Identity.

It amuses me every so often to leave a comment on someone’s post and see not only the name “Ambrosine” but also a picture of my paladin.  Of course in the days of this blog’s birth I was a holy paladin, and that was my character, but that hasn’t been the case for years.

And yet I hesitate to change it.  Sure, that’s not who I am in game at the moment–but it’s the name I wore in game for 4 years.  She was my first character, after all.

Since I’m generally referred to as Bubbles or Amber, I’m almost content to let it lie.  Sure, it may confuse people at first when I comment (lol like I comment much), but my blog is always linked, and it’s about the only life my paladin has left.  For various reasons she’ll likely remain 80 forever. 

There’s also the simple fact that I don’t know how to change it.  Derp derp.

, ,

  1. #1 by Ari on February 23, 2011 - 12:31 pm

    If you do want to change your Avatar

    Users > Your Profile > Change your Gravatar (on the top right of the screen) > Choose from this List:
    Change your Gravatar / Avatar

    * Upload a new image from your computer
    * Use your webcam to take a snapshot of yourself
    * Give us a link to a picture online to use
    * Use your last WordPress.com Avatar (if you had one)

    Change Display Name (Nickname)

    1. Access your User Profile
    2. Change the value next to Display name publicly as under Basic Details
    3. Click Update Profile.

    But then your Identity is yours, even if you’re a Priest masquerading as a Paladin.

  2. #2 by RustySpork on February 26, 2011 - 11:37 am

    This happens to me a lot. I started out with my mage as my main during Wrath, then switched about five times. So, the guildies that were around for awhile would call me “Lowink,” my mage’s name while the new ones would call me “Betancore,” my new DK main’s name. Then I moved to a guild that goes mostly by first names, and it all worked out. I think that’s the best solution.

  3. #3 by Hidebound on February 27, 2011 - 9:35 am

    A guildmate (an extreme altoholic) conveniently got around the whole naming thing by using the same base name for each alt so no matter what toon he logged in on he was easily recognized and could be called the same name.

    …wish I’d have thought of that..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

