The First Character

In a weak attempt to write something WoW related during my DA2 obsession (although in the very least this shall continue to be a Rift free zone), I’m going to snag WI’s Breakfast Topic and run with it.

Some (though not all!) people remember their first characters.  But how many still play them?  Not I.

Ah, Ambrosine.  Despite my sometimes strained realtionship with holy paladin healing, up until Cata she had always made it to level cap and always been played as my main, at least for a time.

Not so with this expansion.  She sits at 80 and will forever: the melee and tanking roles are taken by my DK, and if I’m going to heal, it will be with my priest.  For the first time in many years Ambrosine is really, truly retired.

Ironically this is not the end of Ambrosine as we know her. 

When I transferred Ambrosine off my original server, I rolled a name holder.  For reasons lost to my poor memory it was a DK, not a level 1 paladin, and at some point I…decided to level her.  And RP her as my paladin, had worse come to worse.

DK-Ambrosine is actually responsible for for Vainglory as we know her.  If I hadn’t been enjoying the hell out of DW frost on Ambro, it wouldn’t have occured to me to level the DK I had on Azgalor.

Her spirit lives on!

…and now back to more Dragon Age.  Also, we still need DPS and another tank.  Anyone?  Bueler?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Kotakh on March 16, 2011 - 8:38 am

    My first toon was Kotak the tauren druid :)

    He later became Kotakh the NE druid when i decided to join some poor lost girl looking for friends on Azgalor.

  2. #2 by Gina on March 16, 2011 - 8:42 am

    dooiiiiitt join Rift like the rest of your dual mmo obsession-base :) it’s really shiny! the grass moves in the freaking wind. IN THE WIND!!!!! RAWR
    DA2 though hmmmm never even thought of it…

    ahem, I still have my first ever wow toon though she’s sitting on the backburner @ 84. Funny thing is that name is so sacred to me that in Rift it was my first / main toon’s name without blinking :) Orangina will forever be me, funny to think it all started as Orangina in Guild Wars, then I got a mac…then WoW (no GW on mac) Ah history :):)

  3. #3 by Nebet on March 16, 2011 - 11:20 am

    <–*points to screenname* My first character. She was a troll priest until I transferred her, though; basically her hair and skin swapped colors when she became a draenei.

    For a while I had quit WoW and gave my account away to a friend, and then later came back to the game (on a different account) and rolled another troll priest. Much later, when Battle.net came out, I was happy to learn that I could hook my old account to my Battle.net account also, and then I could transfer characters from one account to the other — before I couldn’t do that because my original account was in an ex-boyfriend’s name, since he had bought it for me waaaaay back when.

    Except then I had a surplus of troll priests. What was I going to do with two? So when Math invited me to come play on Azgalor, that was an awfully neat answer to my puzzle, and besides, I think Nebet (as a character, not as me) might be a better fit for a draenei than a troll, anyway.

    She’s obviously not really my main anymore (do I even have a main anymore? lol) but I’m happy to have her back finally in some form.

  4. #4 by Nebet on March 16, 2011 - 11:21 am

    Awww gee, why did I have to get the grumpy face? How do I get an avatar on here?

  5. #5 by TheGrumpyElf on March 16, 2011 - 12:14 pm

    My first ever character is still my main and I see no reason it would change really. I still like being a hunter.

    I even made one in Rift. ;)

    I’ve leveled countless other character too and past 80 and I can tell you nothing about their leveling process while I can tell you each and every step I have ever made with my Hunter. All that history is way to much for me to ever downgrade my Hunter to an alt. If anything, this one character and the history I have with it, is all that keeps me connected to playing WoW outside of the people I’ve become friends with.

  6. #6 by Armagon on March 16, 2011 - 5:27 pm

    My main, an Orc Rogue, was first seen on Jul 04, 2005 (according to http://www.warcraftrealms.com/) and is still my main.
    Technically it’s a level 6 reroll of another Orc Rogue with horrible skin color and hairdo, created on a laptop with a reflecting screen on a friend’s account. Doh.
    Of course the friend who got me hooked stopped playing long ago :P

  7. #7 by Sarai on March 16, 2011 - 5:34 pm

    My first toon is my cowdruid Taurros, and while he’s no longer really my “main”, I do still play him- I’m actually figuring out where he’ll go in my “level-to-85″ list right now.

  8. #8 by Kel on March 16, 2011 - 6:39 pm

    My Nelf hunter Kelesaria was my very first character, and is still what I consider my ‘main’ even now. If I ever stop and think about it, it kind of boggles me. o.O

    My horde ‘main’, my tauren shammy Taarren, has sadly become an alt. Funny part is, my new hordie main is my tauren druid, Bearkat, who has NEVER been level capped in anny current expansion. He didn’t get to 60 until after BC, reached 70 after WotLK, and didn’t hit 80 til shortly after Cata. Druids have become my second favorite class to play though, so he’s been getting most of my horde-side attention. He’s not 85 yet, but he will be my first horde toon to do so.

  9. #9 by Gunny on March 17, 2011 - 11:16 am

    My first toon was my warrior…he has gone through a name change, and a race change, but still i love to play him.

    on the note about you needing a tank, where can i apply?
    i have both a warrior and a druid tank both are very well geared in their MS and OS.

    gunny(druid bear/boomkin) –> http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/draenor/gunnysarge/simple
    talahassee(warrior prot/arms) –> http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/draenor/talahassee/simple

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

