OM NOM NOM Stormwind

The author of the…very interesting The Gray Place sent this along as a guest post.  <3!

As evidenced by Deathwing sitting atop the majestic towers of
Stormwind (in ur base killin ur dewds…), the Cataclysm is
approaching. This lets me segue into a bit of…*Chris Metzen
voice*
“with the Cataclysm, it brings new content, new
races, and new opportunities for players and new guilds, yadda,
yadda.”
Neat and tidy writing-type-stuff.

But if 15+ years of online gaming has taught me anything, it’s that
nothing in MMOs is neat and tidy. Lets look around at the current
landscape a bit…

You’ve got your tweaker Wrath burnouts who raided TotC10, TotGC10,
TotC25, TotGC25 every single week, you’ve got your emo-wine cooler
drinking-guild hoppers who have \gquit macroed to every keybind,
you’ve got your disgruntled former GMs and officers who have decided
to enter the witness protection program and become random Huntard #6
in some obscure 25 man team. These players are all looking for a new
home and a fresh start come Cataclysm.

I myself fell into such a situation when my guild of 2+ years
collapsed and I found myself at a crossroads. I came from a guild
that I once co-GMed and where I had built of a solid reputation of a
firm but fair raid leader. My players trusted me and I was used to
being one of the senior officers. Then one day, as all such things
come to pass, our guild was done and over.

It was all gone. My automatic raid spot, my reputation, my social
network, my copious strategies via our forums, everything. I imagine
many folks might be in this situation now that Wrath has entered it’s
last gasps. You might be one of them; Standing atop the lonely hill
of memories, shoulders slumped, with your hands in your pockets, going
“well now what?”.

Now my friend. You start over. Here’s a few things you can do to
help yourself in your new guild…

1. One of the biggest mistakes I think you can make when you join a
new guild is to hold it against them that they aren’t your old guild.
That ship has sailed. It may have been great and you might miss it,
but it is OVER. Don’t make a fresh start on a bunch of emo memories,
you’ll just continue to make yourself miserable.

2. Don’t act like a wussy because they don’t kiss your ass or don’t
remember your birthday. I know in your old guild you were “The
Wo/Man”, but here in your new guild your just the “new app”.

When I joined my new guild the VERY first thing said to me in gchat
was a Rogue who told me “Welcome. Please don’t suck.” Now some folks
might get upset by this or think it rude, but instead give them some
of their own shit right back. I happily responded “Hi! I don’t suck,
but I don’t heal Rogues either.”

3. They do not know you as a person or a player. You may have been
known as the tank who single-handedly could tank every boss plus all
their adds in your old guild, but here in your new guild your just
tank #4. It’s your job to show them your skills and determination.

They are not required to give you an automatic raid slot. You have to
promote yourself. Slip a PM to the guild master, let then know that
you’d like a raid position if there’s one open, what raid encounters
you’ve done, old WoL reports, and what you’re doing to work on your
gear. Offer to run five mans, old raids, anything in gchat. Show
them you know what you’re doing. Get to know the officers, raid
leaders, class leads. You don’t need to be a suck up but let them
know that when they need a tank/healer/dps you’re the person to come
too.

4. Be honest in what you want. You may think you want a more
“serious” guild this time around, but can you commit to the tight raid
schedule and the constant performance review? I see this happen a
lot. People always want more than they’re able to give. If your
happy with a beer and pretzels guild then join a beer and pretzels
guild. If you like to role-play then join a RP guild and get your
slurp on in Goldshire. Don’t put yourself in a position your going to
fail at. It’s intellectually dishonest.

5. Just because your new doesn’t mean you need to be meek. I’m not a
hugely talkative guy most days, but you have to make an effort to be
an actual member in your new guild. You don’t need to “entertain”
guild chat with your synopsis on Buffy: The Vampire Slayer season 14,
but just don’t sit there afraid to say anything. I always see people
complain “nobody talks to me in my new guild”, but sometimes
you have to make the first step (HORROR: I sound like mother!). If
you’ve got a question ask it, see if anyone wants to hit a five man,
add a comment to the ongoing “who is hotter…” discussion, hell even
a simple TWSS goes a long way in breaking the ice. You don’t need to
be mister/misses popularity but 90% of the time your guildies will be
more comfortable around you and you around them, if you’ve at least
made the smallest human contact with each other.

Your old guild is dead and gone. Deal with it.

You—-> yourself—-> as a person, will largely be responsible
for how happy you are in your new guild. Don’t set yourself up to
fail. Give it an honest shake (TWSS), if it doesn’t work out then
bail and keep looking till you find something that does work. Life is
too short to be unhappy playing a video game.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Christopher S. Penn on November 2, 2010 - 11:32 am

    The other option is: start your own guild. Start over, but if you must do it YOUR way, do so uncompromisingly and start your own guild with like minded folks if you can find them.

  2. #2 by mrfenris on November 3, 2010 - 8:10 am

    There is a certain scene in Serpent in the Rainbow that involves a hammer, a chisel?, a chair, and a man’s testicles. That’s how I feel whenever I think about starting my own guild.

    But I am glad people have the stupidity er fortitude to start their own guilds. This way I can leech off their efforts and have a place to raid.

  3. #3 by Morrighan on November 10, 2010 - 7:44 am

    Thats a REALLY good post.

    Most of the people who fail a Trial in our guild fail to engage with the guild practically and/or socially – points 4 and 5 on this list are VITAL.

    I’d add a couple of things to the above:

    – Even if you’re shy about putting yourself in the spotlight in guild chat or raids, be ONLINE. In most guilds the Officers will make an effort to include new Trials and members in activities. If you don’t log in we kinda can’t. The amount of people who join as a Trial and are barely if ever seen again astounds me.
    – Theres a fine line between being assertive and being arrogant. I’ll never forget the player in an old guild who, less than a week out of Trial, suggested himself for Shadowmourne. I guess some guilds might value his higher dps over the long service of dedicated members – but I doubt its many.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

