

    I do agree about the pewpew lazer kitty. Heal might be useful for solo play (maybe), but I miss my spirit beasts’ moonfire. Although discovering that I can make my bears take a nap almost makes up for it.

  6. #6 by Echo on October 15, 2010 - 6:39 am

    I’ve wow stalked you and I has questions. I looked at the logs and armory’d. I chose the festergut fight to analyse because it’s pretty much the closest to stand and nuke.

    Armory wise – you’re just below hitcap – which unless I’m being completely retarded is 246. Pets only inherit whole numbers and they always round down so it’s always best to be just above than just below. It’s not clear from the armory (and it can bug) but have you reforged any gear? I think the current wisdom is to reforge haste -> Mastery although I’m personally holding out for some caps to become apparent before I do so. Also its worth playing around with your gems as I’m sure you could probably grab a few more set bonuses and nightmare tears aren’t that great anymore. Everything else seems fine.

    Fight wise did you have exhaustion? You were a little unlucky on fight duration – you’d have been able to get another TBW in if it had been like 20-30s more. As you say Serpent Sting your uptime wasn’t great and that impacts the rest of your dps. Relatively low KS usage I’m a little torn as to when the best point to use the TBW would have actually been. At the end of the fight you’d have been a killshot machine gun. I think that might have to be a consideration for BM hunters going forward – whether to delay a TBW for sub 20% or risk trying to get 2 in.

    Pet choice I have no idea atm – you might have got more out of a ravager/worm (4% physical) although it’s hard to say as neither of those are Ferocity. Your raid group certainly would have benefited. I haven’t seen any meaningful theorycrafting although I’ve heard rumours that exotics may be slightly better in which case devilsaur was probably a safe bet.

    Ok so I totally didn’t expect to Wall of text you. Hope some of it’s relevant. I’m hoping with Mastery at least all 3 specs will be competitive at 85 – from the looks of things BM might struggle now, especially with the lack of mastery on gear.

  7. #7 by Ambrosine on October 15, 2010 - 9:11 am

    @Echo – I am a smidge under hit cap, but it’s negligable. I can re-forge and go back over, but I was having fun messing around mastery. I was reforging (some) crit into mastery with the idea that haste plays into focus regen.

    I don’t think the physical DPS boost would help our raid as much as a spell one, not with the physical DPS classes lagging so far behind. I’m still somewhat limited anyway becuase my freshly tamed beasties are all sitting at level 77, so it’s Devilsaur or nothing for the moment.

    I’m used to my old UI’s highlighting of Serpent Sting when it’s up–right now it’s dropping and I’m not even noticing. I’m flailing with my shot weaving in general, though, so low SS uptime and missed KS is…not surprising.

    My old habit was to TBW right off the bat so that I can use it again by the end of the fight–however we’re dropping bosses in record time right now, so you might have a point about waiting might be the thing to do….for now.

    Much to adapt to!

  8. #8 by Echo on October 15, 2010 - 10:39 am

    I’m probably going to build a BM main spec and a MM spec just because survival looks more retarded right now with no cobra shot. Plus apparently it’s got more focus issues.

    I’d probably get some blue gems on the go at the moment instead of reforging for hit. I’ve got full crit gems as I was socketed for arp and I’d rather pick up agi/mastery than crit/haste. I’m just waiting for someone smarter than me to post the points at which haste becomes worth less than crit etc – then I’ll start reforging and will tailor my set towards them. The biggest frustration has been my polearm that I was going to use for a pet tanking spec as it had no arp on it suddenly being waaaay better than my current togc25 polearm.

    I’m also waiting for a decent addon to come out to prompt me with shot priority like I did when my shammy was enhancement.

    Ho hum, Brave New World and all that

  9. #9 by supaflah on October 15, 2010 - 2:33 pm

    YAY, they turned hunters into ranged rogues. How about they just give us combo points while they’re at it?

  10. #10 by Fannon on October 16, 2010 - 11:33 am

    @supaflah: No, they gave the combo points to the Paladins. :)

  11. #11 by Ary on October 16, 2010 - 1:58 pm

    Yea I feel the same about the kitty, was telling my boyfriend that my kitty went from being a boomkin to being a shaman and he laughed. xP However I enjoy focus, I’ve only specced BM since the patch, which is weird for me cause I’ve been MM my entire Hunter life (besides just before patch, where I went BM just to mess around) I haven’t found a rotation yet, or at least partial one, lol, it just seems to be spam everything to keep focus down and CDs up.

  12. #12 by Rilgon Arcsinh on October 21, 2010 - 10:55 am

    I am a smidge under hit cap, but it’s negligable.

    Not as BM. Your pet is at 7.0% Hit/not expertise capped because you’re not at 8.0% or better Hit.

    I miss my pew pew moonfire kitty. The heal seems like a lackluster (and far less useful) replacement for a pet skill I used to enjoy based on looks alone.

    Its “pew pew moonfire” attack being removed is the only reason it can be used in a raid now (as it was part of the greater pet changes which allowed previously-worthless pets like Spirit Beasts to be usable raiding pets). Get over it.

  1. casual dating for singles

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

